Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 17, 2016 - 11:05 p.m.
"the wedding ring vacuum"

Hey Journal!

Well, the highlight of today was when I saved someone's wedding ring from being washed away forever! Early this morning, shortly after I arrived at work, Jackie told me that one of the waiters had dropped his wedding ring down a sink in the kitchen over the weekend and they had tried to retrieve it but had no luck.

We found where the bowl was located in the basement and she said that the guy who lost the ring was requesting that we get a quote from a plumber to take apart the apparatus and he would pay for it to be retrieved!

That's okay, and we would have done that, but I figured I wanted to give it a try before we called in the expensive options! There's NO WAY they would have charged less than $500!

Anyway, I thought about it for a while and came up with a plan. I got a shop vac and looked at the hose for a while. The hose was too wide to fit down the pipe at the bottom of the bowl but I had an idea. I went down to maintenance and asked Steve the mechanic for any kind of flexible pipe/tube. He had a box of things he was getting rid of and I picked out one that was pretty good.

I came back to the office and used Gorilla Tape to attached the hose to the end of the regular hose. I got up on a latter, fed the tube into the bowl and down as far as I could get it. Then, we turned on the vacuum and waited. I didn't hear anything. I let it run for about a minute and then, when we turned it off, I took the pipe out.

I was about to look inside the bin when I heard something metallic hit the floor! We looked around and I found it against the wall! IT WAS THE RING! Maybe the vacuum didn't have enough suction to get the ring all the way into the basin but it was actually better this way!

Jackie called the guy to tell him the good news but he didn't answer. What's funny is that he's worked at the golf course 6+ months and I don't think I've ever met him once. Jackie said he always works on weekends so perhaps our paths have never crossed. That is, until I saved his wedding ring!

Anyway, I had a busy morning aside from that. I had a bunch of small projects to work on and I had to prepare a bunch of e-mails to be sent out this week.

I felt like the day went by slowly for some reason. I also had to do the payroll this morning and then for lunch I had the tuscan panini. I ordered it around 2:00 but Kathleen forgot to put it in, so then I came up around 2:30 and she thought I had done it (but I never do that) so she didn't do it again and then I FINALLY got it around 3:00 when my stomach was crying out for nourishment.

I also went on bird patrol and it's been four days since my last one. I can definitely see that they are rebuilding less and less. One of the usual spots was completely empty but the rest had some stuff going on. I cleared them out and I'm hoping they will FINALLY move on!

I left work at 5:00 today and when I got home I watched some of the news and put laundry in the washing machine. I washed our comforter first since I figured it would need longer to dry and then I did the sheets.

They just got finished a little while ago and I'm really excited to go to sleep! They smell so good and fresh and clean. Mmmmmm.

I showered up and then watched World News. For dinner I heated myself up a Hungry Man TV dinner and ate while watching Quantico. Well, I started to, but I couldn't concentrate enough on the show while I was eating so I had to stop it and wait until I finished.

It was the SEASON FINALE of Quantico and it was pretty good. I thought they wrapped things up nicely and it was a pretty intense episode. Will it be back next season? My guess is probably, but in some ways I hope it won't. I feel like it was a good season but where can they really go with it now?

After that I COULDN'T help myself. I started to watch the SHIELD finale! I know I shouldn't have since Dan will want to watch it when he gets home but I couldn't resist. When I went to fast forward through a commercial break I was surprised to see that it was a TWO HOUR finale! I didn't have time to watch the whole thing anyway so I just watched the first hour.

I told Dan and he said he's gonna try to watch that first hour in the airport if the can!

It's so weird... I knew it was the finale tonight but they never said it was a TWO HOUR finale. You'd think that's the kind of thing they would have made a big deal about!

Anyway, one last note before bed... I 've been seeing commercials lately for this new summer show on ABC -- this game night thing. Well, up until tonight it's just been the name with no description or idea of what to expect. Tonight I saw a commercial that gave a little more away. They are bringing back Family Feud, Pyramid, and...wait for it.... MATCH GAME!

Now, we all know I am OBSESSED WITH MATCH GAME.... but I'm really kinda weird about it coming back. It can NEVER be as amazing as it was with Gene Rayburn, and there will be no Brett or Charles or Richard...so it's sure to be flop. The only hope is that they bring Betty White on as a panelist! It's just that the original is so amazing and they'll try to bring it into the 2000s when it should be left firmly in the 70s!

They said who the hosts were going to be and I remember being underwhelmed by that, too!

Well, we shall see! Time for bed now.... Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"lunch with dan" - May 22, 2016
"cw app = crap" - May 21, 2016
"busy friday" - May 20, 2016
"fax machine frenzy" or "savage in silk" - May 19, 2016
"the great job search idea" - May 18, 2016

http://diaryland.com