Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 28, 2016 - 11:55 p.m.
"zombies"

Hey Journal!

I am currently under the influence of THE ZOMBIE! There's something CRAZY about the drinks at Lotus East. They are like no other!!

This morning Dan and I got up at 9:00 and we got ready to go out to Relish for breakfast. Kristen came to pick us up at 9:30 and off we went. There was no wait this morning which was very good.

When we were done eating, we went down Kristen suggested that we go down to the bluff to have a walk around. Anticipating that this may happen, I bought a pair of sandals with me so that I could walk on the sand. What I didn't realize is that I would also need my sunglasses, so we had to come back home to get them! While we were here, I put my sunscreen on, too!

We walked around for a bit but it was REALLY low tide and the smell wasn't so appealing! When we left, we were in the mood for SLURPEES! We went to the 7-11 on Pulaski Road but their machines were not working. Instead, we went over to the one on Harned Road. Their machines were in working order and Kristen got a Slurpee however, they didn't have any flavors I liked. :( We were going to check out another location but we never got around to it!

When Kristen went to pay, the guy informed us that it as Buy One, Get One Free day -- so Dan got one, too.

Our next stop was Home Depot. We needed to get two things... Carpenter Bee spray and a light fixture for my Grandma. The carpenter bees are back in full force this year -- I think earlier than last year and I have decided that they MUST be dealt with quickly!

We got the items and then decided that since it was SUCH a nice day out, we wound open our pool. I know, we said we were going to wait a week or so, but we couldn't resist the opportunity. Because we were going to need to power wash immediately after taking the cover off, we went up to the golf course and got the power washer!

It didn't fit in my car, so Kristen offered to take it in her car. We put down cardboard in case of any leaks and we loaded it in.

We ALMOST made it home without any incident but Kristen peeled out to pass a person at a red light and the whole thing tipped! Some gas found its way out and got onto the cardboard, but luckily we caught it quickly. A little gas also splashed onto the back on her car so we cleaned that up quickly as soon as we got home.

So, we took out and assembled the power washer and then we went to uncover the pool. I went down to the basement to get the ROD that we had purchased last season and I also reapplied my sunscreen!

We took the cover off and, leading up to this moment I couldn't wait to see how the water cooled. I was very optimistic because last year we had closed the pool as directed. We shocked and did all the things we were supposed to. As we pulled the cover off... there it was. The exact same green swamp we were greeted with last year. UGH!

We took the cover to the driveway and layed it out. We used the power washer to clean it off and then let it dry while we took the power washer into the back to clean the concrete around the pool. The line that was left behind was terrible so we REALLY needed to get it washed off!

That took some time but it wasn't too bad. It wasn't a big area, it was just a small line around the entire pool.

After we were done with that, we folded up and rolled up the pool cover and put it into its protective baggy.

Kristen left around 3:00 and we decided that we wanted to get Lotus East for dinner! We were craving.

In the meantime, we each took a shower and then watched Shark Tank. I also was in desperate need of a haircut. My hair was getting long and, as Kristen pointed out, it was looking like it did back in high school. Whatever this guy did the last time I got my hair cut...it must have been the same things as my barber back then. It looked just as puffy and frolike.

Anyway, we went over to my Grandma's house around 5:30 to install the light we had purchased earlier and told Kristen we would collect her around 7:00. Unfortunately, when we arrived my Grandma and Grandpa were at church and I don't have a key to the front door anymore because they got new locks!

We called my mom and she said that they were at church and would be getting home around 6:05. Since it was about 20 minutes, we decided to take a walk in the beautiful weather. We walked down to Tackan and around the school. One thing we noticed, and I think I've seen this before, but all of the classrooms have had their back doors removed. They all have big windows and none of them have a door. I guess it was a safety concern but I used to love that our teachers would open the classroom door on a hot day!

The walk was good, and we got back just a few minutes before my Grandma pulled up from church. She got home at about 6:08 and we went inside and started working on the light.

I turned the power off to the kitchen from down in the basement and then I came upstairs and removed the old fixture. It was the light under the kitchen cabinets and the ballast had broken...according to the electrician that my Grandma had called. He said he would change her $175 to replace it but we got the light at Home Depot for $43.43 and did it ourselves!

It was really easy to do...I just always get a little scared when working with directly wires electrical stuff. It was straightforward and I used electrical tape around the wire nuts to make sure all the connections were secure.

Installing the new fixture was a little more difficult than I expected because it was hard to close the backing and then hold the light up while screwing it in. Luckily, Dan helped while I did that and we had the whole project completed in no time! My Grandma was very happy to have a working light back in the kitchen!

Before we left, she asked me to take a look at the computer, too. She has been having a hard time opening Chrome or, as she called it, "the google." She would click the link on the desktop and it would never show up. I checked it out and it was kinda weird. I couldn't figure out why it was happening so I uninstalled and reinstalled and now it's working fine!

We told my Grandma we were going for chinese food and she wanted to order some for us to eat there, but we told her that we already had plans with Kristen and she was waiting for us.

So, we left around 7:15 and made our way down the road to Kristen's apartment.

We made our way out to LE2 and those Zombies were calling our names! The woman made our drinks and she is an amazing bartender. They were so freaking good and the part I can't understand is that they don't taste like there is any alcohol in them but they get me so drunk so fast it's unreal! Like, in order for ONE drink to have that effect on me at home, I'd have to put in some much alcohol that I start coughing like a beast after one sip. Somehow she makes them perfectly and it's one of the many reasons I will always come back to LE!

Kristen and I were feeling it right away and we had a quite distinctive evening! She was going to get the Navy Grog afterwards but felt that it might put her over the edge! Next time! Next time! Oh, but for reference, Kristen didn't get the Zombie tonight, she got the House Special, listed as "a concoction of six ingredients!"

When we left, we headed towards home. I went to Kristen's apartment and I had to come inside to use the facilities. When I walked in I was brought back by the smell... it reminded me so much of a hotel in the south. I have no idea why...but it was a nice smell!

Dan and I hung around for a while and we sat on the "mega couch."

We departed around 11:30 and now here we are at home. I can't believe it's only just about midnight...it feels so much later!

Anyway, tomorrow we will continue our work on the pool. I'm just hoping that the algaecide will do it's job and we'll have a beautiful blue pool much quicker than we did last year!!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"introduce the robot" or "flocculation" - June 02, 2016
"not really 500 questions" - June 01, 2016
"green to a little less green" - May 31, 2016
"green to green" or "leslie's favorite customers are back" - May 30, 2016
"not so exciting sunday" - May 29, 2016

http://diaryland.com