Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 04, 2013 - 12:27 p.m.
"hangin in the dugout" or "crappy fireworks"

Hey Journal!

Yesterday was a crazyyyyyyy day! We didn't get home until about 2:30am so I was pretty exhausted and couldn't write my journal! I just woke up, and before I get going with today's activities, I wanted to take the time to come write it now!

So, the day started out pretty normally, got up at 7:44, got dressed and ready for work, and headed out. I brought a change of clothes with me for after work because Dan's dad had gotten tickets to a Met's game, and we were going to leave work at 3:45 to get there.

Work was good, a couple of little member issues, but nothing major. I worked on some more website stuff, and then at about 12:00, I went out to Target to get a few things to bring with me to the game. I got two boxes of Uncrustables, which really turned out to be a great decision! I also got Ritz bitz and some cups to make Jello shots for the party we're going to tomorrow.

After I had all my stuff, I was going to leave and I saw my mom! So random! She had come to Target on her lunch break! She was headed to the register also, so we checked out, and then I got a pizza for lunch.

When I got back to work, the day was almost over. I closed up shop, and then at 3:30, I got changed and got all of my belongings together to leave! I took my stuff out to the car and Dan met us at the golf course. He got changed, and then we all got into Dan's Dad's car and headed to the game.

We left at 3:45, and got there just before 5. We were on the parking list under "Media." We had to go to the lot, and tell them our name. The lady thought we were "Adam Moskowitz," but we corrected her. lol

When parked along the fence, which was a pretty good spot. We had to head in the Hodges gate. We didn't have tickets, so Dan's dad went to find the guy who was giving us the tickets. He's the Media Relations guy, and boy was he wild!

He told us to come inside (which was before they opened the gates) and he gave us our tickets, but then walked us around the ticket line and we went through some big doors into weird corridors. He said "follow me" and then he shuffled REALLY slowly down the hall while talking on his cell phone the whole time. He wasn't even really talking on it, he was just mumbling and making noises! It was really strange. After a while, we were all a little confused if he still knew we were behind him or not! It was so wild!

We walked past the press room, and then made a left and walked past the clubhouse! We could see the lockers, and the players inside! It was wild. Then we passed the batting practice area, and finally, we walked into the Dugout! It was intense!

Next thing we knew, we were on the field! He gave us there weird passes, and told us just to hang out there! We did. At first it was insane. We were all excited and a little overwhelmed. We weren't sure if we were allowed to wander around or take pictures or if we just had to stand there like statues!

We wound up being out there for about an hour and we got comfortable with it. We would walk onto the field, go back into the dugout, we sat on the beaches in the dugout and took lots of pictures there! It was pretty cool being ON the field and looking out at the whole stadium, but it was really cool being in the dugout. We helped ourselves to water from the big jugs they have for the players during the game. We also helped ourselves to bubble gum! They have huge buckets of it! So wild.

When our time there came to an end, we headed into the seating area from the field. We found our way to our seats which were in section 111. It was a little before 7.

The game was set to start at 7, but just then, they put out a tarp on the field because the weather forecast wasn't good. And sure enough, at about 7:30, it started to rain. Dan and I took a walk to the Verizon area because my phone was at 2% and I was hoping they would have a charging station. They did have chargers, but not for an iPhone 5.... only 4, and others. But then, we noticed they had a "Charging Station" box. You had to give them your phone and get a ticket to pick it up later. Interesting! So I did that. Then, we voted on this online survey thing and each got a free Mets hat!

It poured for a long time and Dan and I were trapped in this other section because both the seats and the Verizon area where my phone were would have required us to go through the rain to get to. The rain lasted about an house. It finally stopped, and unfortunately it didn't take the humidity with it. It was still gross and sticky out.

We got my phone, which was now at 75% and then went back to our seats. This was about 8:30, but the game didn't start until 9!!!! AHHHHHH!

At this point we had already been at the stadium for 4 hours! We couldn't leave early, either because it was Fireworks night, and we were excited for the fireworks after the game.

The game was greuling. They Mets got some runs early on, but they wound up losing to the Diamondbacks. It was disappointing that they lost, but you could tell people just wanted the game to be over so they could see the fireworks. The game ended a little after midnight, at which point we had been at the stadium for 7 hours!

They set up for the fireworks, and then they began. Let me tell you... I have been to Mets fireworks nights in the past and the fireworks were incredible.... some of the best I have never seen! No joke.

Tonight's were absurd. They launches them from movable platforms in the middle of the field and they were so rinky dink and boring. They had nothing to them. The looked like flares from a flare gun. None of them burst like fireworks are supposed to! Ugh!

Then, to top off the shitty fireworks, the music stopped in the middle! After a while the guy got on the speaker and instead of telling us that there were some difficulties and the show would resume shortly.... they said "I CAN'T HEAR YOU" Which was so stupid because... it meant nothing! He also KEPT saying it, and it was just dumb. Then he said "ARE YOU READY FOR SOME MORE FIREWORKS?" Everyone cheered, and then just a few little lights sparkled on the field and the music never came on. What a disaster.

When they finally got the screen working again, the played a video and halfway through it started back over at the beginning! It was a real failure, and wouldn't have been so bad if the fireworks had actually been good!

We finally left the game around 1, and then had to go back to work to get our cars. We were soooo tried. The highlight of the day was definitely getting to go in the dugout and all that before the game! That was a great once-in-a-lifetime kinda thing!

So, we got home around 2:30 and I quickly made Jello shots to bring to the 4th of July party we're going to tomorrow, Dan took a shower, I took a shower, and then we headed off to bed!!

And that was our day!! Be back later with another update!

Adios for now. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com