Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 19, 2013 - 10:42 p.m.
"so many toys with nowhere to go" or "sausage monger"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up and headed out to my car only to find that, for the second day in a row, the window was covered with ice. Normally this wouldn't be a big deal because I'd have windshield wiper fluid to de-ice the window, but I've been out for months and I really need to get on that. On top of that, I don't have my scraper. I have no idea where it is! UGH!

I scratched some ice off with the cap from a water bottle and then blasted the defroster to start the melting! Then, I backed the car up so that it was in line with the sun and I think that helped a lot. Eventually, I was ready to go!

We've definitely gotten to the part of the year where work is completely different. It was busy and I had a lot of work to do, but at the same time, there's that no pressure feeling that is such a signature feeling of the winter at the golf course.

Later in the morning the chef called me to come outside because there was a problem with the driveway to the kitchen. There were two giant divots take out of the asphalt near the dumpster. It was obvious that it happened when they came to empty it this morning, but we didn't know exactly what had happened! I called the Town to report it and they said they would look into it and get back to me. In the meantime, I went to the video tape and watched the camera footage.

Just after I watched the incident, the phone rang and the woman from the Town was on the line. She said that she got in touch with the driver and that he had to drag the dumpster which made two marks on the asphalt. Not so, according to the video. He began to lift the dumpster and then all of a sudden it fell off the truck and slammed down... making the marks. Then he picked it up again and emptied it. So strange.

Anyway, in the end, a Supervisor came out, took photos of the damage, and they are going to fill it in when the weather gets warmer with an asphalt patch.

In the afternoon, Steve, Bill, and I went over the projections for the membership dues for next year. Things look good... So I'm optimistic! Immediately after that we started talking about 401ks and money stuff and then we were looking into which investments have been doing the best in our 401k plan. I think I'm going to have to do some rebalancing!

I also dealt with Toys for Tots. They are so annoying. First off, every year they move the location of their facility, so I have to jump through hoops to find them so I can drop off the toys that we collect at the golf course. This year, I looked up the Suffolk county location on their website. Of course, there's no address... Just a name, two phone numbers, and a fax number. I've been calling the phone numbers since Monday and nobody ever answers. I left a message, but got no call back. Today, I called several more times, and even tried the when-all-else-fails FAX! No surprise, though.... the fax number had no answer either! UGH!

Finally, I emailed their main office in Virginia and I got a reply right away. They said they would get in touch with the office here and have them get in touch with us as soon as possible. I never heard from them today.... but maybe tomorrow!

As a snack, I had chicken noodle soup in the mid-morning and then I completely lost track of time and forgot to order lunch! I had some saltines just before I left to hold me over, though.

I left at 5 and headed home. Dan had a holiday party at Dave and Busters for his department so he was out, and in fact is still out.

I went to the gym and was happy to be back there. It's been a while, so I need to get back to our routine. Unfortunately, we can't keep it up too long because tomorrow we can't go, and I don't know about Saturday either! So busy! It's also harder to go in the winter when you have to bundle up so much, but want to wear shorts and short sleeves at the gym, and DON'T want to be dealing with the hassle of changing there!

Gym Report:
50 Crunches at 50lbs
1 mile on the Treadmill in 15mins
1 mile on the Treadmill in 15mins
2 miles on the EBike in 8mins

When I got home, I took a shower and then Dan's mom gave me some pasta and sausage that she had made for dinner! I know, MORE SAUSAGE! Just yesterday I was saying that I've had a really unusual amount of sausage lately, and now MORE! I have been enjoying it, though. So, to recap.... Friday I had sausage in my pasta at Umbertos, then Saturday I had breakfast Sausage at IHOP, then last night I had spaghetti with sausage at Branchinelli's and now TONIGHT. Wow!

I watched some TV after that, and an episode of Being Human, and now it's time for bed... well... almost. I'm gonna wait a little while longer to see if Dan comes home soon, and then I'll get to sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com