Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 01, 2012 - 11:20 p.m.
"aunt chickie's 85th birthday party"

Hey Journal!

Today we went up to Cold Spring to visit Aunt Chickie, and to celebrate her 85th Birthday! Woo!! I know I have mentioned this the past couple of days, and I was really looking forward to it!

We got up at 8:30 this morning and got ready! All week, my mom has been reminding us that we had to be ready to go at 9:30, and that we should get up early to get ready. She must have mentioned it at least ten times! So, we were all ready at 9:15, and when my mom, Grandma, and Grandpa arrived at 9:25, they called to say that they were outside. I pretended that I had just woken up, and that we needed about 25 minutes to get ready! My mom totally fell for it, and when we surprised them, she said she was soooo mad when she thought that we weren't ready to go!

April Fools!!!

So, Dan drove, and I navigated! We took my Grandma's car, and she, my Grandpa, and my mom sat in the back.

We made very good time, and we stopped for breakfast at "The Executive Diner" in Hawthorne, NY. It was a nice diner, and the layout was similar to the old St. James Diner, but not exactly the same. I got Challah bread french toast with HAM! The ham was AMAZING!

When we stopped at the diner, my Grandma was the first out of the car, and she ran inside! We were all still getting out, and my Grandpa got trapped inside... he couldn't get his door open, so we were helping him get out! By the time we got inside, my Grandma had already gotten a table! I'm surprised she hadn't ordered yet!

So, after breakfast, we hit the road, and it was about another hour to Aunt Chickie's. We arrived at 12:00 on the dot, and we were a little early, so we decided to take a walk down by the river. We parked, and walked through the underground tunnel. As we were walking to the tunnel, a huge train came roaring past, and my grandpa was right next to the tracks! It made a big gust of wind, and he got blown sideways, right off the sidewalk! Crazy!!

So, we made our way through the underpass, and there was an inscription that it was built in 1929, which is the same year that my Grandma was born!

We got to the other side, and walked down to the river, and when we arrived, we saw Aunt Regina and everyone there! They had the same idea as us!! We said Hi, and then took a big group picture in front of the river!

I was talking to Christen and Dan about the ride up, and all the landmarks that my mom pointed out to us, and Aunt Regina basically pointed out the exact same stuff to them! It's like they were reading off the same script! So wild!

So, we headed back to the car after that, and on to Aunt Chickie's!

We arrived, and she was out in the driveway to welcome us! I had told Dan all about her, and her house, and explained that she's just like my Grandma only WILD! Within minutes, Dan knew exactly what I was talking about!

Last night, Dan was telling me that since I hadn't seen her in over 10 years, that she may be less "wild" and less spry! I doubted him, but then I wasn't sure what to expect! Well let me tell you, he was wrong... she was just as energetic and lively as ever!

I can't believe she's turning 85! That's totally crazy! She doesn't look a day over 70!

Her house looked just like I remembered it, and that made me very happy! (Except for the screened in porch in the back, which is now a finished room. That threw me for a loop!)

So, we took pictures on the back lawn, and hung out and had a good time. Most of the time, it was Me, Dan, Dan, Christen, and Mikey in the "porch" room. We spent a while talking about just how everyone there is related to eachother, which made me look up just what a second cousin is, and what "once removed" means.

Once we knew the definitions, we drew out a little family tree and were able to figure it all out!

Dinner was good, Aunt Chickie made lasagna, and we ate, and then sang Happy Birthday!

We had wanted to take a walk down to the river, which is our tradition, but unfortunately it started to rain and was a little chilly out, so we didn't get to, but it's okay since we stopped there on the way, AND we met up with Dan, Christen, and Mikey there.

My grandma was itching to go home pretty early, but we managed to get another hour or so! She kept asking us if WE wanted to go, which was code for "I want to go!"

Before we left, I sat down with Aunt Chickie, and asked her if she was still into crafts. She said she was, and I told her that I had a dilema. I told her that many of cousins born before me, and many born after me, had gotten custom Christmas stockings, and that somehow, she was on a break from that when I was born. I asked her if she could make me one, and she said yes! I have always been sad that I didn't have an Aunt Chickie original, and so this is going to make my year this Christmas!

We left at 5:00 on the dot, and headed home. It was raining pretty hard. This time we took a little bit of a different way home. We took the Taconic to the Saw Mill River, to the Sprain. It was much better than taking the Saw Mill River the whole way because there are lights on that road, it's windy, and the speed limit is kinda low.

We made excellent time, but we lost 15 minutes when they closed the Hutchinson River Parkway to open the drawbridge right before you get to the city! Luckily we weren't too far back from the bridge, so we got moving pretty quickly once the road was reopened. A lot of cars can build up in 15 minutes!

Anyway, we got home at exactly 7:00. It was a really fun day at Aunt Chickie's! I'm really glad Dan got to meet her. She's wild and fun and I always have great memories of being at her house!

So, we got home and I had some of my leftover Meson Ole for dinner, and then I took a shower.

When I got out, I went online and played a little April Fools joke on Steve. Dan's Dad wanted me to write a letter to the membership e-mail (which Steve gets forwarded to his phone), and say that I was very offended by what Dan's dad had said to me, to scare Steve! Unfortunately, as of right now, he hasn't seen it, I guess... so we'll have to wait for his reaction tomorrow!

At 9:00, we started watching tonight's episode of Once Upon a Time! I thought it was GREAT tonight, and I was really happy to finally find out WHY the Queen HATES Snow White! Of course, you know that Snow White only meant to do good, and didn't realize how horrible Regina's mother was. Also, she was tricked into thinking that Regina's mother was trying to be a loving mother, AND that Snow White was only a small child who didn't understand! Such craziness!

Anyway, I am glad that Emma knows about Sydney now, but I was so upset about the shovel. And I am very curious to see how exactly David's wife is still alive. The preview for the next episode looked good too!

Unfortunately, the next episode isn't on until the end of April! UGH! I don't want to wait that long! Same with Desperate Housewives! Tonight's episode was very good, but now we have to wait until April 29th for a new one!

We didn't watch Celebrity Apprentice tonight, we're saving that for tomorrow, and Re texted me to tell me that Lou is up to his old antics of claiming to not be utilized to his full potential, and saying that he always give 110%! That's the same old Lou. UGH! Three hour episode, though! Should be interesting.

Anyway, NOW it's time for bed! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com