Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 09, 2016 - 11:58 p.m.
"carnival magic: day 3 - cozumel, mardi gras, fat tuesday"

February 09, 2016 11:58 p.m. CST
February 10, 2016 12:58 a.m. EST

Hey Journal!

Last night we set our alarm for 8:45 this morning so that we could have breakfast in the restaurant before heading out to Cozumel!

The ship docked shortly before 9 and I could hear the announcements coming from the hallway. We didn't have any excursions planned and we figured we would just walk around and see what there was to see and do.

Breakfast was in the Southern Lights Dining Room at the back of the ship. I got eggs, pancakes, and sausage. The eggs and sausage were good but the pancakes were not. They were hard and the syrup tasted funky. I feel like cruise pancakes are never good.

After breakfast we came back to the room and put some sunscreen on and then we headed for the gangway on Deck 0 to get off the ship.

It was pretty warm today in Cozumel but there was a breeze coming off the water so it didn't really feel that hot. That's always bad because it makes you feel like you're comfortable while you're out getting burnt. Luckily had plenty of sunscreen on my face. Unfortunately, I can't say the same about my arms.

We walked around the shopping area and checked out some of the stores and then we left the port area to walk down the street. On the streets there were TONS of people trying to sell stuff. It was just like the old River of Time boat ride in Mexico in Epcot! It made me miss that part of the ride!

There were also some interesting items for sale. For example, I was asked "You want to try Mexican pussy?" And later, "I've got what you want! You want roofies!" Wow!

We made our way back to the port area pretty quickly.

We walked around a little more and then made our way to Fat Tuesday! Yes, the same frozen drinks as in Las Vegas! We each got the "yard" sized cup. I got the Hurricane flavor and Dan got the 190 Octane. We sat outside on the patio overlooking the cruise ship! It was a pretty nice place to sit and drink!

My face and neck were completely fine since I had sun screened up but my arms weren't protected. I tried to keep them in the shade and I think I did for the most part, but they were a little red when we came back on the ship!

After our first drink, we got refills and then walked around some more. We were pretty drunk by this point and we sat on these big wooden rope swing things, took pictures with a big "Zonkey" and sat on these chairs that overlooked the cruise ships that were docked at the port.

The other ship that pulled in just after ours was the Carnival Paradise. It just looked OLD! Everything about it was crazy. It was so much smaller than our ship, it had literally about 24 balcony cabins on each side of the ship. Meanwhile, our ship is ALL balconies across the whole outside! It just looked dated.

Dan and I were talking about how many people who booked that cruise probably didn't look to see what year it was made and didn't realize how small it was. I would definitely be disappointed if that was the case.

Anyway, we got back on the ship with plenty of time to spare. We were getting hungry for lunch and we went to the Lido restaurant. The only thing open was the Mongolian Wok. Dan got his first and then I decided that I wanted some, too. It's basically like Fire and Ice. I filled a bowl with noodles, corn, peas, and steak!

It was really good. I loved it.

I couldn't stay sitting up in my seat though. I was so drunk and I was tired and a mess, really!

When we finished eating, we came back to the room and I just passed out on the bed. Dan went up to sit on the deck and get some more sun and I crashed!

I was asleep for about an hour and then I woke up and found the energy to go up on deck and find Dan.

He was up on Deck 12 and I spotted him as soon as I got up there. We walked around a little and found a good spot to watch the ship leave.

We were supposed to set sail at 5:00 but we left a little after that. At about 4:45, we decided to go in the hot tub and watch the sail off from there!

We went back to the room to put our bathing suits on and then headed to Deck 5 to go to the hot tubs on the Lanai.

The ship left around 5:30 or so and we watched the sunset from there, too. It was a little cool out in the shade but that made the hot tub feel great. I would have stayed in much longer but I needed water. I need to remember to bring water to the hot tub next time. This always happens!

We got out, got our water, and I was still feeling the effects of our drinking!

We didn't have anything to do before dinner so we came back to the room. On the way, we walked down our hallway and I wrote messages on all the whiteboards that people had up!

After that we pretty much just stayed in the room for a while. I took a little more of a nap and Dan watched a movie on TV.

I showered up and then at about 8:00 we left for dinner!

Our dinner companions were present again tonight and we talked about our days and all sorts of random stuff. They're from Oklahoma so they talked about their jobs a little more, the weather there, and other random small talk!

For dinner tonight I got meatballs as an appetizer, a pork chop, and veal parmesean. The veal was really tough so I'm glad I got the prom chop, too. Other than that, the food was really good tonight

For dessert, I had vanilla ice cream.

We finished up a little before 10:00 and we headed over to the Ocean Bar. We played some shuffleboard (?) and then the Mardi Gras parade came through.

It was a really wild Mardi Gras party tonight. They were giving out tons of weird hats, beads, glow sticks, and all sorts of weird trinkets! It was totally nuts. They were launching them into the crowd on deck 10 from deck 11! Everyone was going crazy... It was one of the most wild events I've ever seen on a cruise ship! Everyone was having a blast.

Dan and I observed this for a while and then we came inside, did a few rounds, and now we're back in our room getting ready for bed!

It was a really fun day and I'm glad we didn't go on an excursion. Having drinks at Fat Tuesday was great!

Tomorrow we are in Belize! We also don't have any excursion planned there and since they say there's REALLY nothing to do if you don't have an excursion, we figure we'll stay on the ship and just relax!

It should be pretty quiet on here.

Alright, I'm exhausted again! Time to get some sleep.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com