Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 05, 2010 - 12:47 a.m.
"tortola" or "lost card" or "long day"

Woah, Journal! Today was a LONG day!

We got up at 6:30am and started getting ready for our day at the Baths and Virgin Gorda! We went to breakfast on the deck, and then met down on the pier at 7:15 for the tour!

At first, they put us on the wrong bus, and luckily they realized it before it left! We switched, and the taxi took us to a ferry station, where we took a 45 minute ferry ride over to this Bath park.

After the ferry, we had to take another taxi, and then arrived. We had to walk down this big cliff, and there was a small beach with lots of rocks. We went swimming there, and it was fun. I got a little cut up on the rocks, though! I have a big scrape on my leg, and a cut on my hand.

Today, I wore a different bathing suit than I had been wearing the past few days, and I forgot that my Sail and Sign card was in the pocket, and not velcro-ed closed. So, after the first swim, I checked my pocket, and it was GONE! AHHHH!

I looked all over, and it was even in a ziploc bag that had some air in it, so I thought it might be floating somewhere, but we had no luck finding it!

Then we took a walk though these crazy rock caves, and you had to go up little ladders in the woods, and climb rocks, and use ropes... it was insane! And it was all self-guided, and it took you to another nice little beach location, where we swam around for a bit, and then went back.

We headed back around 12, and took the ferry over. I fell asleep for about 30 minutes on the ferry. It was much needed rest.

I flashed my license at the security to get back into the pier, and the lady didn't realize I didn't have my card, and she waved our taxi in. When I got to the ship, I told the man at the check-in that I had lost my card, so he looked me up in the computer, checked me back in, and then sent me to the front desk to get a new card.

So, I got a new one. It's all good now. The lady at the desk was like, "How did you get back on the ship without it??" I guess security isn't so tight there.

Anyway, after getting back on and resolving that issue, we went for lunch. The lines were long, and I couldn't find anything I wanted, so I headed back to the room, took a shower, and watched some TV. Dan went to the gym, and I went with him for a little, and just did a leisurely half mile on the treadmill.

After, Dan went in the pool, and I fell asleep in the room for about 45 minutes while watching CNN.

When I got up, we were just pulling away from Tortola. We watched the ship leave, and then walked around, and went to Sports trivia, which we lost.

--Quick update on nicknames! We now have:
Joel Siegel - An old man who looks like Joel.
The Knaves, who I mentioned before, now are broken down into "the butcher," "the baker," and "the candlestick maker."
Erk - I think his name is Eric, but we heard someone call him "Erk" with a strong southern accent.. so that's his new name.
Slim Jim - I think I mentioned him before.... I can't think of any more.. but I know we have them!!

After trivia, we went back to the room and got changed for our "Past Guest Reception," where I discovered that I had lost my suit jacket. Luckily I called Guest Services at extension 7-7-7-7, and they HAD it! NICE! :)

We got ready, and I picked up my jacket there. We went to the past guest reception, which had free drinks, which is always nice. The sad part is that they NO LONGER give out PINS to the past guests! I have one from every Carnival ship I was ever on, and it's really cheap and beastly of them to stop giving them out! Now my collection is incomplete, and it's just stupid. Why would they take away something they have done for past guests for so long!!

Anyway, after we cheered for our past ships, came back to the room, got changed back into our "Cruise Casual" attire, and then walked around for a while.

I don't know if I mentioned this the other night, but we had been looking down at the lobby one night after the show, and saw this old lady sitting in a little chair just shaking to the music. She was so wild. Dan's dad said she sat there drinking all day, and she was really something else. Well, tonight.. there she was again, in her usual spot, and she was CHAIR DANCING to the music! It was priceless, so of course I took a video! I love this lady, but she seems to be on the cruise alone, and we never see her talking to anyone or sitting with anyone... it's quite unusual! But she really is entertaining to watch!

We sat on deck 5 near the disco and people watched for a while... watched people leaving their dinner, and just checked out the other guests. Oh oh, and there's this one guy I have to mention... he has worn the SAME EXACT OUTFIT every day of the cruise. Okay, and as if that wasn't bad enough...wait till you hear what it IS! It's OVERALLS and a White tee-shirt underneath, with a blue hat. OVERALLS??? He looks like a farmer.... but it's 90 degrees outside and we're in the CARIBBEAN!?!!? OVERALLS?? EVERY SINGLE DAY?? I have to get a picture of him. This is something else.

Dinner was good tonight, Slavka and Natalia were there, of course. They did some dancing tonight!! Woo Hoo!

After dinner we walked around for a while, then went to the show at 10:30. It was the guest Talent show, which is always pathetic. There was one good singer tonight, but then a few REAL DUDS. The worst was a woman who sang a song about a sparrow, and then the "Sexy Seniors" got us and just swayed their arms to a regular song. It was ridiculous. I had to leave! haha

As I was walking around, some crazy kids said Hi to me, and asked me where "my friend" was, I told them he was in the show, and she girl said, "In the shower??" But that was all, then I departed. They were like 16.

Anyway, after that, Dan and I walked around for a while, and it's FINALLY time for bed! It's crazy.. I am sooo exhausted from the past few days! Gonna get a GREAT night sleep tonight, and then a FUN DAY AT SEA TOMORROW! :)

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com