Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 12, 2015 - 1:02 a.m.
"cherry blossoms" or "spring weekend"

Hey Journal!

This morning we got up for breakfast at 9:00 and headed downstairs for the continental breakfast! I decided against the waffle today and opted for the eggs, sausage, and cereal!

Today we were lucky enough to score a table-- one of the small private booths. The people sitting across the way from us were meeting with a real estate agent. They must be looking to buy a home nearby. We were watching them trying to figure out what their deal was for a while.

After we ate we showered up and got ready to head to DC! We took the shuttle to the Metro and this time we shared the shuttle with some Asian tourists. Linda sat in the front seat and they had to go all the way back. Dan thought that was rude but I didn't really see it lol!

We had to add money to our SmarTrip cards and I was hoping we could just do an Exit Fare but we didn't have enough left to get in. So, we had to wait on some rather long line to use the machine!

Everything today was soooo busy! I think this is the busiest it's ever been in DC when I was there! The Cherry Blossom festival was held this weekend and everyone was flocking to see them!

We took the metro to Rosslyn and then transferred to the blue line and went to Arlington National Cemetery! We walked in and up the hill to JFK's grave. We also walked up even further to see Lee's house and then all the way down to the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. We arrived 5 mins before the changing of the guard. It was an... Interesting ceremony. I don't mean at all to be disrespectful but I felt that it was a little boring. Like, they could do something a little more.

After that we left the cemetery and walked over the bride and into DC to the Lincoln Memorial! I had never walked over that bridge before, it was pretty cool!

We checked out the Lincoln Memorial and went inside for some selfie stick action. Connor and Cameron tried to do funny poses with the Washington Monument but it was very hard to set up!

Next we walked towards the Jefferson Memorial but we didn't make it all the way there because it was just too far! We did see the Martin Luther King memorial which I had never been to before. From there, there was a really nice view of the Jefferson Memorial and the cherry blossoms!

Cameron was really upset that she couldn't get ice cream and had a little bit of a breakdown at this point of the trip, but she got over it pretty quickly and she was back on track soon! We walked down the mall and eventually crossed to the other side to find something for lunch. There were so many people out today and there was barely any cell phone service. We couldn't look anything up or find anything to eat. It was just like when we came for the Rally to Restore Sanity! Eventually, as we got a little farther from the mall we were able to get a signal and Dan found a sandwich place to go to. We went there and took a break for a bit. We had some trouble getting a table but we split up and it wasn't so bad.

The weather today was beautiful. It was a perfect day, I wore shorts and a t-shirt and I wasn't cold! I was a little worried in the morning that I should have worn a hoodie, but I was fine. The only problem... I didn't realize until later. (I'll get to it...)

Anyway, after lunch we hurried over to Ford's Theater and the House where Lincoln Died. Dan said he thought it closed at 4:30 and it was about 4:00 when we left the sandwich place. When we got there, it turns out it actually was open until 5:30. The theater was closed but the house was open. We got online and had to wait about 20 minutes to get in.

Inside, you just walked through and saw the bedroom where he died. Then, and this was new... I've never seen this before... You took an elevator upstairs and there was a big exhibit. All the stuff that used to be in that random basement on the theater. We checked out all the cool stuff, and there was also a special "150th Anniversary" exhibit with Lincoln's Top Hat (That's where it went! It wasn't in the museum yesterday!) and the stuff from his pockets and the actual gun that killed him.

Wild. They said that the special exhibit was only here for a short time but I don't really understand why. All of that stuff really belongs at that place... there's no reason it should be in other museums.

Anyway, after that we walked to the Metro Center station and took the train back! This was the most crowded Metro ride ever! It was so full and we were all squished like sardines standing! It was actually a little funny. We even took a selfie in there... once I could get some arm room to hold up the camera. It wasn't possible to do the stick!

It was on the Metro that I realized the true problem of today's weather. I got a terrible sunburn! My face and neck are really burnt and it was bad! I really am kicking myself because I should have thought ahead and put on sunscreen. I knew we were going to be walking around all day... how did I not realize the sun was going to be so bad. I just think it's the FIRST nice day we've had all year and I'm so stupid!

We called the shuttle and we had to share it again with a large group of asian tourists. We got back to the hotel and went to CVS to get some Aloe. I was going to get the traditional green aloe buit got blue (with lidocaine) instead. It wasn't really that great, but I put it all over my forehead and neck to try to do anything I could to avoid the damage of sunburn.

Sunburn is really one thing I absolutely hate and avoid at all costs which is why I'm so mad at myself for not realizing this today.

Anyway, back in the room we had some drinks and watched TV for a little while. We tried to find a place for dinner and I came up with this British Pub that was on Foursquare. It was called Public House No. 7.

We headed over there and... we were a little concerned because when we looked inside the place was as empty as could be. It turns out we were on the opposite side of the building and there was much more activity in the back. They had a band playing and stuff. Anyway, we went inside. It was good.. I got the Roast Beef Sunday Roast. It was good... I think everyone enjoyed their food but the music was a little too loud for me. It was funny, also, because when we first arrived the bar wasn't hopping.. it was more of a restaurant vibe but as the night went on it really became a BAR and here we were with two kids hanging out in bar! lol It was kinda funny!

After that we made it back to the hotel and I took a shower to sooth my sunburn. I also read online that you should take ibuprofen and also vitamin C, so I had an Emergen-C. I drank a LOT of water tonight. I was not happy with the blue aloe so Dan and I walked back to CVS and exchanged it for the green. I tried to use ApplePay for the second time in my life but CVS rejected it. It went through... like, my phone said the amount and all... but then the pin pad denied me.

We stayed up for a while watching TV and had some popcorn! Cameron was really tired and fell asleep and then Connor started covering up her nose while she was sleeping. It was crazy. Now it's time for sleep! Tomorrow I'm going to have my leftover lasagna for breakfast and then we are going to try to hit the road around 11am!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com