Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 12, 2015 - 1:03 a.m.
"headed to hershey"

Hey Journal!

Happy FRIDAY from Hershey, PA! We've just started our fun and exciting weekend at Christmas in Hershey with Connor and Cameron! After a long car ride we're finally here!

Today was pretty much a normal day at work but I was antsy to get going. I was excited and really looking forward to a weekend away. Steve came in today for a hot minute and never even came down to the office so I never saw him.

Nothing too crazy happened today but I did have a lot of little things to get in order before leaving. I always feel like I get itchy to get things done before going away even if it's just for a weekend. It's like if I have any unfinished business on my desk I want to get it all done so it's not waiting for me when I get back. Meanwhile, if I wasn't going away -- it would sit here for weeks. I guess that's a great argument for more vacation time!

For lunch today I had the employee meal which was sliced steak. It was REALLY good. It looked a little weird - I don't know why, I just wasn't sure I was going to like it... but it was perfectly cooked and tasted amazing!

In the afternoon we re-did the bandage on Dan's mom's finger. She hadn't taken it off since she got the cut two days ago. We were all in suspense to see if it had started stitching back together or not. Luckily, after the big unveiling, it looks like it's healing nicely. We cleaned it off and put another bandage on it.

By 4:30 it was pretty dead so I decided to head out a little early and get home to get ready to leave!

When I got home I finished packing and got everything together by the front door. Dan got home from work and we loaded up the car and hit the road! We arrived at Linda's house at 7:00 on the dot and Connor and Cameron were super-excited, packed, and ready to go!

We left around 7:30 and we made excellent time. We didn't hit one bit of traffic which was great!

Around 10:00 we were getting hungry so we stopped at the Cracker Barrel near Allentown, PA! It's the same one that we had gone to with Kristen and Don when we went to visit them many years ago and the one we went to with Linda when we were in PA for a corn maze two years ago. I wonder if that's my most frequently visited Cracker Barrel. It's hard to remember since they all look exactly the same.

I got the chicken and dumplings and it was excellent. They had a fire in the fireplace but had just put it out. You could smell the smoke, and I didn't realize it until it was time to leave but the entire room filled up with smoke it was soooo thick!

They had a little mailbox and postcards to write to Santa. Cameron filled one out, but before she did she said, "I'm gonna write NOTHING on it and put it in the mailbox. That'll be funny!"

And on the way out, Connor forgot his iPad in the bathroom! He left it on the changing table while he was washing his hands and then left without it. I only noticed it because Cameron was also using the bathroom and I was waiting for her and saw it!

After that, we were back on the road and Cameron was very excited to read off the mile markers for the next 4 miles or so! Every tenth of a mile, she would read off the number.... 39.9, 39.8, 39.7, 39.6.... It was great... Dan recorded some of it. She went on for MILES reading every single sign. Eventually she stopped... maybe she got tired... but it's probably for the best!

There was some good car conversation and I tried to remember most of it.... one of my favorite moments was when were asking if Linda and Dan have any favorite Hershey's candies... They said that Linda loves Take 5.....
Connor: We can by Take 5 for mommy!
Cameron: Enough to bury her in bed!
Connor: Then she'd have to eat them all to get out
Cameron: And she'd get fat!
Connor: but she doesn't want to be fat so she'd have to exercise

We made it to the hotel around 12:30 and I went in to check us in while Dan, Connor, and Cameron stayed in the car. The lady at the front desk was really nice and friendly. She had me checked in in no time. She gave me the keys and I headed back to the car.

There are two sections at the hotel -- one is a more typical hotel building and the other is this apartment-style area. We're in the regular building which works out well because that's where the pool is. We're planning to go in the pool before we head home on Sunday!

When we got to the building we unloaded all of our luggage and then made our way to the front doors which the lady had instructed me to go to. She even circled them on the map. You had to use the card to activate the door and of course, it didn't work! We tried for a while and nothing happened. Eventually, we went around to a side door and it opened with no problem!

So now we've arrived at the room, set up the pull-out bed, and we're EXHAUSTED! It's been a long day with work and everything and I'm exiiiiiiiited for Chocolate World and Hersheypark tomorrow! Wahoo!

Connor and Cameron are brushing their teeth now and then we're gonna get to sleep! The alarm is set for 8:30!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com