Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 30, 2016 - 1:07 p.m.
"dan and dan come to visit"

Hey Journal!

Well, we had quite a busy Friday and I didn't have a chance to update my journal so here I am, coming to you live on Saturday afternoon to go back and let you know all the details!

On Thursday night, Dan got home pretty late from picking up his parents at the airport. I went to bed around 11:00, and he was originally supposed to be home around then but their flight was delayed and I don't actually know exactly when he wound up getting in. It took me a while to fall asleep and when I finally did I wasn't kinda half-sleeping and waiting for Dan to come home.

I remember hearing the front door open and once that happened I think I was able to fall asleep for the night!

Needless to say, that meant I was really tired when I woke up this morning. Ugh! I knew we were going to be up late Friday night so that was the last thing I wanted!

I powered through the day and it was a pretty busy day in the office for me. I finalized an e-mail that we had to send out about the scramble and then did a bunch of random stuff.

Of course, I did my bird patrol and I took down the makings of a new nest on the door over the golf shop and the west door to the restaurant. The ones over by the shop are relentless. The y rebuild so quickly. In fact, I saw them coming in and out and noticed that one of the spikes was tucked under the awning strings, allowing a wider opening. I untucked the spike and then left. About 15 minutes later I came back and the spike I was tucked in AGAIN! They have figured out how to get around THAT, too! They are beasts, but we are at war and I'm telling you now... I will win.

For lunch today, my mom brought me a pizza from Target. She called to see if I wanted one and it worked out perfectly today.

At about 3:00, Linda called me to say that she had just picked up her new card and she wanted to swing by and show me! I came upstairs and she arrived and pulled in behind the kitchen. It's a 2009 Acadia. It has seats for 7 which is PERFECT for our trips! We can now travel together without having to borrow anyone's mini-van! lol It's very big and has two sunroofs and it's spacious and I'm excited about it!

Dan's mom came out, too and we went for a test drive around the block. It was fun. Linda had the day off from work today because it's the last day of Passover and that's a thing at her work! Cameron was with her but Connor was not.

When we got back, Dan's dad had gotten back from the bank and he was waiting in the parking lot see the car.

Linda left around 4:30 and I headed inside to finish up and get ready to go home. At 5:00, I started to leave and couldn't find my keys! I was freaking out because we had a pretty tight schedule tonight and I thought I left them in Linda's car! I called her and she looked but couldn't find them which was actually good news!

I retraced my steps and wound up locating them outside of the gold shop. UGH! I put them down when I was on Bird Patrol!

Okay, so now here's the beginning of our evening and our visit from our British friends, Dan and Dan!

I got home around 5:30 and so did Dan. We hurried inside and got changed and ready to go pick them up at the train station. Their train was arriving at Deer Park at 6:22 and we left the house at the perfect time. The GPS said we would arrive at 6:20! Niceee. Of course, things weren't going to go according to plan.

We got on the Sagtikos at Jericho, where I always do when I'm going to work. We weren't on there for more than 30 seconds when a police SUV pulled up behind us. He came up fast and I noticed it. I wanted to get out of his way and let him pass but I had people on the right side of me. I waited about 30 seconds, then finally moved over. Once I got over, he never passed me which was a little irritating. Then about a minute more passes and he comes behind me and puts his lights on.

Seriously? I mean, come on.

So, a little more story before I continue -- first, we just got on at Jericho and had no time to accelerate to any crazy speeds. Also, my car makes a warning noise if you go over 68, which it did not.

Anyway, he comes over to the car and asks for my license and registration. I give it to him and he looks at it and then walks around the front of my car for something. Not sure what...

When he comes back to the window he asks, "Do you know why I pulled you over?" to which I replied..."I'm...not sure..." He says, "Do you know how fast you were going?" And I said..."I think...maybe...60?" I mean...running through my head I was like -- I HAVE NO IDEA...BUT IT WASN'T FAST AT ALL! He says, with the conviction as though he was telling me I was going 95... "65!" I said, "oh... Okay..."

Of course the speed limit is 55 but WHO HAS EVER REALLY DRIVEN THAT SLOW ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY! I don't understand. 65 is not remotely bad and he said it as if it was the worst crime you could commit.

Anyway, Dan told him we had just gotten on at Jericho and that he didn't think we could have been going very fast at all. As soon as Dan said that, the guy started stuttering and getting all flustered and said, "Umm... uhh... well... the speed limit is 55...I'll let you off with a warning...just slow down!" He returned to his car so fast and SPED OFF like crazy! I have no idea.

We got back on the road, so confused, and made our way to the train station.

We arrived at 6:24 and their train had already come and gone so they were waiting for us at the platform! We were so close to being on time but it wasn't a big deal...

First, we came back to our house and they brought their suitcases inside and we gave them the grand tour. It's been a long time since the last time we gave the tour!

We weren't here very long and then we left to get some alcohol. We went to Bottle Bargains and I got some Grey Goose because I wasn't sure if we had any more left at home or not. (I should have checked before we left because we did have a whole bottle.)

Next, it was time for dinner. It had started raining as we were driving out to Smokin' Al's. We figure there's nothing better than some BBQ food to really showcase America! We arrived around 8:00 and they said there was about a 20 minute wait. We sat in the waiting area and I don't think it was more than 10 minutes.

I got my usual favorite -- the chicken breast, dry, with mashed potatoes and mac and cheese.

Dinner was good and I'm happy with our choice to go there! I think Dan and Dan enjoyed it as well!

After dinner we headed back towards home and made two stops along the way. The first was at the golf course. We were in the area anyway so we figured we'd stop by and show them where I work. We weren't there long at all, just about 5 minutes, but it was a nice reference.

Then we stopped at the Commack Target. What's more American than Target!? They were surprised by how big it was. They wanted to get some soda to mix with their alcohol and I wanted to get some cookie dough to bake cookies later!

When we got home turned on the TV and the Match Game was on. We watched one episode because I told them how obsessed I am with it. They seemed to enjoy it as well! Next, we got some drinks and then watched Dan's big appearance on TPIR!

Oh, and just to let you know -- both of them are also named Dan...so it was me and three Dan's! Every time I would say "Dan...." I realized I needed to be more specific!

I wanted to find some sort of game to play and I suggested Cards Against Humanity. They said they had played before and after playing a couple of rounds said that some of the camera are the same but different -- like they had the same general meaning but were phrased differently in the British version!

Eventually, I baked the cookies and we ate them and some pretzels! It was great hanging out and having a drinking night with them. We caught up, talked, and just had a really good time.

We wound up going to bed around 3am and I was EXHAUSTED. Not only was I tired from all the excitement today but from not getting enough sleep last night -- that's made our day today pretty zombified.... but I'll get to that in a later entry!

Anyway, we had a great night...and the fun will continue later, right here. Stay tuned!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"chinese meeting" or "new graphics" - May 04, 2016
"rain: day one of six" - May 03, 2016
"baked lays = stale paper" - May 02, 2016
"rainy day, greene turtle" - May 01, 2016
"long island highlights for dan and dan" or "nobody wants to talk to a cripple" - April 30, 2016

http://diaryland.com