Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

March 26, 2010 - 11:47 p.m.
"the korean presentation"

Hey Journal!

Happy Friday! What a day! I got up at the crack of dawn for work today! I went in super early to get things finished up and ready for the presentation. I got to the golf course, and printed out 20 copies of the "Keynote" presentation I made yesterday, and then I found the big projection screen, and got it loaded into my car. It was quite hard to get in there! It was pretty much just as long as the whole car, so I tried to fit it in sideways, and that didn't work, and then I wedged it in, but I was afraid it would slide forward and hit the gear shifter thingy! I got a tablecloth for the table with the projector, and then headed over to the cemetery.

I got there just a few minutes before Karen arrived, and we went into Steve's office and started setting up. Karen rearranged the chairs, and I set up the screen and the projector. We got everything all done, and Karen had brought tea for them, but there weren't really a good set of cups to use. We had some time, so I ordered breakfast since I was hungry and then went back over to pick it up, and also to get a set of coffee cups.

When I got back, we finished up, and gave Andie a nice show of the presentation. The "matinee" as Karen called it! A little after that, Karen's tenant, Young, who speaks Korean, and came to act as the translator today, arrived. We did two run-through's of the presentation, and then Steve came in. We did another quick run-through, and then it was 10:30, and time for the Koreans to arrive! They didn't show up at first, and we wondered where they could be.... Dan's dad called over and said they were THERE! Having breakfast and coffee! AHH! They didn't know they were supposed to go to the cemetery! Oh geez!

So, we directed them over, and they arrived shortly after. The presentation went really well. Steve said some words in the beginning, and Young translated them. Karen read through the presentation, and they were all reading along and following along with the Korean translation that I had printed out for them. Young did a great job of translating, and the whole thing probably lasted about 45 minutes. Then afterwards, we went outside to show them the area.

One of the guys there gave me a USB disk, and asked if I could put a copy of the presentation on it for him! Luckily, I had saved a PDF copy to the laptop..so I did that! It was crazy when I put it in, the recognized it as both a USB drive and a CD drive, and the CD drive had an auto-play that opened some crazy program with all Korean writing!!

So, we went over to the section, and they took a look around, and checked out the area. It was freezing cold, but in a way, I think it was good because the trees were bare, and it definitely wasn't at its best. If it had been warm, it would have seemed drabber, but the cold really made a better excuse for why it looks the way it does right now... even though they would realize it's only March, and the trees haven't bloomed yet... it was better that it was cold, I think.

They seemed to really like the section.

Then after we were all done, Karen, Young, and I went for lunch at the golf course. It was going to be just us three, but then Steve and Pete were also coming up for lunch, so we combined. We had a nice lunch... Young was telling us that she moved here from Korea and went to Stony Brook... and I told her I went to Stony Brook.. and all.

I got the Chicken Parm Hero for lunch... it was yummy. It was nice not eating at my desk... not food going all over! lol

After we finished eating, we went back across, and Karen and I dismantled the setup in Steve's office. I got everything packed up, and headed back across the street.

It was weird when I came down to the office and started to work, because I felt like the day should be over after all that... but I did some random stuff, and tried to get as much done as I could so I wouldn't have that much waiting for me on Monday!

I put some new members in the computer, and answered my phone message... and before I knew it, it was time to get going and go home! :)

When I got home, I watched the news, and read some of my book, and tried to relax a little from the day. I was kinda tired, but when Dan got home, we went out to dinner and visited Joey. There was this really creepy guy there tonight who was just staring straight ahead with this insane look on his face, like he was about to kill everyone around him. It was scary. He was there eating alone.

Dinner was good, and after that we came home to have an early night. We watched this week's Ugly Betty. I wonder how many episodes are left. I think I said the same thing last week. I like the Justin storyline! Make it happen! WOO!

Now I must get to sleep! I'm exhausted!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com