Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 14, 2015 - 11:08 p.m.
"in flight" or "jfk to lhr"

5/14/15 11:08pm EDT

Hey Journal!

Greetings from 37000 feet over the Atlantic Ocean, 2054 miles from London and 1413 miles from New York!

So we're on the plane now and I have been trying to get a little sleep but so far I've been unsuccessful.

I got up this morning at about 7:15 when Dan was getting ready to leave for work. We ran through our last minute check to make sure everything was off and the house was ready to be left alone for 10 days!

My mom picked Dan up for work and then I did some last minute packing before Dan's dad came to pick me up for work at 9am! He was right on time, I loaded the car, and then I secured the house and off we went!

Work today went by quickly- possibly because I got in an hour late and left an hour early, but also because I had done all the prep to get myself ready to leave in advance and today I had nothing pressing to do.

I did have to make a flyer for the Member/Guest and also send an email of upcoming events, but that wasn't too big of a deal. I also spent about an hour trying to fix Dan's dad's email! His gmail could no longer access his Verizon mail!

It turns out they changed the server address for POP mail and it locked him out because of the repeated attempts to access the old server. Weird!

Anyway, for lunch I had the steak sandwich and then when 4:00 rolled around, it was time for my mom to come collect me!

She picked me up and I loaded the car and we were off. We picked up Dan from work and then made our way to the airport! We made pretty good time considering the time of day and only hit a little traffic. We arrived with plenty of time- at about 5:35.

We unloaded the car and said goodbye and then went to find the check in! We made our way through security and it was a little odd- we didn't have to go through any special scanners, only an old school metal detector. We didn't have to take our shoes or belts off or even take the laptop out of the bag! It was so weird. It reminded me of when we used to go to the airport when I was little to pick up my aunt!

We had some time before our flight and we were hungry. We went to Buffalo Wild Wings and used our 15% off BoA Deal. It was weird because there were several open tables but the hostess just kept telling people no tables were open. Before us, a woman said "do you have a table for 1" and she said "we don't have any tables for 1." That lady left and we came up- told her we were 2, and she said "we don't have any tables for 2." Same thing happened to the guy behind us with 4. Finally she relented and gave us a table! Lol. It was so weird.

We got on the plane and I have to say, so far, this has been the best flight I've been on- international or domestic. Everyone has been so friendly from the check in counter to the flight attendants.

Our seat on the plane is right near the bathroom, but really it's not bad at all! We were sat next to two girls who were friendly but reallllly wanted to move because they wanted no part of the toilet. Since they left, dan and I got the whole 4 seat row to ourselves!

Amazing!

The dinner was good- I had the beef meal which came with potatoes and vegetables...including lima beans!! Wahoo!

We got a nice little packet of goodies-- an eye covering, socks(?), a toothbrush, earphones, a blanket, and earplugs!

Anyway, I can't wait to arrive. I will pick back up where I left off tomorrow night- we're going to all thrown off with the time.

I'm going to try to get some sleep before we get there... Every little bit will help! They just turned the lights out so maybe that will make it easier!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight!


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com