Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 08, 2016 - 09:53 p.m.
"mother's day"

Hey Journal!

Happy Mother's Day! This morning we got up at 8:15 and had to quickly start our preparations for Mother's Day Breakfast!

I got down to the kitchen and started setting up everything we were going to make and Dan got dressed and headed out to the bagel store.

We worked like crazy and we made bacon, sausage, eggs, and waffles! It was quite a feat but we pulled it off pretty well.

My mom, Grandma, and Grandpa arrived at 9:00 and we had about 10 minutes before all the food was ready. Once it was, we sat down and had breakfast. Everything came out really well but it was a LOT of food! We probably could have made half the amount of eggs and waffles.

I'm glad we only decided to make one of the two packages of bacon we had purchased!

After we ate we all sat in the living room and hung out for a while. My Grandma made a few suggestions for arranging the furniture in the living room and while I think we're going to leave that how it is for now... she had a great idea for the kitchen!

She suggested that, for the refrigerator, we should swap the placement of the pantry and the fridge... that way we could get the refrigerator out of the middle of the room and also make use of that corner WITHOUT having to lose the pantry space! It was really a great idea and I am going to talk to Mike about it next time I see him! I think it's a really great idea that hopefully won't cost too much!

My Grandma was ready to go but we hadn't had dessert yet so we headed back to the table and had the crumb cake and munchkins!

After that, we went outside and took a group picture in front of the house and then they headed home.

Dan and I had some time to kill before going out to my Aunt's house so we managed to squeeze in two episodes of House of Cards!

It seems like this season is just heating up since we had some really shocking events! Since we haven't seen the rest of the season yet, I don't know how things will play out and while I am on the edge of my seat, I am not as invested as I was, say, when the same happened in an episode of The West Wing.

I was really excited that Charlie Gibson made several appearances as the news reporter! I miss him on World News!

Anyway, Dan and I left home at 1:40 and headed out to my Aunt's house. We were supposed to get there at 2:00 but wound up getting there at 2:20. We were sure that we were going to be the last to arrive, but when we got there we found that it was the opposite... we were FIRST! Wow!

We hung out with my cousin Christen and it was such a nice day outside so we went out in the front yard for a while. Everyone else arrived shortly after and then we had dinner. My Aunt made pasta with meatballs!

After dinner we went out in the backyard for a while and then we came in to have dessert. We actually started having dessert because Mikey just started to bring it over to the table and then everyone else helped themselves! Sometimes you need a little kickstart to get things going!

We had planned to leave around 5:00 and then go over to Dan's parents' house but they had a change of plans and told us they weren't going to be able to see us today. Because of that, we stayed later and then left around 7. However, once we left, Dan got a call that they wanted us to come by Brian and Jessica's apartment on our way home.

Dan was in a hurry because he had to pack for his trip tomorrow and so we swung by. Dan's parents hadn't arrived yet which was surprising to us since they said they were leaving at the same time as we had left from my Aunt's!

They arrived after about 15 minutes and we have Dan's mom her flowers and hung around for a short while before leaving to come home.

We got home around 8:30 and Dan went on his walk while I showered up.

Now we're just getting ready for bed and we're going to go watch Game of Thrones before bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"power washer problems" - May 13, 2016
"new plan, original plan" - May 12, 2016
"preen and wipe new" - May 11, 2016
"wipe new" - May 10, 2016
"raccoon ruckus" - May 09, 2016

http://diaryland.com