Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 30, 2016 - 11:30 p.m.
"long island highlights for dan and dan" or "nobody wants to talk to a cripple"

Hey Journal!

Wow! I am truly exhausted. We didn't get a very long night's sleep last night and we got up pretty early this morning. It was all good, though... Dan and Dan were visiting and that meant we wanted to make the most of their time here!

We got up around 9:30 and got ready to go out for breakfast. We chose Relish, of course, a place we go to all the time. When we arrived, a table was available and I was happy there wasn't a wait.

We had the same waitress as last time and Dan and I were sitting in the same exact seats as last Sunday when we came with Julio. When she came over to greet us she said, "weren't you guys here last week...and at this same table in the same spot!?" I'm surprised she remembered us!

I got the Egg Special (variety is the spice of life) and Dan and Dan got the special strawberry Nutella pancakes and Dan got the Kingsman. No, that's not confusing at all.

Breakfast was good and I really needed it after having had so much to drink. I drank more than I thought and probably more than I should have! It really started to hit me AFTER I stopped and was getting ready for bed.

When I woke up this morning I needed water.... I should have some last night before going to sleep! Anyway, breakfast hit the spot and I was feeling much more lively after that.

Originally, Dan and Dan were planning to take the train back around 11:20 but because it was such a nice day they wanted to spend some time outside and opted to take a later train. This gave us some more time to explore and see what was around.

As no trip to our town would be complete without a visit to KPPC, that's where we went! We started out on the park side and walked around... ending up over by the fence that overlooks the sound and Connecticut. We checked out many of the abandoned buildings along the way and they seemed to be REALLY interested in it. I can't blame them... it should be a tourist attraction...everyone visiting from abroad should see the psych center!

We made our way around the back of the buildings to the parking lot and we drove up to the area in front of 93.

We parked there and walked around the back to get a look at some more interesting buildings. It was a beautiful day out and a perfect day to take a walk and be outside.

When we were done, we walked back to the car and then we headed off to the train station.

I forgot to mention that in the morning, as soon as we got in the car to go to breakfast, the car gave me a warning noise that the back right tire pressure was low. When we got to Relish, we looked at the tire and it did look a little less inflated than the others but not crazy.

So, we made our way to the train station and I believe their train was at 12:55. We were about fifteen minutes early so we waited with them on the platform until it arrived. We said our goodbyes and then they headed back to NYC.

Since we weren't too far away, we headed over to the BMW place to get the tire looked at. We went to the dealership where I got the car but the receptionist told me that service was about a 1/2 mile down the road at the UFC gym. Weird, but we headed over there.

As we pulled in, they had an area set up with a guy who came over to see what we were there for. I explained the issue and he quickly inspected the tire. He located a SCREW in the tire and he said I would need a completely new tire. I couldn't believe it -- a two month old car! Insane! I said okay because really, did I have a choice? But then the guy looked at it again and said that they might be able to remove the screw and patch it.

He told us to wait inside. We went in and sat in the waiting room. After waiting about 5 minutes, I stood up to get a drink of water and as I came back this woman who had been sitting at a little table in the corner on her phone the whole time said... "Would you like a free manicure while you wait?" Dan and I politely declined. It was so random! I mean, she was definitely there for that service but it was so strange AND even weirder because she only asked us after we had been there for a while already.

After about 15 minutes, the guy came back in with my keys and told me my car was ready to go. So... I paid nothing and I signed nothing. It was a very strange interaction but I'm happy to say that my car is now fixed up.

Next we decided to go over and visit my Grandparents before heading home.

We arrived and said hello and then I got a call from Dan's dad. There was a "crisis" at work because the tournament that was scheduled for tomorrow was being postponed and it was imperative that we alert the membership that tomorrow would be open for regular play.

Anyway, I had to go up to work as a result but, before that, we hung around with my Grandma and Grandpa for a while.

They were watching all the happening outside because a new neighbor had just moved in to Claire's house across the street. Claire moved out rather quickly and she didn't even say goodbye so there's already a lot of buzz about that!

The new couple, relatively young with two kids, hasn't officially moved in yet but they are doing work around the house in preparation. The house was kinda old-looking inside so they've been doing a lot of work to renovate before they actually move in which makes sense. Today we watched them carry out cabinets from the upstairs apartment -- presumably because they want to use it for bedroom space and not as a rental apartment!

There were two highlights to our visit and one was that, when my mom arrived, she had a shopping list that my Grandma had made for her and it was so specific! There were all these qualifiers for each item on the list -- a personal favorite being "Carrots (NOT FROM CANADA.)"

The next was when, after talking about and watching the neighbors for a while, I suggested that maybe instead of guessing what they did, where they came from, and why they moved here... someone should just go over to say hello and strike up a conversation! I figured that would have to be either my mom or my Grandma.... Anyway, to make a long story short... at one point my Grandma came out with this phrase..."Nobody wants to talk to a cripple!" (Referring to herself because she's been using a cane the last few weeks while her knee has been bothering her!) It was a classic!

We stayed there for a little while and then we had to go up to work because of the "crisis." We spent all afternoon sending out personal e-mails to the members to let them know that the course would be open even though nobody will want to play in the rain!

We were hungry so we ordered lunch at the golf course and I was highly irritated because my sandwich came with a pickle on the plate. I threw the entire thing into the garbage and ordered it again.

Anyway, we finally left the golf course around 5:00 and headed home. On the way, we stopped at Home Depot to see if there was anything we needed... but we didn't need anything after all and went home empty handed.

Finally, it was time for a little relaxation. We rested up for a couple of hours and watched some of last night's Shark Tank.

After that we got ready to go out to dinner with Kristen. We had planned to get something to eat tonight but didn't know where to go. I wasn't in the mood for anything in particular but Kristen suggested Lotus East and then I couldn't stop thinking about it. I was so in need of it!

We picked Kristen up at 8 and then headed out to the LE2. I drove because I wasn't going to drink tonight...I was still recovering from the overdose of alcohol last night and, as enticing as the Zombie is, I had to pass. Kristen and Dan partook of the Zombie and each felt quite distinctive as a result.

We were surprised when we arrived because the restaurant was PACKED. A rare occurrence. There was a communion party taking up most of the dining room. We were seated in the corner under a GIANT spotlight that was pointed right at me! It was wild. There were these people who sat down shortly after us at a table right behind us who were humongous. THey were gross...they ate so disgustingly...at one point one of them was using a SPOON to SPOON FOOD OFF OF HIS SHIRT! Unreal!

We can never got to LE without some weird neighboring diners!

After our meal, we went to Target to round out the evening. Kristen found several products she wanted to buy while under the influence of the Zombie but by the time we had gotten to the checkout she was down to just some decorative wooden fish for her front door.

We headed home and called it a night after that -- we were pretty exhausted, and now it's time for bed! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
so little happened that i have no title at all - May 05, 2016
"chinese meeting" or "new graphics" - May 04, 2016
"rain: day one of six" - May 03, 2016
"baked lays = stale paper" - May 02, 2016
"rainy day, greene turtle" - May 01, 2016

http://diaryland.com