Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 17, 2011 - 10:34 p.m.
"bring back radio 1"

Hey Journal!

Today I have to start off with a special message about Sirius and BBC Radio 1! I can't believe how annoying it has been since they took it away just over a week ago! It was actually good timing, if it had to happen, because The Chris Moyles Show is on vacation until Monday, so I still haven't missed a show! BUT... It doesn't look good for getting it back in time for their return.

Today Sirius announced that they had reached a new agreement with BBC Worldwide, however, they would only make the content available via their Internet Radio service, not via the satellite. This makes no sense for several reasons. First, and perhaps most importantly, the BBC makes all of it's programs available on its website both live and on-demand! So, there really is no benefit in having it ALSO offered on Sirius's web player. Secondly, the BBC offers its content for FREE. Sirius charges you extra to use their online service (which used to be free for subscribers... but they got greedy!)

Anyway, they don't seem to get that the people who are complaining aren't complaining because they can't figure out how to listen online, it's that they want to listen in the convenience of their CAR! I already listen sporadically at home and at work via the Radio 1 website, but the majority of my listening is done in the car on the way to and from work! That's when I can't access the internet no matter where it is being broadcast.

There are lots of websites and Facebook groups popping up with people angry about the changes and hopefully the right people will find out! Dan called Sirius to complain, I wrote them an e-mail, and this evening, I called CEO Mel Karmazin to complain directly. I got his voicemail, but hey... I go right to the top.

Anyway, in the meantime, I have come up with a temporary fix. Using the program Audio Hijack Pro (which is amazing for so many reasons, btw) I can schedule it to automatically record the Chris Moyles Show when it's being broadcast live, which is conveniently 1:30am - 5:00am Eastern time! While I'm asleep, the program records the show, and then using a built-in feature of the program, the show is automatically added to my iTunes library. I have a Smart Playlist in iTunes that holds the 5 most recently added episodes, and so all I have to do is connect my iPhone before going to work in the morning, and the show will be transferred in about 20 seconds! NICE!

Now, all I have to do is get an FM transmitter for my iPhone, and I will be all set to listen in the car again!

I don't really WANT to have to do that every day, but it will get me by until Sirius comes to its senses. They have been making a lot of odd programming decisions lately... perhaps it's the bitter people from the XM side. They never did have all of their marbles! :P

Anyway, back to my day....

I woke up this morning and headed off to work. I worked on the payroll for a little while, but then Dan's dad told me that Dan's mom was coming in, so I left the rest for her.

I did a lot of random things, and it was a non-stop crazy day. In the afternoon, I had to work on the wiring for the TV so that we could play a DVD on it.

I left at 5:00 and headed home, and then watched the news while waiting for Dan. I had a TV dinner tonight, and then spent some time online looking at this BBC stuff!

Then Dan and I went to the bank and took a walk around the neighborhood.

I took a shower, and now it's time to get ready for bed! I really wanna go away this weekend, but I have no idea where. Hopefully we can devise something! :P

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com