Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 12, 2010 - 11:37 p.m.
"dan's new phone" or "the insurance pool"

Hey Journal!

I got up this morning and headed off to work. When I arrived, I noticed that the contractors for Cablevision were there working on our new internet connection! I went over and said hi to them, and the man explained everything they were doing to me. They had already dug out two big holes where we used to have small irrigation boxes. They are replacing them with big ones that say Cablevision on top. I got to see the ends of the PVC pipes we had buried two years ago.

I came inside and said hello to the new chef when he came in. Today was his first day.

Diane was late today, she said her power went out last night, or something like that.

We had a really good Vegetable & Turkey Soup today! It was amazing!

I worked on some getting some things figured out for the church we had visited on Sunday, and Karen didn't come in today.

It was a random day, I did a lot of odds and ends. At 2:00, I went to the bank to deposit something for Steve, and then came back, worked some more, and left at 4:45 to bring more deposits to the bank!

I got home and watched the news, and then made some Mac and Cheese for dinner. Dan picked up milk on the way home, and arrived here exactly when I needed it! We watched World News, and then went out to the Verizon store to get Dan's new phone. He had to get a new phone for work, and he picked the Droid Incredible. This last trip the to Verizon store inspired me to make a decision. I will never ever buy a phone at the Verizon Store. It's such a hassle! They make a process that could take 5 minutes take over an hour! When my mom got her new phone last month, I ordered on Verizon's website, and it came the next day! It was so easy, and there was noone trying to sell me accessories I didn't need, or insurance I don't want! It was amazing.

Speaking of phone insurance... think of this... think of insurance as a pool. I got my current cell phone 4 years ago... but, let's pretend I had insurance on it for the first two years. That's 4.99 x 24 months = $119.76. I mean, yes, my phone was free at the time, but would have been about $250 to replace. So, it would have saved me some money if it had broken or been lost, BUT then take the extra plan at Best Buy, and the extra plan on my Apple computer, and every other plan they offer... If you don't take ANY of them, the pool of insurance money you didn't pay gets bigger and bigger, and the chance that EVERYTHING you own will be broken is quite unlikely. So, in the end, you will probably save more money by NOT buying any plans, even if you do need to buy a replacement at some point.

We got back late because the man who helped us was very chatty. He wouldn't let us go. I took a shower, and Dan played with his phone, and got it all set up!

I had some leftovers for dinner, and now it's time for bed... it's late!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com