Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 05, 2015 - 10:38 p.m.
"surprise cleanup" or "best male"

Hey Journal!

So, things were pretty much back to normal today after yesterday's craziness! When I left for work this morning I went out in the back and reset the timer on the pool filter. It was all off from the power being out yesterday.

Unfortunately, I have to fix it again tomorrow because the power went out again today twice while I was at work. Our alarm system has a battery backup that keeps it going when the electricity goes out and it also records the time that the power went out and when it came back on. So, when I got home from work today it said that the power was out for about 10 minutes at 10:00am and then again for 20 minutes a little after 4pm.

I was going to bring the frozen food home from work but I forgot it! I have to remember to do that tomorrow!

Work today wa pretty good... nothing crazy happened. Today was Steve's first day back since the end of June! It was wild having him back. I did have a couple of things I needed to do with him but other than that he was preoccupied with Bill for most of the day.

Dan's Dad didn't come in until around 2:00 because he had to bring his car to the mechanic to get some recalls taken care of, so the morning was pretty quiet.

For lunch today I had the French Dip with broccoli on the side and I ate it all by myself out on the patio. It was a nice day out and nobody else was out there so I figured I'd clear my head and get out of the office for a while.

I did a LOT of work on the website today. I had to get the early payment software set up and, each year, I forget how to do it because it's been a year since I did it last time. THis time, I identified what I had to update and change and then automated the process. I made some controls to turn the Early Payments on and off and a way to easily input the data instead of hard-coding it each year. I love it... It's going to make my life so much easier next year!

I left work at 5 and headed home, and let me tell you a weird story.....

At some point in the day, I got a text from one of our neighbors asking me for Dan's cell phone number. (I had given her my number when we went away to Europe in case of emergency!) So, I gave Dan's number and so when I spoke to him next I asked him what she had wanted. He said that she just texted him to say that our backyard cleanup looked good. (Last night we had done EVERYTHING that needed to be cleaned up with the exception of one big log that we didn't cut up. It was weirdly shaped and couldn't be rolled down to the curb so we figured we'd get to it after work today.)

So, Dan said "Thanks, we just have one log left to go." We were on the phone, and he got another text saying, "Not anymore..." and explaining that they had borrowed our chainsaw to use in their backyard and, as a thank you, cut up our remaining log!

In this case, it wasn't a big deal because we did actually want to get that log down to the curb but, with only one log sitting there and everything else cleaned up....how did they know that we weren't saving that to make a table or something? Not to mention it's a little ballsy to go into someone else's shed without asking first. I just feel like I would have texted first to see if it was okay to borrow the chainsaw!

When I got home Dan went to the gym and I watched the news for a while. My mom stopped by to give me a gift receipt that I have to give to Dan's mom and then she dropped off a big tub of my old school work. It's amazing... it has a bunch of stuff from high school....certificates, awards, and report cards and progress reports from elementary, middle, and high school! I love it! Some of my favorites were the "BEST MALE" award for the sit and reach and the erroneous progress reports when everyone's comments were all messed up!

Kristen wanted to go for a walk tonight so Dan suggested that we got at 7:45, right after he finished with the gym.

We met there and we took a 3+ mile walk around her area. When we first started to walk, this dog darted out from across the street and was coming right at us! Of course, I hid behind Dan and Kristen so I wouldn't be attacked. Kristen pet the dog and stuff but then it jumped up and basically punched her in the jaw! This is why I hate dogs. I wouldn't go near one.

On our walk we walked about how the only difference between LIPA and PSEG is the name. People who think that there was some big change are so stupid. It was such a sham. They should have just kept the LIPA name on everything.

Anyway, we headed home and got showered up. I showed Dan some of the highlights from the big box of school stuff and there's still a lot left to go through tomorrow!

Now it's time for bed.... Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com