Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 19, 2011 - 10:25 p.m.
"new tv for the restaurant" or "dan's birthday dinner: round 1 of 3"

Hey Journal!

Today was the first day at work without Steve! He's off, on his way to sail in the Caribbean, and forgot all about us up in the snow and cold!

Today I had a busy morning working on some random paperwork, and then once Dan's dad arrived, I started work on our NEW TV! See, on Black Friday, Dan and I purchased a great Plasma TV at a great price for his mom. She wanted it for over the new fireplace they're putting in. Unfortunately, they just found out that it won't fit, and so it has become property of the golf course.

Dan's Dad carried in the new TV, and then Rich and I worked on getting the old one off the wall. The brackets that hold it up are pretty old, and they are much harder to use than the new ones they make now! Once we had it down on the floor, we had to unscrew it from the back of the TV. A couple of the screws came out easily, but there were three that wouldn't budge, and wound up getting stripped!

We tried a bunch of different methods to get them out, with no luck. Finally, I found this crazy tool, which may be some sort of bolt cutter, and Rich was able to use it to get a grip on the screw and loosen it up! It was amazing!!

There was also a GIANT allen key hidden behind the TV which was used for loosening the screws for the bracket! It was wild.. I have never seen such a crazy contraption!

Once we had that done, we were ready to affix the bracket to the back of the new TV... only problem... we needed special bolts made specifically for that TV! I went to Home Depot to purchase some. They had so many screws, and I had no idea what I was looking for, so I asked the man in the aisle for help! At first, I got the feeling that he was a little unfriendly, but then he changed, and really started helping me. He looked through all the drawers, and none of the screws were where they were supposed to be!

One by one, he managed to locate five of the ones we needed. We only needed four, but I bought all five, just in case.

Next stop, Cablevision in Lindenhurst. I had to return out standard box, and get a new HD one! Woo Hoo!

I got back, and we finished installing the TV, and then I realized that we needed HDMI cable!! Grr! Dan's dad went out to the bank, so I asked him to stop and get the cables from Radio Shack. He did, and when he returned, we got it up and running. It looks great, and it's amazing to finally have an HD TV! :P (Like the rest of the world.)

I did a TON of paperwork in the afternoon. My desk has been piling up, and I think maybe it was moreso because Steve was getting ready to leave, and I had a lot of random stuff to do before that... now that he's gone, I hope to have time to catch up on all this craziness!

I departed at 5, and headed home. I watched the news, and then my mom came by at 6:45, and we went to Outback for dinner! We had a nice dinner for Dan's birthday, and then came back to have ice cream cake for dessert. :)

Now, we're off to bed, and tomorrow is Dan's 29th Birthday!!! Crazy! I can't believe it. Getting older is so weird. We're going to go to breakfast tomorrow before work.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com