Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 21, 2013 - 11:45 p.m.
"saving mr. banks" or "non-parade party"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up around 10:30 and Dan and I had to clean up the basement in preparation for Dan's parents' party. We had to hide our belongings and make it look like we don't live in the basement... so we stashed my computer, the microwave, and our other items in the bedroom.

We left the house around 12:30 to meet Re at the movies at 1:00. We went to Deer Park and we got there almost exactly at 1. We got our tickets and then went over to the Christmas Tree shop to get some bottled water.

The movie was supposed to start at 1:40 but we got in and got a seat around 1:15. It wasn't super crowded and the seats in front of us were open until like 2 minutes before the movie actually started, which was extremely annoying.

There were soooo many coming attractions... it was probably the most I've ever had to endure. It was over 25 minutes!

So, we saw Saving Mr. Banks, which was I really excited to see. The coming attractions made it look really good, and I was excited to see how Mary Poppins was made and the whole backstory. I feel like this is the first movie I've been excited to see in a really really long time.

In some ways I was happy with it and in other ways I was a little disappointed. I felt like there were a lot of slow parts -- mostly the scenes about the author's childhood. They dragged a bit, and I felt like every time it flashed back, I found myself closing my eyes and taking a deep breath because I knew it was gonna be a little tough. Otherwise, I thought it was good, and I really did enjoy learning about what Disney had to go through to make this movie. You never think about all that goes into it, especially this kind of struggle over getting the rights from an author, when you see a movie. I also really like that she made them tape their conversations in real life, so that gave the actors and writers of this movie some real feeling of how this went in real life. I think it's cool that, even though it was recorded because she was afraid Disney wouldn't do as she asked, that they now have this archived recording. It makes you wonder what other amazing treasures they have in their archives.

When this movie was over, we headed home and I took a shower in preparation for the party.

The party started at 6, but I didn't make my grand entrance until about 6:30. I watched TV in the bedroom until then. The party was good, but there was nobody for us to talk to, so it was a bit boring for us. I talked to my mom most of the night and then, after my mom left around 10:30, I called it a night, put on my pajamas, and went to watch TV in bed.

Now almost everyone is gone and I'm gonna get to bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com