Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 24, 2015 - 10:19 p.m.
"voip success"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up and headed to work. It was a pretty quiet morning so I started by getting a few important things done and then I spent a little more time working on the VOIP issue I was dealing with yesterday.

I never got an e-mail back from their technical support... I think the guy is irritated by me or something. It's a shame because I was so nice to him and thankful for his help. Oh well!

I posted my questions on a message board that I have found quite helpful whenever I have a technical question. I stumbled upon this message board back when I first started working at the golf course and I've used it a handful of times since. It's really amazing how many people are eager to help you with any issue you have.

I did get two responses today but, unfortunately, neither of them were the correct solution this time.

Like i said, I didn't spent TOO much time on this today... I had wasted a lot of time yesterday and I did have some actual work that was building up.

For lunch I couldn't decide what to get so I waited until the employee meal was ready. It was chicken franchese and so I had that! I had about four pieces of chicken. They were pretty good!

Before it was time to go home, we had an office popcorn party! Always hits the spot. We've been getting the Kirkland popcorn lately and while I usually really like anything Kirkland... I am not a big fan of their popcorn. It's not buttery or salty enough for me.

I left work at 5 and headed home. I brought one of the VOIP units home with me because I wanted to see if I could troubleshoot the problem at all. I connected the system to my router and I kept a close eye on my router's log files. Here's what I saw....

When the first connection was attempted, the unit would send a request to the IP addresses I had listed in the settings which was the public IP. The necessary ports were forwarded on that router and the connection was made. Great. (That's what was happening at work.)

Then, when it was time to send more information, it was being sent to the internal IP address of the remote unit! This really blew my mind because I couldn't figure out HOW the other unit would ever know that private local IP address.

As it turns out, after the original connection is made the units tell eachother which IP address to use for the subsequent connections and they tell eachother their LOCAL addresses (which makes no sense.) All I had to do was check one box in the settings and VOILA! It works!

That makes it sound easier than it actually is. The settings for these devices are insane. There are like 100 menus and then 50 submenus for each item with tons of options and there's really no indication of what anything actually does or which settings are for which functions....

But, in the end, it's all working perfectly and I'm super happy about it. I feel very accomplished!

Dan went to the gym as soon as he got home and I watched some news and then took a shower.

When Dan got back he brought Domino's for dinner! He showered up and then we watched Sandra Lee's turkey recipe on YouTube! It's the same recipe we used last time we made a turkey for Thanksgiving... many years ago!

It turned out great back then so we're gonna give it another go! Meanwhile, we were both upset because they cut out favorite part out of the video! The video was trimmed to be shorter on YouTube and there was this amazing part that's now missing. At one point she turned to the window behind her and a turkey was walking by. She said something about it looking really tasty and it was quite awkward but amazing!

After refreshing our memories we watched World News and then Jeopardy! The woman with the weird way of saying number "one thousannnnnnnnnnd" lost today so, sadly, we won't get to experience any more of her! My Vine of her from yesterday has over 1,500 loops now, though so that's an accomplishment!

Since none of our other shows were on tonight we watched the Charlie Brown Thanksgiving special! I'm sure I've seen it before but I didn't really remember it. The first one was alright but they had a second one after it which I liked much better. The second one told the story of the pilgrims' trip to America, their struggles, and the story of the first Thanksgiving! It was actually interesting.

Alas, now it's time for bed! I'm exhausted for some reason!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com