Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

June 20, 2016 - 11:45 p.m.
"best day ever" or "pool and pizza"

Hey Journal!

Just last night I was thinking how I was going to come home from work, relax, watch TV, and catch up on things I had to do around the house. I also thought how every time I plan that, it never actually happens. I thought, I really have no idea what I'll be doing tomorrow at this time because something always comes up.

And of course, it did! I don't mean that at all in a bad way. Just unexpected!

In fact, it turned out to be quite the fun night tonight! Or, as it has been called, the "BEST DAY EVER!"

Dan left this morning for his work trip to Atlanta, Georgia. He's there until this Wednesday so I have a few nights of being all by myself!

I got up at the usual time and headed off to work. We had a pretty large golf outing today but they were very calm and quiet people. Not annoying or causing a ruckus -- which is nice for a change. The vibe today was very chill in the office... and that may just be what my vibe was today.

I didn't have anything insane to do so I spent the day working on little random things I needed to get done and, I have to admit, I didn't really push myself too hard today. I needed a little recovery.

In the afternoon, Linda told me that she had to go to a defensive driving class today after work and asked if I could watch the kids. The class was in Hauppauge so she planned to drop them off before the class!

I ducked out early from work because I had to bring some letters to the Post Office and then I had the Star caller.

I got home at 6:30 and Linda was on her way. She arrived around 6:45 and so, while I was waiting for them arrive, I turned on the pool filter and skimmed a bit. It was about 75 degrees out and I don't like to go in the pool unless it's REALLY hot, but I told Linda to bring Connor and Cameron's bathing suits in case they wanted to go in the pool!

Linda dropped off the kids and then hit the road to get to her defensive driving class by 7! We went right into the yard and Connor and Cameron got set to go in the pool. Connor wasn't really into the diving board so he went in via the steps. Cameron was intrigued by the diving board and wanted to use it but was kinda scared of it at the same time.

Cameron stood at the edge of the board and didn't jump in and eventually entered through the steps, too. After a little swimming, Cameron got up the courage to brave the diving board and go for the jump! Once she was a fan of the diving board, Connor got into it, too.

They both said that the water was really warm and I felt it with my foot and it DID feel very warm. After watching them in the pool for a while I started to feel like I REALLY did need to join them!

I told them to get out of the pool and stand on the deck while I RAN inside for 10 seconds to grab my bathing suit and then I got back out and the party continued. At first I planned only to stay in the shallow end and not go all the way in but they were right... the water was PERFECT.

I can't believe it -- It was even warmer than yesterday! I couldn't believe it because we had added so much new water to the pool and somehow it actually was WARMER than yesterday. It was a perfect temperature!

I took some really great slo-mo videos of Connor and Cameron jumping in off the diving board. I've never really used the Slow Mo feature on the phone before but this was the perfect use for it! They came out great.

I did a few jump and flips in to the pool and we stayed in for about an hour, until about 6:45.

We were going to go to the park afterwards but Connor said he was hungry so we decided to go get some pizza. We got out of the pool and came inside to get changed. Cameron had only brought pajamas with her but they weren't TOO pajama-like, so it was okay.

We went to Main St. Pizza and ordered a pie. We had to wait about 10 minutes for it to be made and Connor was having a hard time waiting because he was SOOOOO hungry!

He actually may have been THAT hungry -- once we got the pie, he ate THREE giant slices, including the crust! Cameron ate two slices. Connor noted that this is the only pizza place where he likes to eat the crust, and I agreed as I had a mouthful of the crust at the time.

We had a fun time and then we headed back to go to the park. Linda got out early from her driving session and she arrived just before we did. She was sitting on the porch and then we walked down to the park.

The sun was just starting to set and we had about 5 minutes at the park before the Public Safety person arrived to close the gates. Ugh!

We headed back and then hung out on the porch for a bit. I got Connor and Cameron Dixie cups and then Linda and I had one, too. Connor wanted a second and Cameron took a Klondike Bar!

They really must have been hungry! Maybe he worked up an appetite with all that swimming! Three pieces of pizza and two dixie cups for Connor.

It was a really quiet and nice night to sit out on the porch. I never have occasion to do that so it was a fun little event tonight. When Linda asked Connor and Cameron if they had fun, Connor said "BEST DAY EVER!!"

They left around 9:00 and I headed inside to get showered up. I watched World News and now it's time for bed!

It's crazy late but it was a fun night! Hopefully I won't be too exhausted in the morning.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"pool day" - June 26, 2016
"brexit" - June 25, 2016
"helicopter lunatic" or "thermostat woes" - June 23, 2016
"ecto cooler is HERE!" - June 22, 2016
"5 mile walk" - June 21, 2016

http://diaryland.com