Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 09, 2016 - 11:55 p.m.
"a full day of fun with connor and cameron"

Hey Journal!

Well, today we had a fun-filled and pretty busy day! I woke up this morning at about 8:00 when Connor came upstairs to tell me that he was hungry. We went downstairs to look for something for him to eat and while we were browsing the pantry, he dropped his Nintendo DS on his foot! It fell directly onto his big toe he was very very upset!

He was crying for a while and I got him ice for it. I was slightly afraid that he had actually broken it but by the time I went upstairs and got Dan to come down, he was doing much better. His appetite also subsided and he was able to hold off until breakfast.

Cameron woke up shortly after that and we watched TV for a little bit and then we got ready to go out to IHOP. We had to wait about 5 mins for a table and we were sat in the room in the back all the way in the corner.

At some point during breakfast, Cameron took this little metal thing out of her jacket. It's something completely random -- like a snap from a jacket or something -- I don't even know how to describe it. She told us it was special because her boyfriend, Joseph, gave it to her! Just as she finished saying that, she dropped it and it fell on the seat, bounced, and went down a crack in the seat.

Dan lifted the bench up and we thought it would be right underneath, but it wasn't! I came over to look and saw a LONG crevice next to the wall and it was separated from the rest of the bench. That's where it went. I couldn't see any sign of the item but I did see a knife. I took my phone and used the camera to look down. I zoomed in and found it, but it was wayyyy down there and I wasn't sure we could get it out.

I didn't give up, though, and I took two knives and wrapped them inside of a placemat. I took a piece of tape and taped it together and then used the phone and the contraption to try to move it out. I got it close to the end of the crevice but I couldn't get it out because there was a piece of carpet curled over the opening. What a mess. Once I had it at the point, I just reached in and moved the carpet and pulled it out! It was so much work for something so ridiculous! I got it, and it was GROSS. I immediately ran to the bathroom to wash my hands!

When I got back, I told Cameron that she had better still have that little thing when she turns 20 after all the work I went though to get it back!

When we left IHOP, we went to Hoyt Farm. The weather forecast today was calling for show and/or rain but it hadn't started yet so we figured we had time to see the goats and other animals!

We checked out the chickens, bunnies, and then went over to the goats. This time we brought potatoes that we had leftover from some time when we made something potato-related. Not sure when. We read online that potatoes are good for goats, so we gave them to them. They loved them! Mmmmm! They're probably happy -- they probably get fed carrots ALL the time and this was a treat!

After that we brought our movie back to Redbox and headed towards home. On the way back we got the idea to look for a movie for this evening at the library! We stopped at the Kings Park Branch and went in. As Connor pointed out, they had no recent movies in the kids' section!

Connor DID like the 3-D printer they had on display! We watched as it was just starting to print a "Pegasus"! It was pretty cool. The librarian showed Connor some of the other cool things it had printed recently like a chick, a dinosaur head, a bookmark, and a dissectible model of a frog!

We wound up staying at the library for a while because they had this little craft table and we played with the stickers for a bit and then they played some games on the computers. Cameron played this Hello Kitty game where you painted a picture and then one where you put stickers on a picture. There were hundreds of stickers to choose from and Cameron used EVERY SINGLE ONE! It was so crazy looking at the end!

Before we left we went back over to the 3D printer to see the progress and the Pegasus had JUST finished! The librarian was taking it out and showed us the finished project!

Next, we headed home and watched Follow That Bird! I love that movie and I thought they might enjoy it as well! I think they did.... It's such a classic!

Around 7:00, we went out to get some dinner. They really wanted to go to McDonald's so that's what we did. We decided to go to the one in Stony Brook because we thought they would like the Mac Tonight thing! Of course, that didn't work out because the whole back room was closed. :(

They also recently re-did the main dining area. It looks completely different. It's not the same cool place it was when I was little. Frankly, I don't understand why kids even like McDonald's anymore...they've completely taken all the fun out of it.

We sat at these new high tables along the window where were placed in the exact location that the slide used to be. I sat directly under where the the stairs of the slide were.

Dan and I didn't get anything to eat there because I don't like McDonald's food and Dan decided to wait, too. We planned to go to get dessert at Wendy's and figured we'd get food there.

Before that, however, we went to the mall to walk around. That's basically all we did -- we really didn't go into any stores except the Disney Store and then we headed back to the car.

Next stop...Wendy's! I got some spicy nuggets, a potato, and a chicken sandwich. With the potato, I demonstrated for Cameron how the goat ate the potato earlier today!

We all got Frostys for dessert!

While we were at the library it had started raining and it basically rained all day long. It never did snow which was a good thing!

On the way back home we stopped to get The Peanuts Movie because Connor really wanted to see it. We tried to go to the Redbox at ShopRite but when I got inside it was GONE. Well, there was a RED BOX there, but it was some knockoff machine! What a scam! Instead, we went to the one by the 7-11 in Hauppauge!

I got a free rental code on Dan's phone and we had to reserve the movie for pickup.

When we got home, Cameron and Connor each took a shower and got their pajamas on.

Once everyone was in the PJs and settled for the night, we played the game Headache. It's an old game that I've had since I was little and it's kinda like Trouble. I never really liked it much -- it was always annoying. I have a vague memory that my mom thought it was annoying, too. It wasn't bad though, tonight. It was a good game to play with Connor and Cameron, too! They really seemed to enjoy it and Connor won the first game and Cameron won the second!

After the game, it was time for the movie.

The Peanuts Movie was not so great. It was actually worse than The Good Dinosaur and, as you know, I wasn't really a fan of that one! There were some funny parts but it dragged and the story was so boring! I love Snoopy and all of the Peanuts characters but the movie was a little lacking. I thought it was well made, and the voices were good, and there were some good references to the old movies, but the story was definitely the problem.

After the movie was over it was time for bed! Connor and Cameron got their tent prepared and they headed right to sleep!

Dan and I are just about ready to got to sleep as well. In the morning we're going to go to the diner for breakfast!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"the long wait for walking dead begins" - April 14, 2016
"dan's car is officially not his anymore" - April 13, 2016
"the perils of selling a car" - April 12, 2016
"two fillings, one tooth" or "the beast shredder" - April 11, 2016
"weekend wind-down" - April 10, 2016

http://diaryland.com