Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 13, 2016 - 10:56 p.m.
"dan's car is officially not his anymore"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up and headed over to the DMV in Hauppauge! I had all the paperwork ready to transfer Dan's car over to the golf course and I figured it made the most sense just to stop there and get it over with in the morning.

When I arrived, I found a parking spot and headed inside. I put my phone and keys into the big and proceeded through the metal detectors. For some reason, I set the alarm off and the guy asked me to come over. He asked me to pull my pants up to my ankles and then said I was good to go. Weird!

I mean, if I set off the metal detector, what would pulling my pants up to my ankles prove? I mean, couldn't I have something randomly hidden away somewhere else? I don't see how that was a thorough inspection. I bet the guy goes home at night and comes up with weird things to tell people to do.... "If the alarm goes off tomorrow, I'm going to ask them to pull their sleeves up to their elbows!" or "I'll tell them to stand on one foot and then touch their toes."

I dunno... Anyway, I headed over to the DMV and as I walked through the doors I realized I had all the paperwork with me but I had forgotten Dan's licence plates in the trunk of my car! Ugh. I wanted to return them at the same time.

Now, at this point, I should have checked in, gotten a number, and then gone back out to the car. I was worried that I would miss being called, but that really wouldn't have mattered so I should have just done it. But I didn't. I left, went to the car, got the plates, and came back in.

Surprise! I set the metal detector off again. This time he decided to wand me, which he had not done the first time. I told you, it didn't make sense. The older woman who went through before me set it off and he was like "go ahead, you're fine."

Anyway, I checked in and got number C221. I sat down and watched to see my number come up. I looked around at the counters and the last C to be called was C216. They kept calling number after number but NO Cs! They called, F, G, A, W.... but NO Cs! Given how many numbers they called I was really surprised that no more Cs came up and since I had a few to go -- I was starting to think I would be there all day.

When I first arrived, I had to go to the counter to get my number because "Title Transfer" wasn't an option on the kiosk. It referred me to the reception. As was waiting for that, there was a boy getting his photo taken...presumably for his permit. It reminded me of how exciting it was when I was there, in that very spot, getting my permit for the first time.

Anyway, I waited about 10 minutes and then all the Cs started popping up! They came up one after the other and before I knew it, I was next!

When I was called, I headed over to the window. The woman who helped me was REALLY nice. She was super-friendly and helpful and it was nice and easy. She transferred the title and said that the lien was already removed. I have no idea how that happened....

She took all my paperwork, returned Dan's plates, and I was on my way in no time. She said the new title will be sent to the golf course in a few weeks. Speaking of that, I don't think we ever got the title for my car. That's weird.

When I left, I headed off to work. It was yet another quiet day in the office. I think it's weird that I keep saying that... but it's true.

I spent some more time cleaning up the office -- I'm trying to do a little each day.

At 3:00 I had lunch and got the prime rib sandwich. Today was a good day for it -- it was very good.

Towards the end of the day, Dan's mom helped me with some bills. She paid a ton of credit card bills and I printed all the check bill payments. It was nuts.. in like 45 minute she cranked out so many calls and payments! We really got a lot accomplished. After she made the calls, I entered them into the computer and it worked out perfectly!

I left work at 5 and when Dan arrived home he went right out for his walk. I showered up and then spent some time cleaning up the office.

When Dan got back we watched one more Walking Dead and now we have only ONE MORE LEFT until we have to wait forever for them to come on Netflix!

Dan went to Miller's Ale House to watch tonight's hockey game with my mom. I know....

Now that the filing cabinet is opened up I went through a bunch of stuff and found a lot of things to bring to work tomorrow to shred. I also organized the stuff we're keeping and tried to make room for more. I took some of the old binders that I want to keep and put them in in a box in the basement.

Dan got home around 10:00 and we watched tonight's episode of The Middle and now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"david's cookies" - April 28, 2016
"the weekend-long project continues" - April 17, 2016
"the return of bathroom painting" or "accents at robby's" - April 17, 2016
"another distinctive evening" - April 16, 2016
"the long wait for walking dead begins" - April 14, 2016

http://diaryland.com