Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 20, 2015 - 11:23 p.m.
"elseif"

Hey Journal!

I had a really long drive to work this morning! It usually takes me about 30 or 35 minutes to get work but today it took me over an hour and a half. Everything was pretty normal until I got onto the Northern State. It was creeping along. It turns out that there was a bad accident and they had closed it between exits 41 and 40.

That's where I spent most of my drive, moving very very slowly. On the bright side, I got to listen to more of TCMSX and heard Rob DJ's pub quiz! Wahoo! Just as I got to my exit they took down the barriers and re-opened the road. Things moved much better, but it didn't really make much of a difference to me since I was getting off.

I thought I was in the clear and then as I turned on to our street, there was a big accident right near the entrance to the golf course. REALLY? They had shut down the whole road and were loading a busted up SUV onto a tow truck. I sat there for another 5 minutes or so until they let us go past and I was finally able to get to work.

Well, I finally got in a little after 10:00.

I spent the day doing random stuff.... and it went by pretty quickly. For lunch I had some of the employee meal of the day.... waffle fried, chicken pieces, and sausage. It was a real variety pack!

I also worked a little more on the reservations program for the restaurant. It seems like my work is never done! Just when I think I'm done... I come up with something else to tweak. I decided to add a nice little bar at the top that shows the day's weather! It came out pretty well, but I just had some alignment issues to finish up. I did that just now, and while I was doing it, I found a glitch I had inadvertently created the other day.

While I was adding the code to show the covers, I added an "elseif" to replace something that had formerly been an "else." I had used the wrong variable name and caused the event flags to disappear! I'm surprised nobody mentioned that to me yet.

Anyway, it's all fixed now and working fine.

At 2:00, I had a call with a guy from Facebook advertising to go over our account. I wound up being on the phone with him for an hour and he had to go because he had another call scheduled. It was enlightening and I think my conversation with him was really good. I got to ask some questions and I feel like I have a more complete understanding of their advertising platform. I think I was pretty good before, but he was able to clarify some of the more technical details of the system for me.

I left work a couple of minutes after 5 and headed home. Dan got home before me and packed for his golf trip tomorrow. He's leaving tomorrow and will be coming home on Sunday. Poor timing considering our wedding is coming up!!

I watched the news, and World News, and Dan went to the gym. I showered up and then for dinner we had pizza and watched Jeopardy!

Next, we watched The Flash and SHIELD! Now we're all caught up just in time to miss all of our Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday shows!

I just came up, did some work on that program, and Dan finished watching the baseball game.

Now it's ridiculously late and I have to get up earlier than usual to bring Dan to work! Yikes!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com