Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 01, 2009 - 9:05 p.m.
"a strange encounter at walgreens"

Last night I had a HORRIBLE nights sleep! I went to bed nice and early, and all was well until 3am on the dot, when I woke up with a horrible stomach ache. It was so bad. I was up for over an hour, and it was so bad. Finally a little after 4am it started feeling better, and I was able to fall asleep again. No explanation as to what it was.

I got up at the usual time for work, and of course I was exhausted.

The morning went by fast, lots of do. Prepared the inserts for the monthly billing, and all.

For lunch I had french bread pizza with chicken fingers! It was enjoyable!

One of the members' wives who always come in to pay her bills came in. The catch is that she never REALLY pays, she just leaves about six post-dated checks. She's really wild, and always has an excuse as to why she doesn't have the money now. It's better though, because she ALWAYS tells us about the vacations she went on, and the parties she's hosting. So somehow she has the money for these other things, but not to pay her bills here.

When she came in today, she asked if we could go into Steve's office to talk. I was like, "okaaay" So we went in there while she wrote out her checks. So random.

Anyway, I departed at 5 and I stopped at Walgreens on the way home from work today. I got on line behind a short woman with crazy blond hair. Her hair was all held up with a ton of those little metal clip barrettes. She had about 5 more packages of those clips, some envelopes, and a few different medicines in her basket. She seemed a little odd, just by the way she was standing. The cashier, Katie, was a little weird too. She was nice, but she had a high pitched voice that was very monotone and never really showed any interest in what she was saying. This whole situation was about to get weird.

As Katie was ringing up the lady's goods, the lady casually mentions...almost mumbles, "My house just burned to the ground... I lost five cats. They didn't even do anything to save them." And to that, Katie says..."ohh." Then the conversation shifts to the metal barrette things, she starts asking about a coupon she had for them, and Katie tells her they will all come up $0.99.

Katie tells her the total... $41.98. The woman is fumbling through her pocket book, and taking out all sorts of things, then gets to her money, and says... "It's like I'm trapped in a nightmare that I can't wake up from." And Katie says, "I know what that feels like." In the same monotone, high-pitched voice.

The woman didn't seem at all phased by Katie's lack of interest or expression, and Katie didn't seem to think the way the woman was telling her story was weird either.

This whole process took about 5 minutes, which was excessively long for the amount of things being purchased, and the line was getting pretty long.

As she's taking her receipt, she says, "10 children grew up in that house... and it's all gone.. just the clothes on my back." and Katie says, "Well you still have your memories." The lady, "That's all I have."

The woman steps to the side, and the girl is ringing me up now, with my one item. So the woman says, "my cats used to come cuddle next to me... i miss it" and Katie says, "why..What happened to them?" (((Come on Katie!! Weren't you paying attention!!))) so the lady says, "they burned up in the fire!! They were in the window crying... and they didn't do anything to save them." and with that, she walked away, and out to her car.

I mean, it was just such a weird exchange. I felt bad for the woman, but it was just such an ODD situation. The woman didn't seem upset, she was just saying these things very matter-of-fact-ly, and the cashier girl's reactions to it all were so blah. I was just so confused by it. I had to share.

When I got home, I watched the 6:00 news, and then World News.

Bill Ritter was talking about his blog. What a weird concept. Why does anyone care what Bill Ritter thinks about the news?! Why does it matter!? his job is to deliver us the news, not to blog about it! I don't get it.

Anyway, after that, Dan went for a walk, and I did random stuff around the house. Then I took a shower, and am currently eating a frozen pretzel!

I have to make it an early night tonight to make up for last night's craziness!! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com