Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 04, 2011 - 11:14 p.m.
"mother's birthday day in the city" or "radio city success"

Hey Journal!!

What a wild day!! Today we went to the city for my mom's birthday, and as you may remember, we had a major mix up with the tickets to the Radio City Christmas Spectacular, but even though we couldn't go to the show, we figured we would just go in and walk around the city, see the tree, and enjoy the day.

We got up at about 9:00 and got ready. My mom came over at 9:30 and we departed. On the way, we stopped at the bagel store to get a little something to eat for the ride, and then drove in to the city. There was no traffic at all, and we took the Queensboro Bridge.

I had found a $10 parking garage online, and we made our way there, parked, and then headed out. I wasn't sure whether or not to take my big jacket, because it was pretty warm today, but in the end I decided to take it. I kept my hat, scarf, and gloves in my backpack, and never needed them the whole day!

First, we walked to Times Square, walked though there, and we went up into the Aeropostale which is in what used to be the old TRL Studio. It's so weird being up there and thinking how many famous people came into that studio, and that's where TRL was from every day when we were in high school! It's so weird that that doesn't happen anymore... and that those windows are now just a clothing store!

Anyway, after that, we walked to Rockefeller Center, and on the way we passed by Radio City Music Hall. Now, as I had mentioned on Tuesday, I thought I had purchased tickets for December 4th (today) and when I was home sick from work on Tuesday, I was looking at the tickets, and noticed that they were for November 27th!! LAST SUNDAY! Needless to say, I was really upset that my mom's birthday present was ruined, and that I had basically thrown away hundreds of dollars. Both Dan and my mom called both Ticketmaster and Radio City ahead of time, and they both said there was nothing they could do to help.

My mom, however, wanted to give it one last try. She told me to bring the tickets with me, and when we passed by Radio City Music Hall at about 12:00, she went inside to see if she could plead her case in person. The girl at the window said she was sorry, but there was nothing she could do, but she suggested that my mom go over to the guest relations booth. She did, and Dan and I were waiting outside the whole time. When my mom came out, she was very serious.. but then all of a sudden she ran out and told us she had succeeded!! The nice guy named William told her that he would find a seat for us in the first mezzanine, and that we WOULD get to see the show!!!

My mom was super-excited, and so were Dan and I! It was amazing that first off, we would get to see the show after all, and now I wouldn't have wasted all that money on nothing!! He said to be back at 1:00, and to meet him out front.

So, in the meantime, we walked up to the tree in Rockefeller Center, and then walked around that area checking things out. We made our way back at 1:00, and waited for William. He let us in, and then sent us to the mezzanine to wait for Jim to show us to our seats! Now, our original tickets had been very good seats... they were on the first floor, but I got a great price with a Groupon. These seats were in the first balcony, but they were great! They were actually not REAL seat seats, they were extra chairs they put at the end of a pre-existing row, but we had no complaints at all! First off, we got to see the show, and second, the seats were fine... Nothing wrong with them at all, and we had a great view!

The show was very enjoyable. It was very similar to what I remember from going two years ago. I got up during one of the scenes, and when I got back all of the lights were on in the theater. Dan and my mom told me that I had missed it... something went wrong with the show, and a stagehand guy came running out onto the stage. Half of the Rockettes stopped dancing, and then the curtain came down, and the orchestra faded out! I was back for about a minute before they announced that they were having technical difficulties, and then a minute later, they started the show back up again right from where they left off!

So, we got to see she show, and it was a good time. When we got out, we walked up Fifth Avenue to Central Park, and then across to Columbus Circle, and up to Lincoln Center.

We ate dinner at a place called PJ Clarke's, and I got a chicken pot pie which was pretty good. My mom got macaroni and cheese, and Dan got a sandwich. It was a little overpriced, but still good overall.

Then we left, and were walking past the steps of Lincoln Center, and we noticed something going on. We walked over, and stumbled upon the "World Premiere" of the movie War Horse. There were a couple of people lined up along the fencing, and you could see all of the media people getting ready with their cameras! We decided to hang out and see who turned up!

After about 15 minutes, the celebs started arriving! We saw Steven Spielberg, some stars from this movie, Kathy Lee, Phylicia Rashad, Ed Westwick from Gossip Girl, Tony Danza, (My mom screamed... IT'S TONY DANZA FROM TAXI!!), and a couple of other famous people. It was pretty cool, I have to say!

At about 6:15, we left there, and went over to the Eyewitness News studio. We watched Sandra Bookman finish up the news, and I had a moment with her. I was looking in the window, when we made eye contact. I smiled pretty big, and she smiled back at me all while making eye contact. Basically she knows how cool I am, and we acknowledged that.

After that, the Muppet-looking weatherman, Jeff Smith came out of the studio and walked down the street! Dan wanted to see where he was going, but we did not. Then, we walked past the building where Regis and Howard Stern live, and we saw Beth Ostrosky standing in the lobby, and then getting into a car!

We walked through the city again, back to the car, and then headed home. We got back here around 9:30 and I took a shower right away. Now it's time for sleep... getting a little late... and work tomorrow!

It was a fun day, full of unexpected events from seeing the show, to seeing random celebrities!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com