Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 22, 2014 - 11:35 p.m.
"the closing" or "happy 11th birthday to my car" or "happy new prius c"

Hey Journal!

Wow. Today so much happened that I don't even know where to start! It was the most intense day, but now that everything is all finished with it seems like a weight has been lifted from me. No more stressing about anything possibly going wrong. We're all set!

I can't believe that we OFFICIALLY own a home, and what makes it even harder to believe is that we can't live in it, or even go to it, until next Wednesday. That's a pain, but at least it's just five days away!

I got up this morning earlier than usual, and left just a couple of minutes after Dan. My first stop was the bank in Commack. I had to get two certified checks for the closing. I arrived around 8:15 and didn't realize that the bank didn't open until 8:30. In the meantime, I caught up on some episodes of the Scott Mills Daily. I haven't been able to them as much lately since I've been driving with Dan and I'm a couple of days behind.

Anyway, once the bank opened, I got my checks. It was scary seeing so much money written out in bank checks and knowing that it was all OUR money and that soon it wouldn't be anymore! Scary!

Next I headed off to work. It was a short morning. I brought some stuff in from my car to store in the basement at work until we move in to the house and then I got some things done for work.

I left at 10:45 and headed to pick up Dan at work. We headed over to the closing which was just a minute up the road. We got there around 11:05 and when we got to the office, the sellers and their lawyer were there already. Our lawyer was about 15 minutes late!

As soon as he arrived, we got started SIGNING! Mark explained all of the documents to us and then we just started passing them back and forth and signing all over the place. It's really crazy how much we signed today and how we really didn't read any of it. It's so crazy. I mean, how do they think people REALLY know what they are agreeing to. I mean, I like to think that I do, but there could be some paragraph that says I have to do something totally random. I'd have no idea!

Bob, who arrived a little later on, took a seat in the corner of the room. Now, last night he had said that he found out that our lawyer was a town councilman and was voting on a project that Bob was in favor of. He said he wondered which way the issue would go, but said, "Don't worry... I won't bring it up tomorrow!"

No sooner had he sat down in his seat was he introducing himself to Mark and asking him if he knew how the vote was going to go! Much to Bob's delight, Mark informed him that the vote had already happened, and that the project was approved!

Just as we were finishing up with the signing we had a very pleasant surprise. Joanne, or JoJo as you may know her, showed up! It was a surprise because she didn't need to be there, and she wasn't supposed to be there! She just came to meet us and congratulate us! She brought us a bottle of champagne, and I was just so happy to finally meet her! It's so weird, I've been communicating with her since last November and from about May of this year until now, I've sent her so many emails that I've lost count! I told her that I was so happy to finally get to meet her and I really appreciate that she went out of her way to come to the closing!

She didn't look like who I had pictured her to be in my head, but I guess that's not surprising... I didn't have much to go on. Just a voice. I have to say that of all the people we've worked with from start to finish, nobody has worked as hard for us as Joanne and nobody has been there, been as available, and gone above and beyond for us like she has!

She e-mailed me on her vacation, she's called me from home, she's helped me whenever I needed it... and I'm sure I was a little bit of a pain in the butt sometimes, too.

I told her, "I don't know what I'm going to do all day now that I don't have to e-mail you anymore!"

We waited around for a while for the closing attorney to get certified checks for the sellers and then it was over! We said goodbye to everyone and headed out. I dropped Dan back off at work, and I went back to work as well.

It was a little anticlimactic because we just bought a house, we just did the closing, and now we don't get anything. We don't get to go there, we don't get to start setting things up. It's just a little weird. But, we only have 5 more days!

Back at work I had a bunch of things to get done before the weekend, and Re was in when I got there.

5:00 rolled around quickly and then I headed home. I picked Dan up at Jimmy's. Oh, and before I left work I called to schedule taking over the electric bill on August 28th.

When we got home, I took a shower and got ready to go to pick up my new car! I know.... what a crazy day.

How many people do you think bought a house AND a car today! Not many. Not many.

First off, before I get into it, I want to have a little tribute for my old car. My 2000 Ford Focus turned 11 years old today. Today was its birthday. (Well, at least its birthday with me!) I remember how excited I was to finally have a car of my own back on August 22, 2003. It was a great car. I still love the way it looks. It's a 14 year old car and it doesn't look outdated at all. I mean, it was a pretty modern style for 2000. I remember thinking it was a little weird back then.

It has been so many places with me. It's taken me so many places. To Cortland, to visit Dan at AU, and countless other trips. It's the car I had when Dan and I met, it's the car I drove to meet him at the movie theater and the car that I drove for so many firsts in my life. New jobs, new places.... It's been with me all the way. It's been reliable, but it's true that it definitely has seen better days. It started making noises a few years ago and recently they've gotten even worse.

It was time to say goodbye, but I miss it already. I feel bad for it. I loved it. But don't worry. I told it how much I loved it before I left. Thanks for being a great car!

So, we went to Panera with my mom for dinner and then over to Toyota to pick up the vehicle. I got a brand new 2014 Prius C two. It's pretty cool. I love the gas mileage it gets and as small as it may be, one of my favorite features is the bluetooth audio. It's great that I can play "The Scott Mills Daily" podcast from wirelessly!

After we got the car, we went to show my Grandma. We drove around the block, and it just drives so nicely! I love it.

I just keep thinking of my old car, sad, lonely, outside of the Toyota place wondering where I went, and wishing I would come back for it. I need to keep reminding myself that cars don't have feelings. That cars don't miss people. But I get attached. I miss my car, even though I love my new car.

I can only hope that my new car is as good to me as my Ford Focus was. Green Business.

Anyway, now we're home and have gotten ready for bed.

One more thing I don't want to acknowledge before I go to sleep. Diane Sawyer is leaving ABC World News and I don't want to believe it's actually happening!

But now I have to get into bed and watch tonight's episode.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com