Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 16, 2014 - 10:55 p.m.
"payroll propositions" or "the punishment for missing a tv show"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up and headed off to work. As seems to always be the case, the day started off really nice but then went completely crazy. Bill and I had a meeting at 10:00 with a new payroll company to see if we wanted to switch. I went into the meeting pretty skeptical, but I really was intrigued by what they had to say.

The two people who came were very nice and we were with them until about 12:45! (I'll get back into more about that later.)

When we got out of the meeting, I had lost a lot of valuable time! I hurried upstairs and moved the register back into the cubby in the restaurant and then I hurried back to the office because I had so much work waiting for me.

I worked like mad all afternoon long. Steve was out today, so that gave me a little more time to work on stuff, but it was probably the craziest day I've at at work all year. I know I say that a lot... but it seems like I just keep outdoing myself!

I had to get the payroll submitted and there was SOOO much to do. In addition to the regular payroll which takes almost no effort at all, we had to do bonuses and holiday fund distribution, and THAT took forever!

The monthly payroll which I submitted yesterday was delivered and, although I specifically requested to have the check stuffed but not sealed.... they didn't put them in envelopes and I was so annoyed because I had to speak to two people for that yesterday... one who barely understood English!

I called the VP guy whose number I had from a problem we had a while back... and he had 20 envelopes delivered to us in the afternoon! I felt good about that.

For lunch I had the French Dip sandwich and I had it delivered to my desk. I was in such a rush, I didn't even have time to go upstairs. In retrospect, I really should have found the time to break away and eat upstairs so I could have decompressed for about 10 minutes! I really needed a break.

I left work at 5 and then Dan and I met at Target in Commack to get some supplies for our Christmas Breakfast on Sunday morning. We got bacon, sausage, eggs, and paper plates. On the way home, Dan stopped at Party City to get some red table cloths, and I went to the gas station to get gas in my car.

A weird thing happened the last time I needed gas. When I left home, I had two bars of gas left and I was certain that it would be enough to get me to work and back. Surprisingly, when I got to work, I was on the last bar, and it was flashing that it was really low. I couldn't believe how fast it went. Today, when I left work work, I had three bars. I was scared because I figured I would be down to one by the time I got home... but weirdly, today, I was still at THREE bars after Target. I just don't understand what happened last time!

Anyway, I got home, watched World News, and Dan decided not to go to the gym and to hang out here at home. I wrapped some fake presents to put under the Christmas tree and Dan took a shower.

When he got done, we watched Major Crimes from two weeks ago. What a disaster. First, the TNT app for the iPhone is TERRIBLE. It's all glitchy, and then when I tried to play it on the AppleTV, it played the ADVERTISEMENTS on the TV, but then when the actual show came on, it played the video on the iPhone and the audio on the TV. Really? What a mess. I tried it several times and even deleted and reinstalled the app. No luck. What a shitty app.

The end solution was the set up the projector and use the laptop. I did, but the website isn't much better. The video kept freezing and the commercials were so long and terrible. What a mess.

I suppose that's the punishment we were given for not properly saving the show on the TiVo! I will really try NEVER to make that mistake again. Meanwhile, we have one more episode to watch on the TiVo. It seems like we just can't catch up with all the TV we have waiting for us.

I took a shower before we watched Major Crimes and then afterwards we cleaned up a little bit and it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com