Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 08, 2014 - 1:29 a.m.
"the best lion dancing ever"

Hey Journal!

Today we experienced the BEST Lion Dancing we've been to yet!! It was amazing! We also learned some Lotus East secrets! Stay tuned for more...

Work today was pretty quiet and the morning went by quickly as I tried to make a dent in the papers that had been piling up on my desk. I've been making progress, but somehow I never manage to get to the bottom of the pile.

We also finalized all of the papers for the lawsuit against the person who held a golf outing at the course in the Summer and then never paid.

At about 2:00, we went upstairs for a tasting of some more food for the regular menu and also for the Valentine's Day menu. There was Veal and Duck. I tasted both, and this is only the second time I've had duck. (The first time was a tasting we had last year!) The veal was AMAZING, though! It was so tasty and I loved it!

I was hoping to leave work about 15 minutes early to get home for lion dancing, but that didn't happen! I wound up leaving about 5 minutes late because I was working on a couple of random things that I wanted to finish up!

Tonight, Dan went out to the city with some people from work. They went to dinner at some sort of Japanese restaurant and to a bar. He went straight from work, so when I got home I just got ready for Lion Dancing, and waited for Re and Linda to arrive.

The plan was to meet here at 6:20 and then head out to Lotus East II. None of us had never been to that location, but figured we'd give it a try since we loved the original Lotus East which closed, and we also love Lion Dancing!

Re arrived here around 6:25 but Linda was running late, so we decided to just meet there. I drove, and as we were driving we heard some weird noises coming from under my car! I actually had been hearing this noise for about two days and it sounded like something rolling around in my truck, but it didn't make sense. It kinda sounded like it was under the car... and we figured we'd check it out when we got out of the car.

Re and I inspected it when we left Lotus East, and it turns out it's my muffler! It has somehow become detached from the bottom of the car and whenever the car goes over a bump, the muffler goes up and down and apparently hits the underside of the car!

Anyway, Liz arrived first at Lotus East at 7:00. Usually Lion Dancing is packed, so I was worried that we wouldn't get a table if we were late! When we got there, however, there was plenty of room. Re and I arrived at 7:15, and Linda got there around 7:20.

So, our first impressions of THIS location compared to the other one is that it looked a lot the same. There were many of the same decorations, and it has the same feel... but it looks a little more put together. It was also bigger and more spacious inside. We all had a good time looking at the crazy misspellings on the menu!

The menu is the same as the other one, and I was happy about that. We had been hoping that Gene would be present, but sadly, he was not. I guess it really is true... he did retire! They did his a server who we named "Gene 2.0." He was kinda like him, just not.

We also were hoping that the girl who answered the phone at the original Lotus would be there. We were happy to find that she WAS, but a giant secret was revealed to us as well! There are TWO her! TWINS! We decided that they are either like Mary Kate and Ashley playing Michelle Tanner on Full House -OR- they are like The Parent Trap, where there were two twins who never knew that the other existed!

Anyway, we ordered our food, and at 8:00, Lion Dancing commenced! It was incredible! The best one we've ever seen! The lions started outside, lined up across the long window! The traditional drum beat started up, and it was in full swing! When they got inside "Gene 2.0" stood up on a big tall chair and held an envelope up near the ceiling for the lions to get! It was great! Then they started making their rounds.... and this year, there was an addition! A woman wearing a crazy mask with painted blue hair! It was so great!

We loved the whole thing! The white lion kept doing some wild twerking moves and the guy who was in the butt of the lion wasn't too bad looking! ;) He actually came over and ate my head, and then wouldn't let go!! lol It was wild.

Connor and Cameron really enjoyed as well. Cameron was a little afraid, which surprised me because last year she wasn't.

The show went on for a long time. It was perfect! We loved it, and had a great time. I also brought my good camera and got some nice pics! I brought the good flash, and that was a good choice! In previous years, the pictures weren't that good because front flash made the lions glow and then the rest of the picture would be dark!

The finale was great, too! They all line up outside the window outside. When they were done, we ate our food. It was great... just like the Lotus East I know and love! When we were done, Cameron went over to check out the fish in the fish tank, and we each went over with her, one at a time. When I went over, she told me that one of the fish was talking to her. I asked her what he was saying, and she replied, "I DON'T SPEAK FISH!" It was great!

After that, we went to Target. Linda had to get a present for a birthday party she's going to tomorrow, and we all tagged along. We got there around 10, and it was open until 11. Connor's lips were chapped and bleeding, so we had to get him some chapstick, too!

Linda, Connor, and Cameron headed home after that, and Re, Liz, and I came back here to do a little crafting. Re wanted to make some examples of a project that she's going to do with her students, and so me and Liz helped to come up with a couple idea. She wanted us to make animals out of shapes cut out of construction paper! First, I made a Giraffe. I loved it... it came out really cool! Then I made a penguin, and finally a bear! I loved them all! I took photos of them to remember them by! Liz made a cool bat and a chick coming out of an egg. Re made a dog and one other animal, but I can't remember what it was!

They stayed until 1am, and now I'm just hanging out waiting for Dan to get back. I am exhausted... but I have to go pick him up at the train station! His train is scheduled to arrive at 2:41! I wanted to take Dan's car because of my muffler issue, but I couldn't because he took the keys with him! Blah!

Anyway, after I pick Dan up... we'll be getting right to sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com