Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 20, 2008 - 11:54 p.m.
"conference: day 1" or "i just want to go in the pool!"

8:54pm PDT 11:54pm EDT

Hey Journal!

Last night I got to bed a little after 10:00 here, and I slept well until I woke up in the middle of the night because it felt really hot in the room. I swear there's something wrong with the A/C.

Anyway, I got up at about 5:30... and I couldn't fall back to sleep... I was wide awake! lol

So, I watched the news. Local News. You know that means I have stories. On Channel 3, which is their NBC... The morning news weather guy is so strange. He seems good, but he does the weirdest things! Like, before each commercial break where they have weather, there's this 2 second thing, where they show a picture of a golf ball, and he makes some sort of motion, and then the golf ball gets hit away. Its so funky. I can't even describe it right. ALSO he has the "Joke of the Day" which today was, "Why did the restaurant on the moon fail?" Answer: "It had great food, but no atmosphere!"

I then got ready for my conference! I had to call last night to find out where it was and where to go, since they are very bad at informing people.

It was in the "Del Mar Ballroom" which I got a long list of convoluted directions to from the front desk. LOL I have to take the hallway east to the elevators, then make a left and take that hall to the Lobby, out the door, walk diagonally left, and look for the "Grand Event Center" and in there somewhere is this Del Mar Ballroom. Easy enough.

So the conference today has was REALLY good! I got up at 5:30 (why? I don't know) I couldn't sleep! First off, I had a not so good night's sleep because I kept switching between being hot and cold, and secondly, as nice as these hotel rooms are, the PILLOWS are awful. They are huge and feathery, and my head gets LOST in them. I feel like the pillow is suffocating me! lol I put my head on it and it sinks all the way down, and the sides come up and around! lol Blaaahhh!

Anyway, I got up and took a walk around outside and took some pictures. Then I came back and watched the Olympics and got ready for the conference.

The day started with Breakfast, and I was sitting all alone eating at a table, and one of the IBS guys came over and sat with me, and we started to talk! He was REALLY nice and I appreciate that he came over, because that really jump-started my drive to "participate" in things.

You know me, I mean, I am very unlikely to talk in a large group, and never did in any college classes, but nothing could be more different in this conference.

The first session I went to was really interesting, and I feel like I learned some stuff. I maybe have interjected one thing. It was pretty full. It was all about setting up the "Privilege" system, which we do not currently use, but it was something interesting to learn how to do.

Then there was a break, and when I went to the bathroom, I found that the Urinals here have little carpets IN them, that you pee on. It's weird. lol

Anyway, the next session, I signed up for my "Lab" time to ask some questions to the installers. I had a long list of things to talk about and things I wanted to see... I it was really nice to have that time, and I asked what I wanted to ask, and said what I wanted to say... so I felt like it went really well.

Then we had lunch, and the food has been really great. The breakfast buffet was enjoyable, and the lunch was even better! I had this really good chicken.

At lunch I talked to the people sitting at my table, they are from a course here in Las Vegas with the exception of one guy who was from New Jersey. They were all really nice and we kinda just shared some stories about both using IBS and about members, and stuff like that. It was a good time. lol

Then they had the "Upcoming" presentation about the new changes they're working on for the future. It mostly focused on accounting integration, but had some things like new security features for credit cards.

In that I spoke a few times, which was crazy cause it was a large group and everyone would turn around and look at me! Wild.

After that was the last session of the day about Membership Management in the system. I REALLY talked a lot during this one, and had so much to say! I loved it. I'm really getting into this! haha.

Next was the cocktail reception which was held out by "The Pond" which is a little pool that's walled in. It was good, at first a little boring cause I had nothing to do, but I wound up talking to one of the installers for a while, and then after that talking to this guy named Bill from a course in Arizona. I think I talked to him for over an hour! So wild. Of course, the alc was free flowing at this event.... So that was nice! lol

Since I got here, I've wanted to go in the pool soooo bad! I tried to get in some pool time after the cocktail reception. Sadly, the pool closes at 8, and it was 20 mins to 8. :( It was especially weird because, first off, I think the pool closing at 8 is way too early, but especially this night, the pool was PACKED and they had people playing live music out there, and then at 8 they shooed everyone away! :(

Anyway, I'm getting tired now... going to go out to get some dinner somewhere in the "District" Area which is where the Cheesecake Factory is, where I went last night! Then it's off to bed!!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight! :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com