Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 16, 2009 - 10:42 p.m.
"beach" or "bridge closed"

This morning I got up at 10:00, and we for ready to go to the beach!

We went over to pick up an umbrella and chairs from my Grandma, and then went to meet Dan's mom in the Bonwit parking lot. When we arrived, she was not yet there, but there was this weird black convertible, driving around the Bonwit. They circled us 4 times! They were very confused.

Anyway, it took about and hour to get to the beach with all the traffic. The beach was nice today.. it was hot, but there was a little breeze.

We left at about 5:30, and we were approaching the bridge, and suddenly the traffic stopped. We were just about to get into the traffic circle to get onto the bridge. If only we had been 2 minutes ahead, we would have made it over, because anyone who was already on the bridge, they let go.

The bridge was closed for a little over an hour, and everyone just stopped their cars and got out of their cars, wandered around. It was very random. I read some of my book, and then this old man who was stopped next to us got out of his car and started wandering. He came over and was talking to us about the most ridiculous things! His voice was so weird.. it was like a perfect voice for reading children's stories. It was so weird. I managed to record a little of it, when he was talking about what would happen if "someone attacked New York." He was so strange.

Anyway, once traffic started moving, we were right at the front, so there was all open road in front of us! We made it back to Dan's parents' house quickly, went in the pool for a little, and then headed home.

We showered quickly and then headed off to Dziadzi's house selling celebration dinner.

We went to Major's Steakhouse which is off of Jericho in Woodbury. I have to say this is a place that is now on my shit list. Everything was fine, for the most part.. but something our waiter did really pissed me off. I know it sounds insignificant, but it's just a principle thing, and it annoyed me a lot. First off, they charge for refills, which I think is the biggest sham going. The profit on soda is astronomical. What they charge for one glass exceeds the value of any amount of refills I have ever gotten. But, it's their business. If they want to do that, they have the right to. But I will not play their game and order a second soda. So, just like at Gasho, I rationed my soda so that it would last through the meal. I mean, I didn't make a big deal out of this, I just did it, didn't say anything to anyone about it. So, I have about 1/5 of the cup left, and the sprite is at the ice level, so it could be Sprite, it could be melted ice... you can't tell.

So the guy comes over and asks if I would like another Sprite. I said, "No, I'm good." Because.. #1) No, I didn't want another Sprite. and #2) I was perfectly fine with what was in front of me. So he leaves. No problem.

He comes back about a minute later with a water, and I'm listening to the conversation at the table.. and he plops the water down, and before I even realize what happened, he's halfway across the restaurant, with my UNFINISHED SODA in his hand! I mean, he didn't ask if I was finished with it. He only asked if I wanted another. Which I did not. I think he was bitter that I wasn't getting another and feeding his tip by inflating the bill with refills. Whatever. He was a jerk. I gave him the evil eye the rest of the night.

Anyway, we're home now, and it's time for bed!! The end of a fun-filled weekend.

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com