Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 26, 2011 - 11:39 p.m.
"the router" or "witney"

5/26/11 - 11:39pm Oxfordshire
5/26/11 - 6:39pm New York

Hey Journal!

This morning, we got up at about 8:30 and we got dressed, and left our room to go have breakfast in the other area of the Swan House! We went inside and had some cereal, and then a nice breakfast of eggs, sausage, and bacon! I think that's all we've been eating for breakfast EVERY DAY! It's wild, but I'm not complaining!

After breakfast, some other guests were trying to figure out the WiFi situation as well, so the woman who owns the place was explaining that there were problems with it, and she didn't know what was wrong. I volunteered my services, and tried to get it working again. I figured out some problems with it, and one thing led to another, and I wound up working on it for an hour and a half! At one point, I had it working, but then it went down again!

The problem, I think, is that the thing she had was a "range extender" but there was no way to program it to pick up the current wireless signal. I even downloaded the manual, but still was unable to get it to work. Every time I was about to give up, it looked like I was just one step away from fixing it, so I wanted to keep going.

Ultimately, I wasn't able to get it working the way she wanted, and I was really bummed out because I wanted to fix it! I also couldn't figure out why I couldn't get it to work! Ultimately, I think it's that she needed a router instead of an access point/range extender, because it was still relying on the modem for the DCHP, and that's not what should have been happening.

Anyway, I finally threw in the towel, reluctantly, and we packed up the car. She was very nice though, and gave us a �25 discount! :)

We left at about 11:30 and started making our way down to Oxfordshire! We stopped along the way at a mall and did a little shopping.

We got back on the road, and made it to Witney around 5:30pm. We found our B&B, the Corncroft Guest House, and got checked in!

We walked around the town a little and went to Frankie and Bennie's for dinner! We had a really weird waitress who wasn't really with it!

After that, we walked around some more, wound up going to McDonald's where Dan got a McFlurry!

Then we walked around some more, went to Sainsbury's, and then headed back here to get ready for bed. We took a walk over to a pub nearby called The Hollybush!

We just got back to the room a little while ago, and I took a shower. Now, we're getting ready for bed, and are going to visit Blenheim Palace tomorrow! Woo!! Exciting!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com