Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 16, 2016 - 11:00 p.m.
"bird + windshield = splat"

Hey Journal!

Well, it was back to work today but it was a pretty quiet day in the office so I wasn't too upset about it. I got up at the usual time and had a hard time getting myself out of bed.

When I got to work, the outing was already out. It was a super-early day and the whole event was over by about 2:00!

Around 9:30, the alarm guy came to do his annual inspection and to certify to the town that we have the appropriate fire detection equipment. He did a REALLY thorough inspection. I feel like in years past, they've come in... looked over everything.. and were done in an hour or two. Today the guy was there for almost 7 hours! He told us when he was going to set off the alarms but each time it made me jump anyway!

Steve was out today, he took a trip up to Massachusetts with Bill. We sent out a big e-mail blast about our new pro-rated special and we got a lot of calls and e-mail about it.

We also had some work done on our flag pole today. THey were supposed to be installing a new "truck" at the top of the pole because we've had problems raising and lowering the flag. I also told them that the flag always gets stuck on the bolts sticking out of the sides but they didn't seem like they were going to do anything about it. When it came time to test it out, sure enough, it got stuck.

Dan's dad and I were out there along with Steve the mechanic. We all agreed that if they just put something on the bolts to angle them a little the flag would slip right over them... but they didn't really pay any attention. The two guys doing the work were kinda strange. One was this wild man with long scraggly hair who asked me if I smoked cigarettes and the other was an old man. The old man was grumpy about the bolts because, as the scraggly man told us, he was the one who had put them in.

I had a lot of random work to do today and but I got as much done as possible and then I hit the road around 4:00.

On my way home I had a weird encounter. I was driving down the road and all of a sudden I saw what looked like a brown baseball heading for my car. It all happened so fast and when it hit my windshield it made a really loud thud! When I looked over, there was white bird shit smeared all over the window. It was gross. I turned around just out of curiosity and, there it was, one the ground was a bird and it looked like the whole thing had exploded!

I don't think I have ever hit a bird while driving before!

Next I went to the Post Office because I needed to get some stamps. I was really irritated because I asked for Flag stamps and they said they only come in packs of 20. This is the second time this has happened to me and I'm really irritated. You used to be able to buy stamps in whatever quantity you wanted! When we brought our wedding stamps they just ripped the sheet and gave us what we had asked for!

When I got home I cleaned the driveway with the hose because the raccoons had gotten into our garbage again last night. They made such a mess and Dan cleaned it up this morning but there were still some remnants. I washed everything away and then when Dan got home we cleaned out the garbage pail.

Dan went to the gym and I watched the news and wrote out more thank you notes! We are almost there... just a few more to go!

I also did some laundry and then got in the shower.

When Dan got home we watched the final two episodes of House of Cards! As we were watching the last one I was thinking there was NO WAY they could wrap everything up in just 15 minutes. It was craziness. I mean, they didn't.... it's a big cliffhanger! I really do like this show... it's so well done. I think tonight I saw my favorite line of the show.... when he turns to the camera and says, "of course they did..." after his opponent says that he had gone to see Reagan with his Boy Scout troop!

Anyway, for dinner tonight I heated up some frozen veggies and then I had two poached eggs and a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. It was one of those days where I felt like I kept eating and I was still hungry!

Next up we watched the Scandal finale! I KNEW that Jake being on Mellie's ticket was the plan all along. Also, was Jake REALLY trying to "get out?" Was that just part of the plan. I thought it was just part of the plan but then at the end when he kept asking her to run away with him I wasn't so sure.

Now it's getting late and another day is coming to a close! It's off to bed...

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"cw app = crap" - May 21, 2016
"busy friday" - May 20, 2016
"fax machine frenzy" or "savage in silk" - May 19, 2016
"the great job search idea" - May 18, 2016
"the wedding ring vacuum" - May 17, 2016

http://diaryland.com