Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 17, 2012 - 7:39 a.m.
"leaving for the united kingdom" or "long lines at security"

5/17/12 - 7:39am London
5/17/12 - 2:39am New York

Well, it's finally here! I can't believe it! Right now, we're on the plane on the way to the United Kingdom!!

This morning, I got up and got ready for work, and headed off. The day started out pretty slow, and I felt like I had everything under control at work, and nothing left to do.

As it went on, I managed to find some things that needed to be done, and it got a little hectic. I can't believe that was this morning... it feels like days ago already!

I planned to leave at 3:00, but about 5 minutes before, I found a discrepancy in the accounting program, and really wanted to figure out what the problem was before I left. Luckily I figured it out pretty quickly, and was on my at 3:10!

I got home and took a quick shower, and Dan got home a few minutes after I got out. He jumped in and took a shower as well, and then Dan's mom and brother arrived at 4:15 to pick us up and take us to the airport.

We made very good time getting to JFK, and had almost no traffic at all. Unfortunately, I think they probably hit a lot of traffic on the way home!

We got checked in, and Dan tried to work his magic and get us some sort of upgrade for the disaster they had caused with our flights. Unfortunately, they were just as unwilling to help here, although the lady at the counter really did try, she just couldn't get the manager to do anything.

We headed downstairs to go through security, and when we got down there, it was CRAZY. The line was unbelievably long! UNBELIEVABLY. I had never seen anything like it. Usually it takes less than 10 minutes to get through security, and this was ridiculous. We had to keep walking and walking to find the end of the line.

We wound up being on line for a little over an hour, and that actually seems short compared to what we thought it was going to be when we first got on line. We were lucky enough to get on line behind two people who were on our same flight, and were very nice and friendly.

It was a mother and a daughter from England, and they live in Cambridge. It was the daughter's first time visiting New York, and they said they had a great time and loved it.

We talked to them the whole time! They gave Dan a banana, and gave me Hershey's chocolates to eat on the line! We finally got up to security, and we stuck together on the same line.

We got to our plane, and boarded about 5 minutes before the scheduled takeoff time. They wound up waiting about a half hour longer, though, since some people still hadn't made it through security.

Dan and I lucked out, we had been assigned two seats that were in the same row, but were separated by a person between us. We figured it would be easy enough to ask the person if they would swap so that we could sit together, but fortunately, it never came to that because noone ever showed up! We had the whole row to ourselves, and it was NICE!

I got to stretch out when I went to sleep! Woo!

Anyway, the flight has been good so far. They served dinner shortly after taking off, and I had the beef with mashed potatoes, peas, and carrots.

It came with a dessert of chocolate pudding which was excellent!

I started to watch the movie Iron Lady, but I decided that it seemed like a really good movie, and that I couldn't devote enough attention, or hear everythig they were saying to it over the loud hum of the plane, so I figured I should wait to watch it at home.

Instead, I watched an episode of Phineas and Ferb, and then decided to re-watch the first episode of Once Upon a time. It was cool watching it now after having seen the whole season... it's crazy how they tied all these things together!

After that, I tried to get some sleep. I put my eye cover thing on, and I propped myself up with pillows, and tried to sleep. I think I probably slept for about 2 hours, and while that's not a lot,... it're more than I expected to get, and I woke up feeling refreshed.

They had already delivered breakfast, so I ate mine. It was a bagel with butter. It came in a box. It was a little light, but it was good nonetheless.

I just got up to use the bathroom, and now we're preparing to land, so I have to wrap it up!

When we land, we're off to get our rental car and then to the Harry Potter Studio Tour!

This day is going to be LOOOOONG, I don't even want to think about how little sleep I actually got... I'm feeling good now, but I'm sure it won't last long!!

Be back later!


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com