Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 02, 2012 - 11:05 p.m.
"it's not easy to get a good radio ad these days" or "1940 census"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up at regular time and I was super super tired! We got to bed too late last night!

I headed off to work, and it was a quiet Monday since we were closed. I am not looking forward to the golf outings starting up, it's going to be one less day that I get a break from insanity!

Today we spent the whole day working on our radio ad which is scheduled to run tomorrow.

When they sent over the first copy this morning it was a complete disaster. The background music was overpowering and made it sound like a circus. They also sped it up, and it sounded like the matchbox man! Ugh!

We talked to the sales guy, Bob, and he said he would have them do some work on it, but that it was a problem because there was a lot of background noise that couldn't be removed. he said his "technicians" were working on it, but "you can't tell the technicians what to do... they do this for a living."

So, instead, we took the copy of the recording without the music and I removed the noise from the background myself, and made some edits to the clip to make it a little longer, and added minor pauses where we wanted them.

We sent them back out file, and asked them to put their music under it. They messed that up again, putting some farm music, and then claiming they didn't have the original music they had used just hours earlier. What a mess.

Finally, they did find the clip "at a sister station." (Are you kidding me!?) and it came out pretty good. I think we have a good finished product, and the minor things we don't like about it will make zero difference to the effectiveness of the ad to people who are just hearing it one time for 30 seconds!

At the end of the day, I did some work on the coding for the monthly bill printer, and then Dan's dad and I had a popcorn party to end the day.

They say popcorn is one of the healthiest snacks you can it... it was on the news just last week.

When I got home, I watched the news (so I wouldn't miss out on any further reports about healthy food, of course) and then Dan brought a pizza home for dinner.

We ate and watched World News followed by Jeopardy!

Then we watched 2 of the 3 hours of Celebrity Apprentice that were on last night. What insanity! I love that show, but Donald Trump is obsessed with Dayana, and he never sees how horrible Lou is. So frustrating!

We had to cut it short since we had to get ready for bed, and I took a shower, and now I'm almost ready for sleep.

On another note, they released the 1940 Census today, and you can download the actual hand-written pages from the National Archives online. It was super slow today as so many poeple were using it that the website crashed a bunch of times and was just lagging the rest of the night.

I was able to get the pages from the house my mom grew up in, but the data was from the previous owners. They hadn't moved in yet. I did, however, find the census data for my Great Grandma and Grandpa, and my Grandma is listed there. Wild!

Anyway, It's getting late, and time to get to sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com