Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 06, 2015 - 11:11 p.m.
"breakfast all day" or "wedding choices"

Hey Journal!

Another late night! I can't! I feel like this past week, more than usual, there just aren't enough hours in the day! We have so much we've had to get done after work and then, to make matters worse, we have more TV shows to watch than ever!

We are currently behind on The Flash and tomorrow night we'll have the Middle, too. And thankfully that's a light night. Adding to the crazy is The Chris Moyles Show that I'm desperately trying to record and listen to each day will still keeping up with the Scott Mills Daily podcast. I will eventually fall into a routine and make it work or...sadly...something is going to get missed!

I got up for work this morning and ready to go. Sadly, TCMSX didn't record on my computer so I had to listen on my phone on the drive in. Today was the first "Monday Night Pub Quiz" on the new show and I really wanted to catch it. It was a good one... just like old times! Question Number 1....

I got to work and the first thing I did was work on making the big football pool posters that we do each year for the Super Bowl. I know, it's a long way off but we have to start early before we close for the season and people are still around to buy boxes.

A little later in the afternoon I went to Home Depot and Staples to get some stuff I needed. I needed a big poster board for the pool and some goggles to wear while using the spray glue. I used to have little protective glasses but they disappeared a few weeks ago. Irritating.

When I got back, Steve was just about to leave but asked me if I could find this gas powered backpack sprayer for sale anywhere nearby. It was difficult to even find information about it but eventually I figure out what places carried this brand. I called about 15 stores and nobody had it in stock. In fact, most people didn't even know what I was talking about. I was about to give up on it but I thought I would try just ONE MORE store.

It was a hardware store over by MacArthur Airport and they said they didn't have it, either. Then, all of a sudden, the guy said they DID have one in stock! He gave me the details and I actually had to ask him what his store was called because I had forgotten which place on the list of dealers I had called!

I called Steve and told him I had located basically the only one of these things on the island! Since it was out my way, he asked me if I wanted to pick it up on the way home...so I went to get it. I quickly finished up what I had to do for the day and I left here around 3:30.

I got there and the guy said, in a surprised voice, "oh...you're the one who called about it?" I don't know why! He also assumed I was the one who was going to be using this item. Despite my telling him, several times, that I was just picking it up for work, he kept asking me questions about things I might need... like oil and stuff. Then, he gave me a demonstration on how to use it.... showing me what all the buttons and knobs did. I told him AGAIN that I wasn't going to be using it... but that really didn't seem to make a difference to him.

As I went to pay for it, I walked over to the register with the guy and there was one person standing at a register. I looked over and it was my Uncle Charlie!! SO RANDOM! I said "Hey, Uncle Charlie," (as you would!) He said Happy Birthday to me...although he didn't remember when my birthday was. I was so surprised to see him because it's not like this store is anywhere near where I live, where I work, or where he lives! I told him that I had come all the way out there...about 45 minutes from work... because they were the only place that had this particular sprayer we needed. He said he was there because they were the only place that had the part he needed for his pool!

Really, what are the chances that we would run into eachother on a random Tuesday afternoon at a place that I have never been to before that's in no way near my house. Plus, the timing was perfect because if I hadn't waited to finish up the stuff I needed to do at work before leaving, I would have been gone already.

Such a coincidence!

After that I headed home and I was happy to beat the traffic and get home at about 4:45. It was a good day to get home early because we had to go to finalize our menu and stuff for the wedding as soon as Dan got home so it gave me a little extra time to do what I needed to do.

The first thing I did was go out in the backyard and use the new pole I got to unhook one edge of the pool cover. I don't know if I mentioned but I ordered the pole that is used to install and remove the pool cover. We removed it with a screwdriver this spring but it's much better with this pole...and you REALLY need it to put the cover on. Anyway, I figured I'd order it now and have it for next year.

It came the other day. The night before we had the pool closed it was super windy and rainy and a TON of leaves fell into the pool. They closed it with all the leaves down there and Dan and I wanted to get as many of them up as we could to prevent them from rotting and ruining the water for next year.

So, as I said, I opened up one corner and we put the robot into the pool! I set it for the 2.5 hours cycle. I went inside and watched a few minutes of the news before Dan got home and we headed out.

We got there around 6:00 and the guy was a few minutes late so we sat in the lobby and waited. We went over all the menus and finalized everything for the big day! We had picked out all of our choices the night before but now, the menu has changed. He gave us some new options so we had to figure out what we wanted to do. We decided to swap out a few of the chafing dishes for the new "stations." I don't know exactly what impact this will have but it's also just for the cocktail hour and I'm sure people will be happy with whatever there is.

We also went over some of the other details and things we need to get done beforehand. We asked some of the questions we had and I think we're in pretty good shape now. When we had to fill out some papers they all had "Bride" areas so he was whiting them all out FRANTICALLY. It was actually comical... he was whiting out SO MUCH of the paper. The paper had like 20 lines with stuff printed on it and by the time he was done, he had whited out all but 5 lines. I told him he would have been better off with a blank sheet of paper!

It was so strange. I told Dan later that if he really wanted to do this to customize it to our occasion, he should have done all of his whiting out at about 2:00 in the afternoon. Instead he was like a crazed painter with that whiteout brush and then he was trying to write over it before it dried. It was a disaster!

Finally, once we had finished, Dan wanted to take a look at the rooms again. He showed us our choices for light and we picked the colors we wanted. I also asked him my questions about the TV screen / mirrors and he said to bring photos on a USB drive. I pressed him on the video and he said we could bring a DVD but there would be no sound. He tried to discourage the DVD but I kept pressing it. I am going to make a 2 minute sample with different aspect ratios, effects, and colors, and see what they look like. We're gonna try to bring it back next week to see how the sample came out so that I don't put all that effort into making a video for nothing.

After we left, it was about 7:45 and we were passing Kristen's new apartment. Dan hadn't seen it yet so we stopped by to pay a quick visit. As luck would have it, she was having trouble installing an air filter and I assisted with that! Dan took the grand tour and we were only there for about 10 minutes before we hit the road and headed to get something to eat.

So, this morning, Dan heard on Good Morning America that, starting today, McDonald's is offering breakfast ALL DAY LONG! It's crazy because they're been talking about doing this for years... there's always something on the news about them considering it but it never happens....

Then, all of a sudden, this morning it happens! WHAT? I would have expected at least a week's notice. Anyway, we like McDonald's breakfast and figured it was only right to partake on the first day.

We went to the McDonald's in St. James. When we walked in, we saw Liz's sister and I waved (awkwardly) to her. I'm not sure if she didn't see me or if she just didn't recognize me, but she didn't react and I didn't want to wave again...so I just let it go!

They have a limited breakfast menu available all day... it's not the full thing... but there are still some good choices. I got the hotcakes and sausage. At the register, Dan found a coupon sitting there for a free hotcakes with the purchase of a breakfast sandwich, so we wound up saving over $3! What luck!

When we got home we went out in the backyard and emptied the pool robot. The basket was filled to the brim with leaves and sticks. It was insane. I'm really glad we did this because it's going to make it better in the spring, for sure. We ran it again and it's currently doing it's thing.

I got inside, took a shower, and then Dan and I watched Quantico followed by tonight's SHIELD!

Both good episodes. I am really happy that Gemma is back and safe from that alien planet and I'm glad that they didn't drag that out all season BUT at the same time I kinda wish they had explored that planet a little more. Like WHAT/WHERE was it?! What went on there? I hope there's at least a little talk about it in the coming episodes.

Now, it's late! Every night I get to bed later and later... and with every second I stay up I know I'm going to more and more miserable when my alarm goes off tomorrow morning!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com