Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 09, 2011 - 11:35 p.m.
"they took radio 1 away"

Hey Journal!

This morning, I got up at 8:00, and had some time to kill before heading off to work. Unfortunately, I woke up to very upsetting news that BBC Radio 1 has been removed from the Sirius lineup! It's terrible!

I am not kidding when I say that there is NOTHING like that channel on any other radio station in the US. First off, the shows are amazing. Chris Moyles and everyone on his team are GREAT, and their show is so entertaining! I stopped listening to Howard Stern for this show... it's just the best! Every morning when I wake up, I go to my computer to check my email and listen to the first 20 minutes of the show online. Then, I get in my car and head to work while listening to the 8:30-9 portion of the show on Sirius. It worked out so perfectly. I also like listening to Scott Mills in the afternoon on my drive home from work!

Now, my capability of listening in the car is cut off! UGH!

And then there's the music. You might think that new songs come out here in the US first, and then travel to other countries... well... for the most part... you're wrong. If there's a big release like Lady Gaga or something like that, it's on the radio here at the same time as it is in the UK, but so many other songs make their debut on BBC Radio 1 MONTHS before they appear here at home. It's wild! In fact, the songs are somewhat old hat on BBC Radio 1 when people I know here start to like them from hearing them on the radio! Some songs never make it on the air here in America, but that's fun too. Then there's the odd music they play at night, but it's okay.. I never really listen at night anyway! :P

So, what makes this even more unusual and annoying is that Sirius gave no explanation at all, and it just disappeared on a random Tuesday. They have an announcement telling you to try some other Sirius channels, but clearly there's no really alternative to BBC Radio 1!

I have, however, come up with a solution to implement in the event that it really is gone forever! Using Audio Hijack Pro, I have set it to record The Chris Moyles Show via the BBC Radio 1 Live Stream which plays from 1:30am-5:00am Eastern Time here in New York. Then, when the recording is finished, it is AUTOMATICALLY put into my iTunes Library, and using a Smart Playlist, the most recent X number of shows will automatically be in that playlist. Then, when I wake up... all I have to do is plug in the iPhone, Sync in 30 seconds, and off I go.

All I need is an FM transmitter for my iPhone so I can listen on my car radio, and I will have a workaround. I have some time though, as Chris Moyles Show is on vacation for two weeks... so listening now isn't the utmost priority.

What a mess. I really can't believe they did that! Who knows why... maybe the BBC was asking for more money, or maybe Sirius just doesn't want to pay for their content when they give it away free online. Whatever the reason, it's a real shame, because bringing these great shows in from other parts of the world was one of the most unique things about Sirius! Making it convenient to listen to them in your car, just as you would local radio. Bah.

I hope this is some kind of temporary power play to pay less money on Sirius's part, much like Cablevision taking ABC off the air over money disputes.... but if it really is permanent, it's such a shame! (Not to mention, I may actually have to reevaluate my subscription! -I know, I can't believe I'm saying that, either!-)

Anyway, now it's 8:45am, and I decide to leave for work....

I gather the things I need to take with me to work, and I close the door as I leave. I go to lock the top lock, and realize that I don't have my keys. I just locked them INSIDE! UGH!!

Luckily, my Grandpa was home, and he was able to bring me my spare key. I felt really bad, but I had no other choice!

At work today, I closed some days from the weekend and tried to catch up on stuff.

Then I devoted the rest of the day to finishing, and testing my new dues payment system. It allows members to pay their dues (for this cycle only- for now) on the members' website! :P

I stayed at work until 5:30 since I had no way to get inside once I got back home, and figured I would wait so that I could get home around the same time as Dan. Unfortunately, he came home late and I had to sit in the car waiting for him! :P

We watched the news, and then went out to dinner with my cousin Dan to the Hauppauge Palace Diner. I got the open face turkey sandwich, and ate the whole things!

When we got home, I took shower, and then Dan and I watched Teen Wolf! Only one more episode left this season... I think...

Alas, it's late now, and I have to get to bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com