Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 04, 2016 - 10:55 p.m.
"chinese meeting" or "new graphics"

Hey Journal!

Today I had a little excitement to shake up my normal daily routine. Karen had scheduled a meeting with a Chinese church that was looking to purchase a lot of plots and they wanted to come meet everyone involved before they signed the contract and handed over the check!

I woke up around 8:00 but took my time getting ready this morning. We had gotten to bed a little late last night and I wanted to make sure I wasn't exhausted the rest of the week. I wasn't sure to what extent I should get dressed up for this meeting so I decided to err on the side of caution. I wore a white dress shirt with a nice new tie along with my H&M suit jacket. It looked good and I'm really glad I chose that because everyone else was dressed nicely and I would have stood out if I hadn't!

Anyway, I got dressed in my nice clothes and then headed off to work. I arrived at about 9:30 and I spent some time printing out a couple of papers that I thought I might need for the meeting. I printed a list of available locations and some maps just in case.

I headed over to the cemetery and arrived a few minutes before 10:30. Karen was already there and waiting in the lobby. I hadn't seen Karen in a while so it was nice to have a few minutes to catch up and talk before everyone else arrived. We also got on the same page as far as today's meeting, so that was good, too!

The group purchasing the plots arrived shortly after and they were all very friendly. One was a lawyer, one was the church leader, and the other was a funeral director. We talked to them in the lobby while we waited for Steve to arrive.

When he got there, we all went into Steve's old office and basically, they just wanted to come to the cemetery to see that Steve was a real person and then they worked with me and Karen to pick out the plots they wanted. At one point they suggested buying more but chose not to because it was an "unlucky number."

Steve left to head over to the golf course and then Karen and I finished up and got the check for the deposit. Well, they wound up leaving MORE than just the deposit... they paid for about 76 of the plots outright! Pretty nice!

After we were finished, Karen and I stuck around to debrief about the experience and then I walked out to her car with her. Her car was filled with carpet samples and Karen told me that she had just started a new job selling rugs on Monday! She has had so many jobs since leaving the golf course that I can't even keep track! I don't even remember all of them... but I think it went something like -- Assisted Living center, sunrooms, financial planner, rugs? There must have been more than that!

Anyway, when I was finished I headed back to work.

It was a really weird and disjointed day. It wasn't very busy in the office so I spent some time highlighting available plots on a map to help Karen and I assign what's left. After a while of doing that my eyes started to get a little crazy so I had to take a break.

I don't think I did anything golf course related for the rest of the day. Like I said...it was a strange day. Everyone kept asking me why I was so dressed up! lol

I left work at 4:30 and had to go to Home Depot to get a copy of a key made. It's a key to a gate to the cemetery so that our port-a-potty company can come in and clean the unit. They used to come over the curb and drive down a dirt road but with all the construction going on, they no longer have access to that route.

Before heading home I stopped at the bank to deposit the check we got this morning and then I arrived here around 5:15ish.

I watched the news and I was SHOCKED to see new Eyewitness News graphics! It's so crazy -- just yesterday they had their regular ones and today BAM... it's completely different. I like it, and I can see myself really getting used to it. The letters are bigger and clearer and it's a much cleaner design. My only complaint is that the block with the logo, time, and temperature is a little overbearing and I could see that getting toned down a little as time goes on. Other than that, it's pretty neat!

Dan was working late tonight so my mom bought me dinner from Boston Market after work. We ate and then I took a shower and hung around the rest of the night.

Dan got home around 9:00 which was actually earlier than I had expected. We had time to watch last night's episode of The Flash and now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"raccoon ruckus" - May 09, 2016
"mother's day" - May 08, 2016
"preparations for mother's day breakfast" - May 08, 2016
"the creepy jungle book" - May 07, 2016
so little happened that i have no title at all - May 05, 2016

http://diaryland.com