Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 20, 2015 - 8:15 a.m.
"muc to lhr" or "night with julio"

5/19/15 3:30pm CEST

Hey Journal!

This morning we got up around 7:00 because some guy's alarm went off. We had planned to get up at 8 but it was nice to get an early start!

Last night I woke up around 12:45 after hearing THE LOUDEST thunder I have ever heard in my life! A storm went through and it was so insane. I guess it's because we were a mile high!

So, we got up, packed up, and headed out. They had a breakfast at the hotel and I think you had to pay for it. If it was free, I would have liked to stay, but I don't think it was!

The walk was difficult but thankfully it wasn't raining at all! It would have been terrible in the rain. In fact, it wasn't even wet. We had to stop a few times to catch our breath but it didn't take too long.

We took the cable car down and had the same operator as we did on the way up. David. We hadn't spoken to to him the first time but now we were the only ones in there so we talked about our trip. He was really nice. When we told him this was our first ever trip on a cable car he said that he was honored to have been our cable car operator! Haha

We got to the bottom and walked to the car. Before we left, we rearranged our clothes in the suitcases for the flight. Then we got on the road towards Münchin!

The rental car return at the Mietswagen was crazy. Bill at work had warned me that they are like vultures who inspect the car with a fine tooth comb, and he was right! Never have I returned a rental car and had more scrutiny. Luckily we had no problem and the process was smooth.

We headed to the terminal and we were there in plenty of time for our flight. We first went to the bathroom and I shaved since I wasn't able to do that (or shower) last night!

Then we checked in for our flight and selected our seats. The plane looked lIke it had a lot of open seats so Dan and I choose the window and aisle seats leaving one open in the middle!

The check-in process in Munich was amazing. You did the kiosk thing, then brought your bags over to the drop off. There were no people there. You simply put your bags on the scale, a ticket prints out, you put it on the bag, and then it's taken into a really cool machine!

Very efficient!

Security was, too. No long lines, very calm, and very orderly. It was a breeze! We found our gate and then connected to the WiFi and charged our phones and my watch! The watch was at about 20% battery after over 29 hours so I'm confident in the battery life lasting at least a day!

Our flight was scheduled for 2:40pm CEST. We boarded at 2:30 and then found out that the flight was delayed by 1 hour. We sat on the runway for a while but I think it ended up being more like 45 mins.

The flight went pretty quickly but then, just towards the end of the flight, the captain got on and announced that we had been put into a holding pattern over Heathrow because of bad weather for another 45 minutes! Ugh! What a mess! It actually wasn't quite that long and we only wound up landing about an hour and 15 mins later than we were scheduled.

5/20/15 8:15am BST

Once we were on the ground, I immediately messaged our AirBNB host to let him know that we were running late. He said that the cleaning lady was at the apartment waiting for us with the keys and that it was no problem. We went through the border, got our luggage, and then headed to the tube! We bought a 7 day pass for the tube which is great because we have already ridden so many times and taken busses and everything. I love having access to the busses, too... they are so amazingly convenient in London!

We took the Piccadilly Line to South Kensington and then walked about 5 minutes to the flat. We buzzed the apartment and the cleaning lady answered. She was a confused asian woman. When she first answered she said "I thought you were going to be here at 6:30!" (It was 6:10!) Then, she attempted to buzz open the front door and it didn't happen. She tried and tired again. We had to call up to her about 4 times to tell her that it wasn't open! It was so crazy!

Finally, she managed to get the door open and we came upstairs. The flat is on the top floor so there were a lot of stairs to climb! It wasn't terrible but it was awkward lugging all of our luggage up all of those steps! Once we got in, the asian lady gave us the keys and left.

We got settled in and then each took a shower. We hadn't showered in over a day and we couldn't wait to get freshened up!

The flat is nice, it's kinda small - a studio, but no smaller than a hotel room would be. It's right in the middle of the city and it's great to have a kitchen with a refrigerator and stuff. Sure, you don't get the room cleaned every day but it's not like we're making a real mess of anything anyway!

As soon as we were dressed and ready to go, we went for some food. We hadn't really eaten anything all day. We went over to the Tattersall Tavern which is right around the corner from our airBNB and right near Harrod's. We had gone there the last few times we were here in London and I always had enjoyed it. I wanted to get a Sunday Roast but Dan thinks they only serve Sunday Roasts on Sunday. I thought it was all week. I don't know. In any case, I got the Steak and Ale Pie. It was good, and we had a nice lunch.

After that, we walked to Sainsbury's to get some goods. We picked up milk, orange juice, and cereal. Sure, we're going to get some Full English Breakfasts while we're here but it's nice to have cereal some mornings and also as a snack before bed.

We took a bus to get there, and then on the way back we took another bus. I love the busses here. I think I said that already but seriously!

When we got back from Sainsbury's, we got changed and then went to meet up with Julio at a bar for a few drinks. We took the tube there and before we went to the bar we got some cash from Barclay's. (BOA Partner ATM!) We got the money and then went and got a drink. Julio arrived shortly after us and a friend of his met us there.

We hung out for a bit and then went to another bar. I had been to the second bar we went to. We had a drink there, and then went to a crazy club! The drinks were super cheap and we had a bunch. I got so drunk and it was so unexpected! I had no idea it was going to be that kind of night! We stayed there until about 2:30am!

Every time I went to the bathroom the attendant woman would said, "show me some love darling!" She was so scary! I gave her no money.

Some girl came up to me and offered to buy me a drink because I was american and I said no thanks... after that she didn't speak to me again! lol

Anyway, we had a fun time! It was great to see Julio here and go out and have a fun drinking night! Julio's friend was really nice, too, although I have no idea what his name was! I woke up this morning feeling very hungover. I was sure to drink a lot of water at night and I took some Advil and I'm feeling better now.

Now we're off to meet Julio at Google London and have another fun day here in the UK!

Adios for now. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com