Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 24, 2009 - 11:52 p.m.
"merry christmas eve"

MERRY CHRISTMAS EVE!!!

I know I say this every year, but I can't believe it's here already! It creeps up on you.... I mean, we've been doing all the pre-Christmas stuff... buying presents, and all that... and this year we stated before Thanksgiving with "Christmas in Hershey" and then went to the Radio City Christmas Spectacular this past weekend!! So, it's not for lack of getting into the season... but I think it's the whole lack of school thing. School always set the scene with the countdown to the break, and then having off from school always made it clear that a holiday was coming... now with work... there's nothing quite like that!!

Anyway, I got up at about 10:00 this morning, and Dan was still asleep. I watched some TV, and then when Dan got up we decided to go to iHop for breakfast. We slowly got ready to go, and headed out.

iHop was pretty crowded this morning, but we got a table right away. I got my usual 2x2x2 (which I'm still not sure how it's correctly pronounced.) The waitress who came over at first was this girl Erin who we had when we went there on my birthday! She was really nice, but kinda weird... not in a bad way though. Unfortunately, she was not our waitress... someone else came over and took over.

The two women who were sitting at the table behind us were wearing the exact same sweater and scarf! It was crazy!

After that we went to get our haircuts! The barber shop was crowded... but I'm not quite sure how many people were waiting. A guy finished right away, and called for the next person. Arthur said "you guys are next," which led me to believe that he had people waiting for him, and was trying to get me to go to someone else... because he ALWAYS knows that I wait for him. So I just decided that it wasn't imperative that I get a haircut today...so I'm gonna go back on Saturday! I should be DEAD then... who gets a haircut the day AFTER Christmas! lol

So, while Dan was getting his haircut, I went over to the card store and redeemed my lotto scratch offs.

Next we went to Price Club and we had to stock up on some essentials. We needed toilet paper, and paper towels, orange juice, milk, and contact solution. We also got apple juice.

After that we made a quickly detour to the movie theater to get a gift certificate for Dan's brother.

We came home, and played some Mario. We're trying to collect all of the star coins and unlock the levels in World 9! We got a few more today, and opened up another level!

Then... it was officially Christmas Eve! I took a shower, and got dressed, and Dan cleaned up a little.... we watched the news, and then my mom came over. We didn't really know what to do, but we decided to go out to dinner. I suggested Lotus East, but I was a little iffy because I wasn't sure if I was in the mood for Chinese!

Turns out, it was a GREAT idea! We got there, and I have NEVER seen the place so packed. Every other time I've eaten there, we were one of the ONLY people in the restaurant. This time, every single table was taken! We got the last open one... right next to the fish tank! haha!

It was great! We had a wonderful time, we had the classic waiter there, and the food was delicious! All of the other people there were very Christmasy with their read sweaters and everyone saying Merry Christmas as they left... it was very cool! It turned out to be a lot of fun! My fortune was kinda funny though... it said, "Maybe you will live on the moon next century."

Just before we left, I took a video with my camera of the fish in the fish tank! As soon as I held up the camera, they all came over to it... it was so weird.. and as I moved it around, they followed it!!

After dinner, we came back here and watched How the Grinch Stole Christmas, and it really put me in the Christmas mood. I think it's finally sinking in that it's Christmas!!

When my mom left, Dan and I watched some TV and then listened to some Christmas music. Now I'm here writing my journal... and before you know it...it'll be Christmas Day!!!

It's weird...as much as I guess it does feel like Christmas is tomorrow... there's no substituting the real feeling of Christmas that I used to get from going over my cousin's house on Christmas Eve and all the fun we used to have with Savage in Town, and dimming the lights at dinner, and always sitting at the kiddie table (and loving it!). That's what Christmas always WAS to me, so it's weird to change things around. Even the few years my aunt didn't have Christmas Eve, and we spent it at our house, was very weird. It didn't feel right...

Even if that was still the same... it wouldn't be the same... If you know what I mean... Things change, and that's just the way it is... but they were such fun times... I just feel like we don't really ever have anything to "DO" for Christmas Eve, no real plans, or new tradition, so nothing really defines it. We have no tradition to follow anymore, so I miss when we did!

But alas, I can't get all crazy about that!! It's Christmas! I have to get so sleep!... Santa's coming soon!!! :)

Merry Christmas!!

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com