Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 02, 2014 - 11:45 p.m.
"chinese buffet 8 year reunion"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up and headed to work. It was a pretty good day, nothing too intense going on. I feel like that's been the theme of the week, though.

I had a couple of important things to do and I needed to talk to Steve about them but he was busy ALL day! Every time I would try to sneak in to talk to him he'd be running out to do something else! That kinda kept me from starting the only thing I HAD to do today until much later in the afternoon.

I've been having more problems with Carbonite again, which isn't surprising since they never have been able to resolve my problem in the past. What happens is... I have all my photos backed up there and they are organized into folders by Year, Month, and then Day. When I want to look for a particular photo, I go to the approximate year and month and start hunting through the folders. (Same as I would do if I were at home... but when I'm away I use Carbonite to browse my backed up files.)

As I open each folder, a thumbnail preview of each image opens... until I see a certain amount of thumbnails, and then they stop loading. They stop loading, and I can't see any more. If I change computer, they still won't show. The only remedy is to wait about an hour, and then I can continue...but only until I view a certain amount of them, and it happens again.

It's so frustrating because the problem is clearly on their end, and every time I call in, they try to say it's my computer, or I should uninstall and reinstall Carbonite. It's obviously not that, but I've tried it and it didn't work. Surprise.

When I e-mail them they give me the same clueless support people who can't wrap their head around my issue. It's so annoying.

Anyway, while I was flipping through my pictures I decided to see what I had done on this day in previous years. In 2005, Dan and I went to the Chinese Buffet in Commack! The picture I took of the food really put me in the mood to go there again, so Dan and I planned to go there for dinner tonight.

I don't know if that was the last time we were there... but even if it wasn't... it's been a LONG time... at least 5 years.

I left work at 5 and headed home and as soon as Dan got home we went to the restaurant. The first thing we noticed was a sign at the entrance announcing they were adding a service charge to the bill and eliminating tipping. My favorite part of the sign was "This will be the last change to the policy."

The food was good, I had wonton soup, PFR, lo mein, chicken wings, and even pizza. For dessert I had pudding and jello. BAM!

After that we went to Price Club to return the contact solution we had purchased a couple of weeks ago. I thought it was on sale but it wasn't. We didn't even really need it yet, I was just buying it because I thought it was on sale, so we got rid of that. Then we got some water and headed out.

Next stop, Target. We returned some bottles and then paid our Target credit card bill. We got some food we needed, and by then it was about 9:30.

We went to Starbucks in Commack and hung out there for a while until they closed at 10:00. Then we drove around the neighborhood looking at houses. Not particularly houses for sale, but just houses in general.

We saw one with a creepy man sitting in an upstairs window just starting out, and one a few houses away from that that was totally ridiculous. Across the whole house, on the second floor, were four sliding glass doors...each with a ceiling fan over it, and a long balcony. It was so strange... It was like the outside of a cruise ship! How could something think that made sense!?

Anyway, we got home at 10:45 and showered up and now we're off to bed!!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com