Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 14, 2016 - 11:52 p.m.
"powerwashing all day long"

Hey Journal!

This morning I woke up at 9:00. Dan was snoring all night long and although he got up shortly after going to bed to affix a breathe right strip to his nose, he still snored almost the whole night. It woke me up so many times.... :(

I don't know why I woke up at 9:00, though, since I didn't get a very good night's sleep. Dan was still fast asleep and I wanted to get started on the powerwashing project.

I put on my crappy "painting clothes" and went outside. I set up the power washer in the back on the patio, I put the gas in, and then I started it up!

It was a beautiful day outside and FINALLY a day over 70 degrees! I had never used a power washer before so I didn't really know what to expect. It was really easy to use and the results were amazing. I started with the area in the corner of the patio where you could always see the outline of some fixture that the previous owners used to have on the concrete. It took that right off.

The whole thing is extremely tedious as you can only do a really small area at a time but the thing that makes up for it is how satisfying it is to see the results! The before and after is incredible. I wish we had taken a photo of the whole yard before and then after, but sadly we did not.

I was outside on my own until about 10:00. Dan got up and came out to see how things were going. Shortly after, he got changed and came out to help. After about an hour of doing it, I got the hang of it and was able to go faster.

We only had 1 gallon of gas so I wasn't sure exactly how far that would get us, however, I was happy to find that the machine only took about 1/5 of the can at a time which meant that we had a few fill-ups!

I was surprised at how long the first can of gas lasted us and we made our way around the pool. Every time the machine would run out the motor would just stop. I didn't plan on being outside for as long as we were and, of course, on the first nice day of the year I got a sunburn on my neck and on my arm!

Anyway... We made great progress and got everything around the pool finished. The only problem is that now we have to use it again once we open the pool because there's going to be a big outline when we take the cover off in a few weeks!

We eventually ran out of gas at about 2:00 and we took a break. We went out to McDonald's to get breakfast first and I got the hotcakes with sausage. Dan just got got the hotcakes but ordered a "Sausage McMuffin with Egg."

So, the past few times we've gone to McDonald's for breakfast this has happened to us and it's really weird. The menu board, right over the register, says "Egg McMuffin" as one item and then "Sausage McMuffin with Egg" as another item. Dan orders the "Sausage McMuffin with Egg" and the person ringing him up says, "You mean a Sausage Egg McMuffin?" And I think it's weird that it ISN'T called that on the menu but since it is -- why are they always confused. He's reading it RIGHT off the menu!

Anyway, we ate and then we went to the gas station, put another gallon into the can and then headed home.

We only had a few more spots on the patio to finish up and then we made our way onto the deck. We did some sports with green mold growing on them and then did the picnic tables. They had some weird stuff on them and the powerwasher took it right off.

Next, we went out front and did some spots under the carport, then did the siding on the carport and under the porch. Those areas seem to be dirtier than the rest of the siding because they're covered and never get washed off in the rain.

Anyway, we finished up and then headed inside. Dan showered up and then I took a shower.

We watched some House of Cards and then at 6:00 we left to go meet Linda for dinner at Chili's in Farmingdale!

Linda had gotten there a few minutes before us and when we arrived, they had just called her to tell her the table was ready.

So-- It's been about a week or two since the last time I've seen Connor but EVERY time I see him he looks like he's' getting older and older. He must be having a little growth spurt because he's growing up so fast. I mean, for years I've seen him on a fairly regular basis and he's never looked different -- when old pictures of him pop up, I'm shocked -- like I didn't realize it as he was getting older... but NOW it's so obvious! I don't know what it is! Linda says he's losing his baby fat! That might be it!

We had dinner, Dan and I did the 2 for 20 and Lind and I each got the two for one margaritas! I was really in the mood. I got the regular and they were good but I SHOULD have gone for the strawberry. Note to self.

After we ate we went to Target. It is just a thing we do -- every time we hang out we wind up shopping at Target as part of the day's activities. I mean, we all have to go there anyway so why not do it together!

On the way to Target I had another idea and I presented it when we arrived. I suggested that we check out the new Stew Leonard's over in Airport Plaza! We had never been there before and we've heard things about it and wanted to see what it was like.

It was really an experience. They had all of these animatronic things that danced/sang when you pressed a button. It was so strange but so amazing at the same time. Connor and Cameron were a little skeptical of them and I think their overall consensus was -- Why are these things at a grocery store? My favorite was this creepy guy on an air balloon and I captured Connor's reaction when he looked at it. He was horrified!

There were so many buttons to press! I had a great time. As far as food -- they didn't have anything that I was wild about... We did get their Fruit Punch and Lemonade which was reasonably priced. Unfortunately, I had some when I got home and the lemonade was too weak and the fruit punch tasted like Kool Aid.

It's not close by and it's not somewhere I would go on a regular basis but I'm glad we went to check it out.

After that we headed home and we got back here around 10:00. We watched some House of Cards and then we spent some time preparing for our breakfast tomorrow morning. We're having Dan's patents over at 9:30.

We're both pretty exhausted to we're off to bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"fax machine frenzy" or "savage in silk" - May 19, 2016
"the great job search idea" - May 18, 2016
"the wedding ring vacuum" - May 17, 2016
"bird + windshield = splat" - May 16, 2016
"finally checked out frizzles" - May 15, 2016

http://diaryland.com