Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 07, 2009 - 1:04 a.m.
"router woes"

Hey Journal!

As I mentioned last night, I took off from work today to have a nice day to relax. Although, It really turned out to be as unrelaxing as possible. I don;t feel like I got any time to just sit and do nothing!

I got up at about 10:30, so at least I got to sleep late! I then started working on fixing the problems with our router. Now, I've had this router since we first got cable internet back in like...2000, so it's about 9 years old. It's always been a little old school, but I liked it, and it worked great.

Last night, spontaneously, it started dropping the connections of the devices on it, specifically my computer while I was using it. Then I noticed that things went back to normal, but the wireless connection was not on. So I went back to the Router controls, and the re-enabled wireless. The same thing started happening. It was so weird. Every time the wireless was on, the two wired devices would go crazy.

I worked on fixing it to no avail. Then in the morning I did more work, and somehow (I think from all the plugging and unplugging), the old router died.

So... I got dressed and met my mom for Pizza at Branchinelli's. We consumed, and then I went to Best Buy to get a new router. I got a Wireless N one, that was regularly $100, on sale for $80. I had a 10% off coupon, but they said I couldn't use it since the item was on sale... even though I've used them on sale items before. I was sad about that.

So I got home, and set up the new router, and much to my surprise, this one would not broadcast a wireless signal. None of the wireless devices could see it on the network, despite the fact that I made sure it was enabled and all. I reset the router many times, and still... nothing.

So...we're back to the drawing board.

When Dan got home from work, we finished up our taxes (for now, I hooked up the computer directly to the cable modem), and then went out to dinner to visit Joey!!

We had a fun time, and then we headed back home, and watched some TV. Now I'm just getting ready for bed. Tomorrow I have to really get this whole router thing sorted out! Grrrr!

Anyway, until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com