Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 26, 2011 - 10:48 p.m.
"no, we don't do that"

Hey Journal!

This morning on the way to work I stopped at the PO Box to collect the CPC mail. I spent the morning closing some days, and then helped Dan's dad pay some bills, and then had a TON of dues payments! The entire day was pretty much craziness. I dunno what's going on!!

I had some problems closing one day in the Golf Shop before they had totally screwed up their money and their cash drawer was all out of wack! Ugh! Oh, and we also got a new thermostat in the restaurant.

For lunch, I had a bowl of chicken noodle soup.

I also spent a while working on a new e-mail to sent out to the members to let them know about a special "membership drive" event we're going to do in May.

And now, for the most ridiculous story of the day.... At about 2:00, this woman calls Dan's mom and asks for the person who is in charge of the mailings... She figures that it's someone trying to sell us something, and tells me not to pick up my phone. About 2 minutes later, the lady calls AGAIN to complain that she NEEDS to speak to someone. I was in a bad mood because I was working on a million things, and really was not in the mood for a sales call, so I pick up the phone, and it turns out that's not what she wanted at all.

She had received a postcard from us in the mail, one of the ones we sent out this past week, and wanted to complain that she didn't want it, and wanted us to take her name off of our mailing list. I explained to her that we couldn't do that, because we don't actually have a list that we use on a regular basis. I told her that we use a company, tell them what towns we want to mail to, and that THEY provide the addresses. (From whatever sources they collect them from!) She was not a happy camper. She told me that was unacceptable, and she demanded to be removed from the list. I told her that I didn't know how they get the names for their lists, and that she would have to call them to have her name removed. I offered to give her the phone number of the company, but she said, "No... I want YOU to call them and have my name removed." I told her.... "We don't do that." She was piiiiiiised! She asked to speak to "someone in charge," so Dan's Dad got on the phone and she went through the same thing with him. He explained that we use a company to do our mailings, and that we don't actually have a list... but she said, "I have no interest in your company." Dan's dad asked her, "Can't you just throw the postcard out?" She, or he, hung up the phone.

What a nut. I told Karen the story. She said, "She's sick."

Seriously though, I mean, we get so much junk mail every day... from credit card applications, to coupons for Chinese restaurants, pizza places, roofers, asphalt people! You name it!! Very rarely do we actually WANT these things, and 99% of the time we just throw it out. Could you imagine if I went around calling EVERY place that sent me an advertisement. Plus, our golf course ad is so harmless. It's just a nice picture with a few key facts about membership. Really?

Alas, that was the craziest part of my day.

I left at 5:00, and headed home.

Dan got a pizza for dinner, and we watched World News. Then I took a shower, and got ready for bed! It's 10:48 now, so I'd better get to sleep! Another crazy day is ahead of me, I'm sure! Ughhhh!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com