Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 15, 2016 - 11:21 p.m.
"finally checked out frizzles"

Hey Journal!

Do you know that I saw something today that reminded me that it was SEVEN YEARS AGO TODAY that we spent our first night sleeping in our new place. That was back when we bought the co-op! How crazy is that. I can't believe it was seven years. In some ways it feels like it was just yesterday and in other ways it feels like it was ages ago!

We got up this morning at 9:00 to prepare for having Dan's parents over for breakfast! They were coming at 9:30 and although we had gotten things prepared last night we had some last-minute things to do.

I started making the waffle batter and Dan got the bacon ready to put in the oven.

Dan's parents arrived at about 9:40 and we showed them the results of yesterday's powerwashing session while we finished up our cooking.

We had breakfast and everything came out really good. I was afraid we weren't going to have enough food but it was just right. The waffles came out MUCH better than they did the last time. The batter was thicker and I think that made the difference. I don't know WHY it wasn't right alst time. I thought I had followed the directions!

After we ate we hung out for a while. When Dan's parents left, we headed out to get some stuff done for the day.

Our first stop was at the hardware store to get our bathroom screen fixed. Ever since we moved in the screen was a mess. It looks like string. Dan's mom said it looked like a gauze pad! It's true. It was the strangest screen. We dropped it off there and they said we could pick it up on Wednesday.

Next we went to Famous Footwear in Commack because Dan wanted to look for new shoes. He found a pair he liked but they didn't have his size in stock. I checked their website and it said the ones that he wanted were available at the outlets.

We headed over there and, on the way to the shoe store, we passed the store Rue 21. I had never been in there and I also thought they only sold girl's clothes, but I saw some shirts in the window and I liked them so I wanted to check it out. We went in and we were really surprised at home many nice things they had and the prices were very reasonable. It was like just the amount I would be willing to pay for any of the stuff they had. It was great. I found a t-shirt, Dan found a t-shirt and then we kept looking. Dan got a new belt, some nice button-ups, and I got some really cool shorts. I love them!

I am really feeling like this is my new favorite store.

Next up we went to a few other stores for Dan to look at shoes before committing to the ones at Famous Footwear. In one store I found an AMAZING polo shirt with dinosaurs all over it. It's so perfect I had to get it immediately!

Eventually Dan decided that he did, in fact, want to get the original shoes so we went to Famous Footwear and purchased them.

At about 2:00, we met my mom at Frizzles in Commack for lunch! FRIZZLES! Yes, the place that's been under construction for more than a year. They were putting up the sign last November and it JUST opened a few weeks ago. It was the talk of the election day crew-- everyone wondering WHAT it was and WHEN it would be open!

Well, now was our chance to find out. So -- they have hamburgers and chicken stuff. A little less exciting than what I had expected. It was nice, but a little expensive for what it was. I'm glad we tried it out, though!

Next up we went to Target and enlisted my mom's help in returning a mirror that we bought a few weeks ago. As soon as we got it home it broke and so we wanted to return it but wanted my mom to take it back for us!

We did some Target shopping and just as we were finishing up with that, Dan got a call from his dad that his Grandma was taken to the hospital because she had fainted in a store. We got in the car and started driving that way but we got a call from Dan's mom saying that she had woken up and she may have just been dehydrated or had not eaten enough.

We went back to Target to finish up the mirror stuff with my mom and then we headed home.

We watched two episodes of House of Cards and then Dan went to the gym. I wrote out some more Thank You cards and we're making good progress. It's annoying though because we are short by 3 envelopes for the cards we need to send to everyone who was invited to the wedding. We also need some more envelopes for the people who weren't invited but also gave us a gift! Such craziness.

I showered up, and then when Dan got home we watched another episode of House of Cards. We really flew through this season and I do really enjoy this show. This season has been much better than the last one and I can't wait to see how this all plays out. I can't believe we only have two more episodes to go.

Finally tonight, we watched Game of Thrones. It was a good episode.

Now it's time for bed! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"busy friday" - May 20, 2016
"fax machine frenzy" or "savage in silk" - May 19, 2016
"the great job search idea" - May 18, 2016
"the wedding ring vacuum" - May 17, 2016
"bird + windshield = splat" - May 16, 2016

http://diaryland.com