Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 25, 2012 - 9:45 p.m.
"philadelphia freedom" or "big fun with the wretched (cosby reference)"

Hey Journal!

So, today I took off from work to take my Grandma and Grandpa to Philadelphia for my Grandpa's eye doctor appointment. Every year, he has to go there to see a special doctor at a "world-renowned" eye hospital there.

Anyway, we had to leave early! I got up at 5:30 and got ready, and my Grandma arrived here at 5:45. I got in the driver's seat, and off we went. I brought today's entire Chris Moyles Show along with me for entertainment, and listened to it as we drove.

There wasn't any traffic on the way there, and we made excellent time. We stopped only once at the Molly Pitcher Service Area on the Jersey Turnpike, and we arrived at the place in Philadelphia around 8:45.

We parked in the parking garage, and then we headed in to the doctor's office. My Grandpa checked in, and when I turned around, there was an old woman waiting on line to check in who looked EXACTLY like Ben Franklin! I swear. The resemblance was striking! I thought, how lucky I am to have come to Philadelphia, and be face to face with the one and only Ben Franklin! This woman may have been used as the model for the $100 bill.

I was only able to get a picture of her from the side, where she only looks 80% like Ben. From head on, she is 100% his twin.

Anyway, my Grandma said the appointment would take about 3 hours or so, so I headed out on the streets of Philadelphia to explore, and to immerse myself in the American History all around me.

I walked two blocks over and located the Liberty Bell. I walked around Independence Hall, and then went to the place where the bell is housed. I went inside, and made my way over to it. It's a lot smaller in person than I thought it would be. There were a bunch of school trips there, and a lot of amish children!

After checking out the bell, I wanted to go see what the bell has originally be used for. There had been a little informational video playing near the entrance, so I went back to see if I could catch it. As I went into the room, the video was already in progress, and as I watched for a second or two, I was confused because I couldn't figure out what was going on. Then I realized... The video was in Korean! I looked at the crowd, and it was bunch of Korean people staring up at the TV!

I tried to take out my camera to capture this moment on video, but the show ended just before I was able to get it, and they all dispersed.

Anyway, I went back to the bell and took pictures, and then I went to the Visitor's Center. I got a ticket to go on a tour of Independence Hall, but it was for 1:00.

Then I took a walk down Market Street, and went to some sort of indoor marketplace, and then to a mall called "The Gallery." On the way back, I stopped at Burger King and got lunch, and then headed back to the hospital.

My Grandma had called me to say that they were almost done, but when I got back, I still had to wait a while for them.

They finally came out at about 12:50, and we got the car, and headed out. Unfortunately, I didn't get to go on the tour that I had gotten a ticket for. :( Sad face.

We headed home with plans of stopping for a nice lunch somewhere along the way. Unfortunately, just as we got near the Outerbridge, my Grandpa started to feel sick, and was afraid he was going to throw up. We stopped at the rest stop before the Goethals, and we were there for over 30 minutes while he tried to feel better.

We finally got back on the road because my Grandma said we weren't gonna wait there any more! It was 3:00 when we hit the road again.

We hit some traffic on the approach to the Verrazzano, and then again on the Belt, and then again on the Southern State. We finally switched to the Meadowbrook, and then the Expressway, and it was smooth sailing after that.

We got home at 5:10.

I was really tired now, and hungry! I ate some soup, and then watched the news. I watched World News, and when Dan got home from work, he made some Macaroni and Cheese (Phineas and Ferb shapes!)

Then I took a shower, and we watched Betty White's Off Their Rockers. I think the show is funny, but it's over so quickly, and I also wish they would show more than one reaction to each scene.

Alas, now it's time for bed! I need to get some rest since it's been a LONG day!

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com