Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 20, 2016 - 10:53 p.m.
"busy friday"

Hey Journal!

Wow! Today was the busiest day for the golf course so far this year. It was a Friday, so typically a busier day AND it was the first REALLY nice day out! Everyone came out and it was PACKED.

On top of that, I was all alone. All alone. Dan's dad took off today to go fishing with Mr. Phil Lay (don't ask) and Steve went up to celebrate Grandparent's day at his grandson's school.

I got to work around 9:15 and before I headed down to the basement, I saw a big note on the door from Kathleen. She asked that I come speak to her. I found her and she said that she had heard that the showers in the locker room had no hot water. Greeeeat.

I went downstairs and into the boiler room. I felt the two units closest to the door and they felt warm. Those serve the kitchen. Then, I felt the single unit towards the back of the room -- that does the bathrooms and locker room. It was cold.

First, I called Mike to let him know and he didn't really have any idea what could be wrong. He said he was going to call the plumber and then get back to me. In the meantime, I was poking around a little and I had an idea to unplug and plug the unit back in. I did, and it started to click and then I heard the whoosh of the flame. It was back on!

I felt the water across the hall in the sink and it was still coming out cold but I suppose it takes time for a big thing like that to heat up!

Later, I was talking to Kathleen and she said that she thought there was a power surge the night before. I don't know why she thought that, but it might explain it!

Anyway, I had a lot of things to do in the office today. It got CRAZY BUSY all of a sudden.

In the afternoon, I had to run out to pick up some new door access cards from the security place. They were going to come by and drop them off but I decided to go out and get them because I also needed to pick up our beverage cart receipts. They had been printed about 4 weeks ago and I never got around to getting them! The woman kept e-mailing me to let me know they were in and I was just not in the mood to go get them!

So, I went over there, got the goods, and then continued up 110 to the security place. I talked to the woman who works there for a while. She's really nice. I call over there often and she's always so nice and I think I've been dealing with her for about as long as I've worked at the golf course so that's pretty cool.

When I got back to work it was so busy! I had to park all the way back in the dirt at the end of the parking lot. It was insanity!

This morning when I arrived I had planned to really sort through the piles of paperwork on my desk and FINALLY clear it out. Of course, that didn't happen. I just got bogged down with other stuff and I never got to it. I'm starting to think I need to get office boxes and just put my crap in there. I could box it up by date and then put it away and see if I ever actually need any of this stuff. That may be the only way to keep my desk from being absurdly messy!

In other news, my mom ha the day off from work and she called back the places that she had gotten responses from. She got several interviews set up for next week -- so that's a good thing!

For lunch today I ordered the steak sandwich and when I went to get it from the kitchen I noticed that there was this very enticing-looking pork in the window for the employee meal. I decided to add some as a side to my steak. Steak and pork lunch today!

Dan called me around 4:15 and said he was just pulling into the driveway! Luckily he landed early enough to miss all of the traffic, unlike last week! So, I wanted to leave work a little early and head home. I tried to finish thing up and I was shooting for 4:30 but one thing led to another and before I knew it, it was 4:58 and I was still sitting at my desk!

I left at 5:00 on the dot and headed out to my car. It was just as well, though, because Dan had gone to the gym and he wound up getting back about the exact same time as I got home.

I got changed and Dan showered up and we got ready to go out to dinner. Kristen came over around 7:00 and we went out to Hudson's Mill for dinner. Yes, the place with the amazing short ribs! It's such a nice place. The perfect amount of classy so that we could feel distinctive AF. That's our new criteria for going to dinner. We are seeking the feeling of distinction.

It was a very good meal. Dan and I got the famed short ribs and Kristen went out on a limb to try Ahi Tuna and she really enjoyed it.

The only negative was that there was a table of little kids who were REALLY annoying. Kids never annoy me at restaurants but these ones were so loud and obnoxious. One in particular kept screaming at the top of his lungs. It was so jolting. Even the hostess woman said "OH MY GOD" in exasperation every time it happened. They left after a short time, which was nice.

After dinner we went down the road to All-American to get some milk shakes. Need milk shakes.

On the way home, we went to Stew Leonard's because Kristen had never been. We pressed the business and she was really creeped out.

We wended the evening with a trip to Target. We went to the one in Huntington and there was this man there who smelled like pee, had what appeared to be pee stains on his pants, and had multi-colored stringy long hair. It was sick. Our luck- we got behind him on one of the few open lines when it was time to check out. He paid in coins for his purchase and then forgot it at the register. It was not a good scene.

We got home and I just took a shower. Now we're going to watch a couple of TV shows that we missed while Dan was away! We only have a few days to catch up on a week's worth of TV!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
Hold - May 25, 2016
"rain today, heatwave tomorrow!" - May 24, 2016
"is summer finally coming?" - May 23, 2016
"lunch with dan" - May 22, 2016
"cw app = crap" - May 21, 2016

http://diaryland.com