Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 26, 2015 - 1:32 a.m.
"thanksgiving countdown"

Hey Journal!

Happy Thanksgiving-Eve! Tomorrow is the big day and we have all the pressure of having to cook the turkey and prepare the big feast! At least it's only for 5 people!

Today was a good day at work...it was relatively quiet in the office and I had absolutely no traffic on my way in. Re was off from school today so she came in to help with all of her usual tasks! It was great! She closed every day in the golf shop and the restaurant and for the first time in a few months we're completely caught up! She also did the filing, some guest logs, and a paid a lot of bills! What a great feeling. Sadly, it won't last too long.... by the end of next week I'm sure we'll be far behind again!

I also feel like I'm more productive at my own work when Re is in. I have this motivation to get things done. Maybe because I know that she's handling so much of the stuff that's been looming over my head it gives me a desire to get my own stuff done. One of the most important things I did today was reconcile our credit card account. For some reason I hadn't done it SINCE MARCH! Wow! I have no idea how that slipped through the cracks!

For lunch Re and I had our food at the bar. There was nobody else in the grill room so that was nice. One of my favorite things about the winter time at work. I had a plain hamburger and Re had the Tuscan with the Tuscan! The cleaning lady came over to us while we were eating and asked us if we were best friends. We told her we had been friends since 11th grade and she told us that was beautiful and that we would grow old together. lol

Re left around 3:30 and I finished up what I needed to do and left at about 4:15. I had to drop off a FedEx and a UPS for Steve. First, I had to go to the FedEx office store in Hauppauge because we had no more FedEx envelopes at work! How inconvenient. After sending that one off I went to the UPS drop box over by Plymouth.

I was almost on empty so I got gas and then I got home around 5:15. When I got my gas, I entered my rewards number at the pump and the price stayed the same (they ended their 10 cent discount a while ago!) I paid with a $10 gift card that my mom had gotten me for Thanksgiving and, much to my surprise, the price dropped by 3 cents per gallon! I don't really know why it did that... but I was very happy! I feel like Speedway has a lot of good perks but they don't do a good job of communicating them to the public. It's like it's always a surprise! Maybe if people know what was going on they'd be more likely to get gas there!

When Dan got home we watched World News and then we had leftover pizza for dinner. Dan decided to go to the gym later on and so we went out to Bed, Bath, & Beyond to get a turkey baster and some Scrub Daddys! We had gotten one at Home Depot a while ago but it was starting to fall apart. It lasted a good amount of time, though, and it was time for a new one. They had a better deal at BBB because they sold a three-pack and with the 20% coupon it was better.

They only had one type of turkey baster. I was looking for a plastic one but this one was metal and a little strange. We had no choice, though!

While we were there we saw a nice Thanksgiving turkey tablecloth that was originally 9.99 but was on the clearance rack for 7.49. We figured it would be good for our other table in the dining room so we bought it. When we got to the register the lady scanned the table cloth and then the coupon and saw that we had only saved .60 off with our 20$% coupon.

The total was only $2.10! The girl at the register was really confused and kept checking to make sure the register hadn't rung up the wrong item. It was great! She was like "wait.... this can't be right.... wait.... wow..." What a great dea!

Next, we went to the Home Depot and then to Ruby Tuesday to get a gift card. I had a BoA deal for 10% off any purchase up to $100 and on to top of that we got two $15 bonus cards! Niceeeee! So we really spent $90 to get $130 worth of food! Wahoo! We love getting gift cards for ourselves around Christmas time... or anytime really! It's the best way to save money!

Our next stop was Michaels to return one of the lanterns from our wedding. We had two that weren't used at all and we figured we'd keep one and get the money back on the other.

After that, we went over to Target, took a walk around, and then headed home.

We cleaned up a little for Thanksgiving tomorrow and we prepared the food as best we could to be cooked tomorrow!

As I may have already mentioned, we are following Sandra Lee's recipe that we used in the past and the turkey came out GREAT! I'm hoping for similar results. We're planning to get up around 9:30 and then get right to work! Hopefully we'll have some time to watch the parade!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com