Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 13, 2010 - 11:25 p.m.
"treadmill disaster"

Hey Journal!

Today I got up and headed off to work. I had a really good day. I got a lot of work done, everything went really well. For lunch I had grilled chicken with broccoli, and ate it out in my car while listening to the radio, and afterwards I read some of my book. I wonder if that's why I thought I was having such a good day. I always say I should make it a point to really take my lunch break and do something enjoyable on it, but I don't often follow my own advice on that one.

When I got home, I watched the news, and got lots of our papers organized for our upcoming trip! I feel like I haven't really mentioned it much here, but I am sooooo sooo excited to be going to London and Paris!! :) Next week we're leaving... and it can't come soon enough!! I've never been to Europe.. Dan has, of course... I am so excited to see all the amazing stuff I've only seen on TV... AND to be surrounded by British and then French accents. :) :) :)

So, unfortunately, a day that started off wonderfully turned out kinda eh...

The plan... the meet at 6:00 to get our haircuts. I arrived and waited for Dan to get there. He was coming straight from work. He arrived, and after lots of contemplating, and looking at pictures of myself online, I decided, unfortunately, that I should go to Arthur for my haircut. You see, even though I really dislike him... I think he's a little rude, and a lot arrogant, he really DOES cut my hair the way I want it... and when I went to someone else before the cruise we went on in January, she did an Okay job, but looking back at the pictures, it's not what I would have liked.

So, Dan went a new lady, and I sucked it up and headed over to Arthur, two stores down in the same shopping center. Typical... there was a line for Arthur. 3 people. Do the math.. he takes 30 minutes on each person (no matter how much hair, or what they get done... he is crazy) so that's 90 minutes!!! No freaking way... I left. So, disappointment #1... I got no haircut.

For the past weeks... I have been contemplating getting a treadmill. Dan likes to go on his walks outside... but really, I love walking on a treadmill. AND I love watching the news when I get home from work. What a perfect pairing! Watch the news, walk on the treadmill, get exercise, feel good! IN THEORY. When we went on the cruise, I went on the treadmill every day, and I LOVED it. I really did want one. I researched prices, and brands, and stores.

After Dan's haircut... we went over to Sports Authority and got one! It was on sale for $499, and it was a really nice one.

We got it in the car, got it home... and walked it inside. It was so heavy, we had to shimmy it down the sidewalk. We got it in the door, and put it down.

We were starving, so we went off to Panera for dinner! I was happy to find that they had my favorite soup! Cream of chicken and wild rice! mmmmmm!

Oh...wait... are you waiting for the really disappointing part of my day?

So we get home, and take the treadmill out of the box. I start piecing it together. It was unbelievable heavy, and we had a hard time getting some of the screws in.. but we got it standing. Problem #1... The bar that holds the treadmill up when you want to fold the walking part up, was cracked and broken. We didn't really need that to get it up and running, so we figured we'd go back tomorrow and sort that out.

Well, on top of the broken bar, there was this oily greasy liquid leaking all over the floor, and then the treadmill was making a weird noise when we turned it on. That was the worst of it, but on top of all that, it was WAY too big for the area we have for it! It was like the centerpiece of the room... it was overwhelming!

We decided that it had to go... and, after spending two hours constructing this monstrosity, we spent another hours taking it apart!

Now it's sitting in pieces on the floor, waiting to be re-boxed as best we can... and we are going to need considerable help bringing it back to the store. It took all we had to get it in here, and now the top of the box isn't secure anymore, so we can't walk it out! We're going to ask Dan's dad to help us carry it out, and use his truck to bring it back! Oh, and on top of that, we have to hope they are going to accept this thing back after we opened it all up!!

What a disaster.

So you see, I was so excited to get this treadmill, and after a great day of getting things done, and feeling good, this brought all that to a screeching halt, and ruined my day!! :(

Now I'm resigned to the fact that we DON'T need a treadmill because we have no room for it, and it's more of a headache than it was worth, which upsets me cause I really wanted one... and we have to hope they will take it back tomorrow! Big purchases always give me a knot in my stomach, and it only gets worse when they turn out to be a mess!!

Arrrgggggg!

Well, it's getting late and I should get to sleep! I have an orthodontist appointment at 8am!!!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com