Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 23, 2014 - 10:59 p.m.
"philadelphia weekend getaway" or "haddonfield and british things"

Hey Journal!

Greetings from a hotel in Cherry Hill, NJ! Today we took a mini trip to Philly to get away for the weekend!

I got up this morning at 7:45 even though we didn't plan to be up until 8:45. I just couldn't sleep for some reason.

I went out to my new car to set up my phone. I had done that yesterday but I didn't get to import my contacts and stuff because the saleswoman came and tried to help me but didn't know what she was doing!

Anyway, I went out and got it done and then played around with some more of the settings to make sure I know how everything works!

When Dan got up, we talked to his mom for a little while and then we had to get ready to leave. We left around 9:30 and headed over to show my Grandpa my new car. He was asleep last night when we came, so I took him for a drive around the block. Re met us there and I left my car in the driveway rather than on the street in front of Dan's parents' house!

Before Re arrived, though, my mom made us eggs for breakfast. It was nice to have something to eat before we hit the road.

We left around 10:30 and we made it to the New Jersey Turnpike in excellent time. Unfortunately, there was a TON of traffic backed up on the turnpike, so we took an alternate route. It was kinda more like side roads, but it was scenic, and we made good time.

We stopped for lunch at Cracker Barrel and had a hard time deciding whether to get lunch or breakfast. I was craving the pancakes and turkey sausage, but I wound up going for the Chicken and Dumplings which I hadn't gotten in so long!

It started raining pretty hard as we got to Philadelphia. We found a parking garage near the Liberty Bell and we took our umbrellas. We waited on line for about 25 minutes to see the bell. It was call... but I had seen it before, not too long ago.

The rain started to let up a little after that, so we walked to the Franklin Institute. It's a science museum. We got there at 5:00. They had a lot of exhibits closed because a wedding was going on, and it was also only two hours before the museum closed, so they were charging half price.

We made our way through the exhibits and it was pretty cool. I like museums but after a while they all start to kinda be a little bit boring. I think the coolest thing they had was a huge old steam engine train! It was pretty wild to step inside and see what it was like to be inside something so huge! I can't imagine what it must have been like to be riding in it down the tracks!

We left the museum at 7 and headed back to the parking garage. Re changed her shoes, and then we went to check out the site of Ben Franklin's grave.

For dinner we decided to head outside of the actual city of Philadelphia and look for a restaurant in more suburban area. We also decided it would be nice to find a hotel out there as well. We headed to a town called Haddonfield. Dan had looked up nice suburbs of Philly, and that came up. We drove down the main street there, and there weren't too many restaurants, and most of the stores were closed. It was only 8:30!

We drove past a place called The British Chip Shop, and I checked out the menu online! We agreed that it sounded good, so we found a parking spot and went in! When we walked through the door, I saw Dr. Who on the TV and I remembered that TONIGHT was the Season Premiere!! AHHH!! I had totally forgotten, even though I was looking forward to it for so long!

I freaked out and told Dan and Re to go outside! When we got out of the restaurant, I told them that they must be having a premiere party and I figured we could walk around for 10 minutes until the show ended. It was a good plan, until I looked on my phone and found out that the show WASN'T ending at 9... it was an extended episode ending at 10!!

Since we were all pretty hungry, we headed back and luckily we got the only table in the restaurant that you couldn't see the TV from! Everyone else in the place was GLUED to the TV!

I ordered the Bangers and Mash... Dan got a Cottage Pie, and Re got the Chicken and Mushroom pie. Our waiter, Nate, told us that was the trifecta!

We finished up just as the show was ending at 10. We headed back to the car and tried to find a place to stay. We were torn between the Residence Inn or the Holiday Inn. I think I generally like Residence Inns better but the Holiday was $10 cheaper, so it won.

I booked it online and then we showed up. We checked in and headed up to our room. Room 409. It was nice. I took a shower, and then Re took a shower and now we're all just getting ready for bed.

Tomorrow our plans are to go to the zoo and then to go to an old prison that's now a museum! I'm very excited about that. I still want to go to Alcatraz, too!

Anyway, now it's time for bed! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com